Post Reply 

Why isn't GAP installing in Gimp?

Nov 2, 2013, 20:30
Post: #1
Why isn't GAP installing in Gimp?
Hello! Thank you for the awesome forum!

I have windows 7 and Gimp 2.8

I am trying to make animated Gifs from videos so I installed GAP 2.6

However, the "video" option is not showing up in my title bar.

The file path I extracted it to was Sunfish (my user)/.gimp-2.8/plug-ins

Attached is a screenshot of how I installed it.

Where is the "video" link in my menu bar? Why isn't it showing up?

Thank you!


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 3, 2013, 06:53 (This post was last modified: Nov 3, 2013 06:54 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #2
RE: Why isn't GAP installing in Gimp?
Check under Filters > Animation...

I linked a thread below the pic, rich put up a video tutorial and you can see the "video" subtitle in the menus, so something is wrong.
-Try checking if there are any new menu items there besides the default seen greyed out in the picture below:
[Image: attachment.php?aid=2612]

Also Double check you installed GAP into (version 2.8... .6?) correctly from this thread, I have a link to instructions on how (2.6 GAP to 2.8) in the second post
http://gimpforums.com/thread-gap-2-6-0-and-gimp-2-8-4


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 3, 2013, 19:37
Post: #3
RE: Why isn't GAP installing in Gimp?
Thanks for the quick replY!

Yeah, there is nothing new under the Filters/Animation.

I already checked out that other thread and it didn't work for me. I haven't tried the binaries yet, should I give that a try?

Also, can you like at the attached image of my file path? Is the GAP folder in the right Gimp folder?    
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 3, 2013, 21:08
Post: #4
RE: Why isn't GAP installing in Gimp?
That is the photocomix zip, recognise the name. No good just unzipping it.
Inside the zip is a file Gimp-GAP-2.6.0-Setup2.exe

Run that and point the installation to wherever Gimp is installed (probably) C:\Program Files\Gimp 2\

looks like this [Image: fic2XYn.jpg]

Then when you start Gimp up the 'Video' menu looks like this.
[Image: unVD1mi.jpg]

Whether it works or not is another matter. GAP has not been updated in years. It is 32 bit software. The Photocomix version is AFAIK the latest but I think that the Partha versions of Gimp include GAP (could be wrong there). Might be easier to use the Partha 64 bit installation.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 3, 2013, 21:55
Post: #5
RE: Why isn't GAP installing in Gimp?
Good news, I figured it out:

here are exact instructions for anybody running windows 7 32-bit OS and 32-bit GIMP 2.8
1)click the green download arrow up on the top right
2)extract the GAP_2_6_for_Gimp_2_6_Windows_by_photocomix_resources.zip
3)go into the GAP.2.6_win and then go into the GAP-installer
4)click on Gimp-GAP-2.6.0-Setup2.exe and select your language
5)click next and then I agree
6)when destination folder comes up copy "C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\" (without quotes) and paste it into box
7)click install
8)start or restart (if open) GIMP and look for a "Video" tab like: Video Tab
9)be happy, you just installed GAP-GIMP! YAY FOR YOU!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 9, 2014, 00:15
Post: #6
RE: Why isn't GAP installing in Gimp?
(Nov 3, 2013 21:55)manimal42 Wrote:  Good news, I figured it out:

here are exact instructions for anybody running windows 7 32-bit OS and 32-bit GIMP 2.8
1)click the green download arrow up on the top right
2)extract the GAP_2_6_for_Gimp_2_6_Windows_by_photocomix_resources.zip
3)go into the GAP.2.6_win and then go into the GAP-installer
4)click on Gimp-GAP-2.6.0-Setup2.exe and select your language
5)click next and then I agree
6)when destination folder comes up copy "C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\" (without quotes) and paste it into box
7)click install
8)start or restart (if open) GIMP and look for a "Video" tab like: Video Tab
9)be happy, you just installed GAP-GIMP! YAY FOR YOU!

I ran these instructions on Win 7 x64 bit. No change to the file path, and was able to successfully install GAP as well. Thanks for the revised instructions!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Script Fu Errors Gimp 2.10.4 lightsaber jd3481 1 374 Aug 2, 2018 05:13
Last Post: paynekj
  GIMP Resynthesizer Plugin not working Mikkel Andersen 1 526 Jun 26, 2018 16:36
Last Post: paynekj
  Tablet issues with GIMP 2.10 Phoenisca 1 643 May 30, 2018 14:30
Last Post: paynekj
  addonCollectionManager-3.0 on Gimp 2.10.2 (Solved) Pocholo 0 395 May 26, 2018 02:26
Last Post: Pocholo
  Gimp 2.10 with old vignette from Plugin registry. DenisT 2 380 May 19, 2018 20:42
Last Post: DenisT

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS