Post Reply 

Why is there no options to select multiple layers?

Nov 20, 2012, 01:29
Post: #1
Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
It seems like a basic image editing feature. The ability to select two to ten layers (as an example), and delete them, or perhaps to copy and paste them (animations), or other reasons.

I have spent long hours with this program because of the lack of this feature. Sure, I could try to buy Photoshop and use it instead, but really I don't understand why it has never made it to this program.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 10, 2014, 18:23
Post: #2
RE: Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
(Nov 20, 2012 01:29)funnyguyd Wrote:  It seems like a basic image editing feature. The ability to select two to ten layers (as an example), and delete them, or perhaps to copy and paste them (animations), or other reasons.

I have spent long hours with this program because of the lack of this feature. Sure, I could try to buy Photoshop and use it instead, but really I don't understand why it has never made it to this program.

Add me to this discussion. I need to select multiple layers to add a lot to groups instead of one at a time.

MacBook Pro 15 in.  OS X 10.9, 16 Gigs Logic Pro,RealLPC, ReFlow, Roland A-30 controller, iPod: ReFlow, Music Studio, Lyric Master 4000. Graphics Gimp Cheetah 3d.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 10, 2014, 19:03 (This post was last modified: Jun 11, 2014 00:49 by fluffybunny2.)
Post: #3
RE: Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
(Jun 10, 2014 18:23)uncle808us Wrote:  Add me to this discussion. I need to select multiple layers to add a lot to groups instead of one at a time.
The Animstack script for Gimp gives you the way to pack all 'chained' layers to a group and also unpack them too, plus many more animation features too.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 10, 2014, 19:05
Post: #4
RE: Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
(Nov 20, 2012 01:29)funnyguyd Wrote:  It seems like a basic image editing feature. The ability to select two to ten layers (as an example), and delete them, or perhaps to copy and paste them (animations), or other reasons.

I have spent long hours with this program because of the lack of this feature. Sure, I could try to buy Photoshop and use it instead, but really I don't understand why it has never made it to this program.
Try this script for multiple layer actions including deleting multiple layers and more...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 11, 2014, 00:20
Post: #5
RE: Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
Another way (maybe easier...)

Either by right-clicking the space in the layers window
Or via the "Layers" Menu.
You can also create a "New layer group..." Then click that folder & create your new layers in that group.

When you delete the layer group, you'll delete all the layers in that group folder.

To copy the layer group folder, right-click the group folder & click "Duplicate layer..."
-it will copy the layer group, & it will be collapsed with a [+] sign on the left.
Click the [+]plus sign to expand the layer group.

Visuals here:
http://youtu.be/LYId7EYQz8Y?t=7m10s
.
.I tested the dragging the layers into the group, it works ^_^

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 11, 2014, 00:32 (This post was last modified: Jun 11, 2014 00:32 by uncle808us.)
Post: #6
RE: Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
Thanks for the information and the links. Basically what I was looking for is being able to select multiple layers to drag into a Group folder. But all your responses where helpful and enlightening. Thank you all.

MacBook Pro 15 in.  OS X 10.9, 16 Gigs Logic Pro,RealLPC, ReFlow, Roland A-30 controller, iPod: ReFlow, Music Studio, Lyric Master 4000. Graphics Gimp Cheetah 3d.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 11, 2014, 00:46 (This post was last modified: Jun 11, 2014 00:47 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #7
RE: Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
(Jun 11, 2014 00:32)uncle808us Wrote:  Basically what I was looking for is being able to select multiple layers to drag into a Group folder.

Hi uncle808us, there is little to no solution to physically selecting multiple layers the way you described, yet...

I did a little googling and come up with similar threads like this one : /

http://graphicdesign.stackexchange.com/q...-with-gimp

Cheers ^^
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 11, 2014, 00:48
Post: #8
RE: Why is there no options to select multiple layers?
... and another way to do multiple layer deletes...

Set 'visible' (eye icon) on the layers you want to delete, or 'not visible' on the layers you want to keep depending on the ratio of keep vs delete (whichever is quicker),
then right click a layer in the Layers dialog and choose 'Merge Visible Layers'.
Finally, delete the resultant merged layer.

Remember Shift Click and CTRL-Shift Click will toggle multiple 'eye' icons or 'chain' icons in the Layers dialog.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Free Select Tool Issue! hammsman 1 29 Yesterday 09:00
Last Post: paynekj
  cannot merge layers after using scissors garyartista 1 222 May 14, 2018 08:13
Last Post: paynekj
  Toolbox and layers do not close on exiting GIMP Acharn 1 325 May 6, 2018 20:04
Last Post: paynekj
  Dimension between layers, select layers. magdap 2 303 Apr 27, 2018 19:26
Last Post: magdap
  Why Can't You Select All Layers nihiloth79 0 517 May 29, 2017 20:00
Last Post: nihiloth79

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS