Post Reply 

What fonts did I use?!?

Mar 29, 2012, 23:35
Post: #1
What fonts did I use?!?
I hope someone here can help.

For the past year I've been designing banners and other graphics for online shops. In the beginning I tried to save all the info that went into making the design in the image properties "comment" tab. Then I got lazy & stopped documenting.

Recently my computer died. It had to be re-formatted, so all data on the hard drive was lost. I had my work backed-up, so I didn't worry about it.

However, now when I open an old project, I have no idea what font/s I used. When I googled for a solution, I found this page: http://superuser.com/questions/298959/fi...p-xcf-file

I tried to follow the instructions to paste the given code into python, but got error messages.

Do you understand the instructions for using the script and can you help me to make it work? Or do you know of another way to find out the names of the fonts I've used?

Thanks for any help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 30, 2012, 01:09 (This post was last modified: Mar 30, 2012 01:29 by ofnuts.)
Post: #2
RE: What fonts did I use?!?
The problem with Python is that it's very sensitive to spaces and tabs so when you copy it you usually break it Smile

Maybe you can use this one (based on same principle): https://bitbucket.org/Davydov/get_text_fu (can't tell if it's python or scheme)

For python scripts you first have to check that you have Python support in your Gimp installation. Check that you have a "Filters/Python-fu/Console" menu entry (at the bottom of "Filters"), and "Filters/Render/Clouds/Fog".

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 30, 2012, 01:40
Post: #3
RE: What fonts did I use?!?
Thanks for answering - I thought that the script needed me to input some variables and that's why it gave me an error.

I do have the Python-fu console under Filters (it loaded so slowly I ended up opening 3 of them when I first tried the script). For "Filters/Render/Clouds/Fog" the word "fog" is there but grayed out.

Should I try to type each line into the Python console window? Not sure if I could get it right lol
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 30, 2012, 07:34 (This post was last modified: Mar 30, 2012 07:35 by ofnuts.)
Post: #4
RE: What fonts did I use?!?
Looks like you have got Python ("Fog" doesn't even show up of you have not).

To make it simple:

- go there: http://sourceforge.net/projects/gimp-too...s/scripts/
- get text-info-0.0.py
- install following instructions in side bar here: http://gimp-tools.sourceforge.net/
- start Gimp
- in the Layers list, right click on a layer, the menu should now have an entry "Show text information" at the bottom.
- if the layer is a text layer (with a "T" preview icon) or has been a text layer and the text layer information has not been removed, you'll get a message box with the info (if you use the message console dialog, info is printed there instead)
- this works only if the image has been saved once (recently changed/created text layers do not have the info attached until the file is (re-)saved).

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  FONTS mystery05 1 176 Jun 19, 2017 15:05
Last Post: ythgilb
  Using Adobe Typekit fonts within GIMP? Kevin M 7 823 Oct 6, 2014 20:12
Last Post: quif
  How do I install fonts? Dialga 2 304 Jul 21, 2014 03:41
Last Post: Dialga
  Change fonts in a text box MikeMac 1 509 Sep 27, 2013 23:31
Last Post: ofnuts
  Fonts wont work margherita 10 3,817 Jun 19, 2013 18:18
Last Post: rich2005

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS