Post Reply 

Using the clone tool

Jan 12, 2011, 11:16
Post: #1
Using the clone tool
Hello,

I would like a little help to get me started with the clone tool. I have used the one in Photoshop, but this one is different. There is some kind of box that comes up when I select the tool, I am not sure what to do with it.

Thanks for the help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 13, 2011, 02:26
Post: #2
RE: Using the clone tool
(Jan 12, 2011 11:16)Funk Wrote:  Hello,

I would like a little help to get me started with the clone tool. I have used the one in Photoshop, but this one is different. There is some kind of box that comes up when I select the tool, I am not sure what to do with it.

Thanks for the help.


Hey Funk,
Click the clone tool on the tool palette; you'll get a clone indicator alongside the cursor and a circle... hold down the Ctrl key and the circle will become a cross-hair.
Click on the cross-hair when you get it to the source you want for the clone function and release the button and the Ctrl key; the action will leave an icon in the source spot and allow you to move the clone tool to the spot where you want to cover with the clone source.
As you cover the destination, the source icon will move to the corresponding spot you are using as the source...
Fairly straight-forward function almost identical to PS...

Until that time ... Earl J.


"Born on Valley Isle,
Home now, North Carolina;
Aloha y'all . . ."


Earl J.
Win 7 64-bit
GIMP 2.6.11
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 13, 2011, 04:01
Post: #3
RE: Using the clone tool
Thanks for the help both of you.

ofnuts, I may post a screenshot of the box I was talking about later if you like but not right at the moment.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 13, 2011, 09:19 (This post was last modified: Jan 13, 2011 09:19 by Funk.)
Post: #4
RE: Using the clone tool
Okay, here is an example of the moveable box that appears when I try to use the clone tool:

[Image: screenshotvu.jpg]

http://img15.imageshack.us/i/screenshotvu.jpg/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 13, 2011, 11:28
Post: #5
RE: Using the clone tool
Oh woops, I just want the regular clone tool, not the perspective one.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 14, 2011, 04:47
Post: #6
RE: Using the clone tool
That worked perfectly. Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Using the Elipse tool bl665 1 197 Jul 28, 2017 06:07
Last Post: ythgilb
  Blur tool changes the color F_Jenkins17 2 341 Oct 8, 2014 02:17
Last Post: F_Jenkins17
  Can't find line tool? FluffyMuffins230 4 471 Oct 1, 2014 16:24
Last Post: FluffyMuffins230
  Text tool options Nisha 1 379 Aug 22, 2014 08:16
Last Post: rich2005
  Tool boxes EddieAstoria 1 334 Aug 14, 2014 23:29
Last Post: fluffybunny2

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS