Post Reply 

"unable to locate component" error

Jan 27, 2014, 05:38
Post: #1
"unable to locate component" error
I have been getting an error message when trying to start Gimp. It says that libgmodule -2.0-0.dll is missing and that reinstalling Gimp might solve this problem. I have uninstalled then reinstalled Gimp two times and still keep getting this error and I'm not sure what is causing it to occur.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 27, 2014, 17:12
Post: #2
RE: "unable to locate component" error
Oh, I checked it and there are no spaces in the error message.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 27, 2014, 22:49
Post: #3
RE: "unable to locate component" error
I'm using avast for my antivirus. I checked the virus chest, firewall logs and the sandbox and couldn't find anything. Could I have missed it?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 28, 2014, 21:06
Post: #4
RE: "unable to locate component" error
I actually fallowed the file format that you gave in the first post and I was able to find the file.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 29, 2014, 03:48
Post: #5
RE: "unable to locate component" error
I downloaded it right from the Gimp website. I think it was Gimp.org. I had to go into the gimp folder to create a desktop icon which has worked in the past.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 29, 2014, 14:48
Post: #6
RE: "unable to locate component" error
I am running Windows xp and I'm pretty sure it's a 32 bit system.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 30, 2014, 03:57 (This post was last modified: Jan 30, 2014 04:00 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #7
RE: "unable to locate component" error
also include a link to the exact file you downloaded. Maybe that has to do with it.

Example, right-click on the file and click "copy link address"
it should paste like the below (no quotes):
Code:
" ftp://ftp.gimp.org/pub/gimp/v2.8/windows/gimp-2.8.10-setup.exe "
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 30, 2014, 09:46 (This post was last modified: Jan 30, 2014 11:29 by rich2005.)
Post: #8
RE: "unable to locate component" error
I have 2 Gimp installations in a WinXPsp3, a 'real' machine (Gimp 2.8.2) and a virtualbox one (Gimp 2.8.4). Both work.

Quote:I downloaded it right from the Gimp website. I think it was Gimp.org. I had to go into the gimp folder to create a desktop icon which has worked in the past.

That sounds very strange. The only reason to do that is if you select not to have a desktop shortcut during the installation process.

My tuppenceworth for XP:
Use the windows uninstaller to remove the present Gimp installation.

See if there is still a remnant of C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\ existing. If "yes" then delete it. Important to remove anything left over from old installations.

Go to C:\Documents and Settings\.gimp-2.8\ and rename to C:\Documents and Settings\.gimp-2.8bak\ to preserve any resources you might need later.

Download the Gimp 2.8.4 version from here ftp://ftp.gimp.org/pub/gimp/v2.8/windows/
Gimp 2.8.8 and Gimp 2.8.10 both suffer from the "finding new scripts" syndrome which delays startup. There is no Gimp 2.8.6 version there.

Run the installer, If English is your language, it is worth using customize, and when you come to components, untick translations, nothing else only that. Saves about 70 MB. Remember to tick the 'make desktop link' option as well Wink

I have done this installation many times in that Virtual WinXP, trying out new versions of Gimp, never failed yet.

The other thing is, all might be to no avail. As before, check your virus scanner, Kasperski is know to cause problems. Edit: I see you use Avast, that is well known for false positives, but AFAIK not stopping anything.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 30, 2014, 22:37
Post: #9
RE: "unable to locate component" error
I uninstalled Avast then tried to install Gimp again. There was a file remaining after I uninstalled it with windows uninstaller so I deleted the folder and I deleted the remaining desktop icon. I reinstalled Gimp and was able to access gimp directly from the icon in the Gimp folder but it did not automatically put the desktop icon on the desktop like before. I didn't see any option to select whether or not to have the program place the icon on the desktop or not. I copied and pasted the icon to the desktop and had the same problem I posted about. I'm having the same problem with another desktop icon as well. I'm pretty sure the following link is where I downloaded the copy of Gimp from. http://www.gimp.org/downloads/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 31, 2014, 00:33 (This post was last modified: Jan 31, 2014 00:35 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #10
RE: "unable to locate component" error
(Jan 30, 2014 22:37)abador08 Wrote:  ... I reinstalled Gimp and was able to access gimp directly from the icon in the Gimp folder but it did not automatically put the desktop icon on the desktop like before. I didn't see any option to select whether or not to have the program place the icon on the desktop or not.
Quote: I copied and pasted the icon to the desktop and had the same problem I posted about. I'm having the same problem with another desktop icon as well. I'm pretty sure the following link is where I downloaded the copy of Gimp from. http://www.gimp.org/downloads/

They way you put the icon on your desktop might cause problems because you've copied the .exe outside of its folders. So delete the shortcut you made on the desktop (its not a shortcut...yet)

In the Gimp folder (the one you said you could run gimp from) Right-click on the the program(something like "gimp-2.8.exe) and click "Create Shortcut"

*If you get a prompt asking "Cannot make a shortcut here, do you want to create a one on the desktop instead?" click yes.
If not, copy & paste to the desktop the one that says "gimp-2.8.exe - Shortcut"

Fixed?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 31, 2014, 04:36
Post: #11
RE: "unable to locate component" error
It created the shortcut and it actually put it back in the same folder. I copied and pasted the shortcut and it worked perfectly. Thanks everyone who contributed!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Gimp 2.10.8 error coyote 2 436 Nov 12, 2018 13:49
Last Post: coyote
  GIMP 2.10 mathmap.exe error while starting bluejedi 1 602 Apr 30, 2018 11:06
Last Post: paynekj
  "Unknown Filetype" error on any but .xcf beachboui 1 722 Jul 29, 2017 21:29
Last Post: ythgilb
  Unable to open, save, and export Rockymtnx 0 551 Oct 2, 2014 17:18
Last Post: Rockymtnx
  Image Error Vash Stampida 4 763 Sep 15, 2014 17:19
Last Post: Vash Stampida

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS