Post Reply 

Tool active or passive indicator

Jul 11, 2012, 15:44
Post: #1
Tool active or passive indicator
I use gimp on a laptop computer, with the usual touch sensitive pad. I am surprised there is no visual indicator anywhere in Gimp, as to whether a tool, especially a paintbrush is live or passive. It is annoying that you may think the tool is "off" only to move paintbrush to another location any leave an unwanted paint trail on your layer.
Would it be better to have the tool icon change colour or have white border, to indicate live or passive.
Have I got it setup right.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 11, 2012, 16:23
Post: #2
RE: Tool active or passive indicator
@gemstone
You don't say which version of Gimp you use or which OS, might make a difference.

Are you using a very dark/black theme (very popular these days). I am guessing this is the case.

Using a standard theme
You should see a box around the current tool or brush and if tool options are visible then you know which tool you are using.
Left side Gimp 2.8, right side Gimp 2.6.12

[Image: 4Xofk.jpg]

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 11, 2012, 16:31
Post: #3
RE: Tool active or passive indicator
(Jul 11, 2012 16:10)ofnuts Wrote:  The "active" feedback is your finger... If I move the brush with a touchpad it won't paint unless I also depress one of the buttons.

Fun design problem: the tool becomes active when you click down. But when you click it also starts to paint. So you get the indication at the same time you start painting. To make it work as you like would require to start drawing when releasing the button or when detecting the beginning of a drag, but that would change the behavior a lot...

Yes, thanks ofnuts. I had discovered pressing the left button made it "active" but you have to press it again after you have painted to make it "passive" again. If it could to be made "active" as long as the button remained pressed and reverted to "passive" when the button was released, that would be more positive. However, tapping the pad makes it ,"active" and tapping again reverts to "passive" , but it would be much more reassuring if something visible changed.
I'll persevere! Thanks again
Gemstone
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 11, 2012, 16:46
Post: #4
RE: Tool active or passive indicator
(Jul 11, 2012 16:23)rich2005 Wrote:  @gemstone
You don't say which version of Gimp you use or which OS, might make a difference.

Are you using a very dark/black theme (very popular these days). I am guessing this is the case.

Using a standard theme
You should see a box around the current tool or brush and if tool options are visible then you know which tool you are using.
Left side Gimp 2.8, right side Gimp 2.6.12

[Image: 4Xofk.jpg]

Thanks rich2005. I'm now using Gimp 2.8 on Windows Vista, with the aurora midnight theme. The highlighting is perfectly visible. The problem is not whether the tool is selected but more a question of is it live (and will paint) or is it passive and won't paint whilst I move it after use.

Gemstone
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 11, 2012, 16:51
Post: #5
RE: Tool active or passive indicator
Appologies

1. I did not read your post fully
2. Hero status for using Gimp and a touchpad

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 11, 2012, 21:11
Post: #6
RE: Tool active or passive indicator
(Jul 11, 2012 17:54)ofnuts Wrote:  
(Jul 11, 2012 16:31)gemstone Wrote:  
(Jul 11, 2012 16:10)ofnuts Wrote:  The "active" feedback is your finger... If I move the brush with a touchpad it won't paint unless I also depress one of the buttons.

Fun design problem: the tool becomes active when you click down. But when you click it also starts to paint. So you get the indication at the same time you start painting. To make it work as you like would require to start drawing when releasing the button or when detecting the beginning of a drag, but that would change the behavior a lot...

Yes, thanks ofnuts. I had discovered pressing the left button made it "active" but you have to press it again after you have painted to make it "passive" again. If it could to be made "active" as long as the button remained pressed and reverted to "passive" when the button was released, that would be more positive. However, tapping the pad makes it ,"active" and tapping again reverts to "passive" , but it would be much more reassuring if something visible changed.
I'll persevere! Thanks again
Gemstone
You are victim of you touchpad behavior. With a real mouse (or touchpad + button) the tool is active only while the button is pressed. On your touchpad you tap to press and tap to release... this may make sense for text and general UI, but this is a very bad ersatz of a mouse for interactive graphics work.

Take your point ofnuts. Perhaps I'll use my usb mouse instead but hopefully the respected developers of GiMP might read this thread and put a red border round the tool icon when it's "live" which disappears when it's definitely "passive" so theres no confusion with us users of touchpads, and I don't accidently put black lines across my active layer when the paintbrush is supposed to be "OFF"

Thanks everyone for their comments!

Gemstone
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dodge/burn tool layer glitch Gorfrag 1 156 Nov 21, 2018 09:25
Last Post: paynekj
  'Move' tool malfunction? Cogreg 1 136 Nov 20, 2018 17:52
Last Post: paynekj
  Free select tool T-buch 2 123 Nov 13, 2018 17:14
Last Post: T-buch
  Keeping Toolbox Above Active Window BestOfTheDayOff 1 640 Oct 4, 2018 08:08
Last Post: paynekj
Question How to stroke a path using clone tool ? le.snake 3 434 Sep 2, 2018 16:19
Last Post: le.snake

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS