Post Reply 

Three Easy Questions For The Price of One (Please?)

Jan 16, 2012, 21:13 (This post was last modified: Jan 16, 2012 21:23 by Ira.)
Post: #1
Three Easy Questions For The Price of One (Please?)
Hi, everyone. I just introduced myself over in the Introductions Section, so now the fun begins. I'm a former PS user on Mac but can't afford to buy it for the PC. After a few days, I'm impressed with GIMP, with these 4 issues:

1) Can you convert to CMYK?

2) Are there any known bugs where the shift key (on a laptop) isn't confining the brushes to straight lines? It ain't working for me.

3) Should I be assuming that when I create a text layer, all characters have to assume the same font, size and other attributes (like letter spacing), and that there's no way to manually kern or resize characters individually?

Thanks for your patience, and hopefully, your insights!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 16, 2012, 21:37
Post: #2
RE: Three Easy Questions For The Price of One (Please?)
Well, I figured out the straight line thing. It doesn't draw like in PS--it's cooler. You just shift click your start and end points.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 17, 2012, 02:11
Post: #3
RE: Three Easy Questions For The Price of One (Please?)
(Jan 16, 2012 21:13)Ira Wrote:  Hi, everyone. I just introduced myself over in the Introductions Section, so now the fun begins. I'm a former PS user on Mac but can't afford to buy it for the PC. After a few days, I'm impressed with GIMP, with these 4 issues:

1) Can you convert to CMYK?
AFAIK there are tools to output to CMYK when the file format allows (TIFF) but on the whole you have to work in RGB. I confes some ignorance in the matter.
(Jan 16, 2012 21:13)Ira Wrote:  2) Are there any known bugs where the shift key (on a laptop) isn't confining the brushes to straight lines? It ain't working for me.
None I know of. Click in A, move, shift-click in B draws a straight line. When you depress the Shift key, you should see the "preview" of the stroke. In slow motion, you get these three:
1) after click/release
2) after move pointer + shift-press
3 after click-release + shift-release
[attachment=871]

(Jan 16, 2012 21:13)Ira Wrote:  3) Should I be assuming that when I create a text layer, all characters have to assume the same font, size and other attributes (like letter spacing), and that there's no way to manually kern or resize characters individually?
Correct. The developers are inquiring about the usage of text on the gimp-developer mailing list, you may want to join the fun: http://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/g...loper-list (the thread is titled "something's starting, it is the text tool")

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 17, 2012, 02:59 (This post was last modified: Jan 17, 2012 03:00 by Ira.)
Post: #4
RE: Three Easy Questions For The Price of One (Please?)
Thanks, nuts!

I've been saving as TIFF for import to Quark, but so far today, I haven't seen the option. Although I DO remember seeing a CMYK option a few days ago. I must be missing something.

Also, does Gimp use clipping paths, or am I going to be using another method for transparent backgrounds in Quark? I'm real comfortable using clipping paths...hardly ever use masks...but if I have to learn a new technique, so be it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 17, 2012, 07:50 (This post was last modified: Jan 17, 2012 07:51 by ofnuts.)
Post: #5
RE: Three Easy Questions For The Price of One (Please?)
Yes you can use paths to determine a selection. See the Path tool (Path) there are also "Intelligent scissors" (Iscissors) and a Foreground extractor (Foregroundselect). Masks also work.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 17, 2012, 10:19
Post: #6
RE: Three Easy Questions For The Price of One (Please?)
Thanks again-- and now I remember:

In older versions of Quark, you had to assign a path clipping attributes in PS, but nowadays, you can tell Q to treat any path as a clipping path,
(Jan 17, 2012 07:50)ofnuts Wrote:  Yes you can use paths to determine a selection. See the Path tool (Path) there are also "Intelligent scissors" (Iscissors) and a Foreground extractor (Foregroundselect). Masks also work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  layer questions rwferr 1 122 May 29, 2017 18:40
Last Post: blighty
  a couple of questions Malek_Afar 2 174 Oct 10, 2014 12:29
Last Post: iForStyle007
  I have four questions McClarinJ 4 212 Oct 9, 2014 02:58
Last Post: McClarinJ
  Lots of questions from a newbie. kenny1999 5 322 Sep 26, 2014 18:29
Last Post: kenny1999
Question Easy way to change layers? Dialga 2 307 Jun 28, 2014 02:04
Last Post: Dialga

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS