Post Reply 

textures to a single layer

Feb 4, 2014, 10:35
Post: #1
textures to a single layer
Hi ALL,

Firstly I am not a graphics guy , this is something I want to do for X plane 10. As x plane uses only a single texture per object i need to create a texture which would contain all faces of a building e.g. the roof / front / back etc.. , i tried one by making a 1024x1024 area and imported the other images and saved them as a single jpg. but the texture is not showing up.

Really appreciated all help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 4, 2014, 10:57
Post: #2
RE: textures to a single layer
I know absolutly nothing about x plane, but I can look up requirements.

It seems to me that png is the favoured format.
This one http://marginal.org.uk/x-planescenery/ha...tures.html says.

Quote:The bitmap must be in one of these formats:
Windows Bitmap (.BMP) - 16.7M colours (24 bit depth) or 256 colours (palette-based).
Portable Network Graphics (.PNG) - 16.7M colours (24 bit depth) with or without an Alpha channel. (X-Plane doesn't support palette-based PNGs).

Maybe try png rather than jpg. Looks to me that the layout is vital as well, but I am only guessing.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 4, 2014, 11:05
Post: #3
RE: textures to a single layer
(Feb 4, 2014 10:57)rich2005 Wrote:  I know absolutly nothing about x plane, but I can look up requirements.

It seems to me that png is the favoured format.
This one http://marginal.org.uk/x-planescenery/ha...tures.html says.

Quote:The bitmap must be in one of these formats:
Windows Bitmap (.BMP) - 16.7M colours (24 bit depth) or 256 colours (palette-based).
Portable Network Graphics (.PNG) - 16.7M colours (24 bit depth) with or without an Alpha channel. (X-Plane doesn't support palette-based PNGs).

Maybe try png rather than jpg. Looks to me that the layout is vital as well, but I am only guessing.


Hey thank you for replying. I am using jpg's
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 4, 2014, 11:09
Post: #4
RE: textures to a single layer
BTW the models and textures are from google warehouse and I am not making any myself.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 4, 2014, 12:51
Post: #5
RE: textures to a single layer
(Feb 4, 2014 10:35)ironmaiden Wrote:  Hi ALL,

Firstly I am not a graphics guy , this is something I want to do for X plane 10. As x plane uses only a single texture per object i need to create a texture which would contain all faces of a building e.g. the roof / front / back etc.. , i tried one by making a 1024x1024 area and imported the other images and saved them as a single jpg. but the texture is not showing up.

Really appreciated all help.
Did you try saving it as a .png?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 4, 2014, 13:10
Post: #6
RE: textures to a single layer
(Feb 4, 2014 12:51)fluffybunny2 Wrote:  
(Feb 4, 2014 10:35)ironmaiden Wrote:  Hi ALL,

Firstly I am not a graphics guy , this is something I want to do for X plane 10. As x plane uses only a single texture per object i need to create a texture which would contain all faces of a building e.g. the roof / front / back etc.. , i tried one by making a 1024x1024 area and imported the other images and saved them as a single jpg. but the texture is not showing up.

Really appreciated all help.
Did you try saving it as a .png?

Actually no sir I have not . Do you think it would matter ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 4, 2014, 22:14
Post: #7
RE: textures to a single layer
(Feb 4, 2014 13:10)ironmaiden Wrote:  
(Feb 4, 2014 12:51)fluffybunny2 Wrote:  
(Feb 4, 2014 10:35)ironmaiden Wrote:  Hi ALL,

Firstly I am not a graphics guy , this is something I want to do for X plane 10. As x plane uses only a single texture per object i need to create a texture which would contain all faces of a building e.g. the roof / front / back etc.. , i tried one by making a 1024x1024 area and imported the other images and saved them as a single jpg. but the texture is not showing up.

Really appreciated all help.
Did you try saving it as a .png?

Actually no sir I have not . Do you think it would matter ?
Based on the other replies you have had to this thread, Yes.
Just File-> Export
Give it a name with a .png extension.
Then see if that solves it or not.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 5, 2014, 12:08
Post: #8
RE: textures to a single layer
I did try the .png but the textures which appear on the object are completely off sync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 5, 2014, 13:00
Post: #9
RE: textures to a single layer
I am not surprised it does not work.
Go back and read that post on x-plane textures.
http://marginal.org.uk/x-planescenery/ha...tures.html
Ok it is for blender, but there are some guides as to format.

your image (from GC)
[Image: bCnk309.jpg]

their image (from the zip file they provide)
[Image: EVdYN2U.png]

Time to do some research on your own.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 5, 2014, 13:16
Post: #10
RE: textures to a single layer
(Feb 5, 2014 13:00)rich2005 Wrote:  I am not surprised it does not work.
Go back and read that post on x-plane textures.
http://marginal.org.uk/x-planescenery/ha...tures.html
Ok it is for blender, but there are some guides as to format.

your image (from GC)
[Image: bCnk309.jpg]

their image (from the zip file they provide)
[Image: EVdYN2U.png]

Time to do some research on your own.


Hey rich,

I don't mind blender , I can study it.

Yeah time to do some research.

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dodge/burn tool layer glitch Gorfrag 1 19 Today 09:25
Last Post: paynekj
  Paste layer without merging with other layer stephenboston 1 455 Sep 4, 2018 05:21
Last Post: paynekj
  Enlarging selection rectangle by single pixel "nudges" (keyboard?) tgm1024 1 320 Aug 30, 2018 14:22
Last Post: paynekj
  Make single window mode default aymanzone 1 319 May 28, 2018 10:52
Last Post: paynekj
  After floating a layer, how do you return the selection to the whole image? ithortureu 1 243 May 13, 2018 07:15
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS