Post Reply 

Tablet not detecting pressure levels, also help with brush dynamics?

Oct 31, 2013, 03:52 (This post was last modified: Oct 31, 2013 04:16 by HwoThumb.)
Post: #1
Tablet not detecting pressure levels, also help with brush dynamics?
I'm trying to get the pressure levels for my tablet working right. I want it to increase hardness when I press harder, but instead hardness DECREASES. Is there a way to flip it around? The matrix just seems to be booleans, with only checkmarks or no checkmarks.

Actually, scratch that. Now the pressure levels aren't detecting AT ALL. I have the tablet enabled in Input Devices, and the pen is Pressure-Opacity but nothing changes based on pressure. Help?

I tried this video but the fix did not work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 31, 2013, 06:01
Post: #2
RE: Tablet not detecting pressure levels, also help with brush dynamics?
What operating system & version of gimp are you using?
I've read around a few forums and it seems support for pressure sensitivity was best in 2.6 but maybe I'm wrong.

Also, in the video, there was one section skipped that might be important. On the left side bar in preferences, look atthe second picture on this post, than scroll up or down for more info on that page.

http://gimpforums.com/thread-problem-wit...0#pid21830

See if your input device is under the "active controllers" column on that page (second image)

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 31, 2013, 21:52
Post: #3
RE: Tablet not detecting pressure levels, also help with brush dynamics?
(Oct 31, 2013 06:01)iForStyle007 Wrote:  What operating system & version of gimp are you using?
I've read around a few forums and it seems support for pressure sensitivity was best in 2.6 but maybe I'm wrong.

Also, in the video, there was one section skipped that might be important. On the left side bar in preferences, look atthe second picture on this post, than scroll up or down for more info on that page.

http://gimpforums.com/thread-problem-wit...0#pid21830

See if your input device is under the "active controllers" column on that page (second image)
Using Windows 7, gimp 2.8.2

I checked under active controllers, but my tablet is not under Available or Active controllers. I opened my bamboo settings, but closed them without changing anything and now all of a sudden the pressure sensitivity works fine. I'm not sure if the problem went away on its own or if I did something without realizing it, but if pressure sensitivity stops working again, I'll try your advice.
Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 1, 2013, 03:22
Post: #4
RE: Tablet not detecting pressure levels, also help with brush dynamics?
Okay, it happened again. It seems like the first time I start up Gimp my tablet works fine, but if I use it later the pressure levels don't work.
I tried the suggestions you guys posed, but none seem to be working.
Any ideas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 1, 2013, 06:36
Post: #5
RE: Tablet not detecting pressure levels, also help with brush dynamics?
(Nov 1, 2013 03:22)HwoThumb Wrote:  Okay, it happened again. It seems like the first time I start up Gimp my tablet works fine, but if I use it later the pressure levels don't work.
I tried the suggestions you guys posed, but none seem to be working.
Any ideas?


Yes, there is another thread floating around with a problem similar to yours, try this.

First, update your gimp to 2.8.6 (most current) plug in your tablet, then start gimp,
By opening your bamboo settings, that may have registered it with the system/gimp so try that again and see if that helps under gimp 2.8.6

If it still doesn't work as expected:
Try gimp 2.6 portable (for testing, you can run the program from the folder after unzipping if you need to unzip it)
http://download.cnet.com/GIMP-Portable/3...ag=mncol;2

The above link should work, if not you'll want to uninstall your latest gimp, then from
http://www.oldapps.com/gimp.php?old_gimp=50

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Gimp 2.8 wont't see my wcoom bamboo tablet NullPointer 1 307 May 22, 2018 12:53
Last Post: paynekj
  Stripped Brush keyring 2 312 Jan 4, 2018 11:34
Last Post: keyring
  Brush Hardness korbie 1 413 Dec 5, 2017 22:03
Last Post: paynekj
  Losing detail on a brush archietp 1 284 Nov 24, 2017 14:53
Last Post: archietp
  Drawing tablet changes tools when I try to draw ralphwolf 1 366 Oct 19, 2017 19:42
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS