Post Reply 

Substitute an image after transform/etc.

Sep 3, 2011, 08:16
Post: #1
Substitute an image after transform/etc.
Hello. I'm pretty new to Gimp. I want to make some 3D screenshots like Windows Aero or this:

[Image: dc6ef_maemo_thumb.jpg]

Is it possible to change the images on the individual windows after applying perspective, shadows/etc?

I want to make the overall appearance first, then decide what content to put in the windows.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 09:47 (This post was last modified: Sep 3, 2011 09:55 by Unrest.)
Post: #2
RE: Substitute an image after transform/etc.
Hmm, learning scripts seems like overkill. I guess this is something better done with a 3D modelling program.

I'm suprised Gimp doesn't seem to remember the sequence of actions you took, so you can go back and modify one step without repeating everything after it. Seems like making any complex graphics would be a nightmare of meticulous planning and hand sketching.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 13:13
Post: #3
RE: Substitute an image after transform/etc.
(Sep 3, 2011 09:47)Unrest Wrote:  Hmm, learning scripts seems like overkill. I guess this is something better done with a 3D modelling program.

I'm suprised Gimp doesn't seem to remember the sequence of actions you took, so you can go back and modify one step without repeating everything after it. Seems like making any complex graphics would be a nightmare of meticulous planning and hand sketching.

A macro for Gimp, don't hold your breath.

A lot depends how keen you are to set up a system.

You can transform an image into a perspective shape using ImageMagick.

Not dwelling on it but I would say -
make a template.
determine a set of co-ordinates for IM, use the gimp cursor for this
determine the final size - gimp rectangular select tells you this
Feed them into IM.
You would need one command for each image/layer but would be usually in a batch file for convenience.
Then it is just a copy /paste job in Gimp.
A very quick first try for a bottom layer. http://i.imgur.com/ti6qM.jpg
split the command for clarity/converience, it should be one line.

Heading off to the pub for a beer & watch rugby so best of luck.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 4, 2011, 01:17
Post: #4
RE: Substitute an image after transform/etc.
Cheers. I've done it by hand already, making blank "windows" in a 3D app to show me where to place the perspective tool corners. So at least I can do it roughly and slowly. If i need more accuracy or too many changes I'll come back and try your way.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Resizing an image down without losing quality AsdAsd 2 394 Jan 22, 2019 06:09
Last Post: Manju
  Make every image exact same size nibla 2 238 Jan 21, 2019 07:47
Last Post: Manju
  How to centre an image inside a larger rectangle rossnroller 1 107 Jan 7, 2019 09:43
Last Post: paynekj
  Need Advise on tracing image Loriblackdog 1 183 Dec 10, 2018 17:18
Last Post: paynekj
  some image have ( your name ) for editing but how commandera 2 238 Nov 1, 2018 18:55
Last Post: commandera

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS