Post Reply 

Substitute an image after transform/etc.

Sep 3, 2011, 08:16
Post: #1
Substitute an image after transform/etc.
Hello. I'm pretty new to Gimp. I want to make some 3D screenshots like Windows Aero or this:

[Image: dc6ef_maemo_thumb.jpg]

Is it possible to change the images on the individual windows after applying perspective, shadows/etc?

I want to make the overall appearance first, then decide what content to put in the windows.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 09:47 (This post was last modified: Sep 3, 2011 09:55 by Unrest.)
Post: #2
RE: Substitute an image after transform/etc.
Hmm, learning scripts seems like overkill. I guess this is something better done with a 3D modelling program.

I'm suprised Gimp doesn't seem to remember the sequence of actions you took, so you can go back and modify one step without repeating everything after it. Seems like making any complex graphics would be a nightmare of meticulous planning and hand sketching.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 13:13
Post: #3
RE: Substitute an image after transform/etc.
(Sep 3, 2011 09:47)Unrest Wrote:  Hmm, learning scripts seems like overkill. I guess this is something better done with a 3D modelling program.

I'm suprised Gimp doesn't seem to remember the sequence of actions you took, so you can go back and modify one step without repeating everything after it. Seems like making any complex graphics would be a nightmare of meticulous planning and hand sketching.

A macro for Gimp, don't hold your breath.

A lot depends how keen you are to set up a system.

You can transform an image into a perspective shape using ImageMagick.

Not dwelling on it but I would say -
make a template.
determine a set of co-ordinates for IM, use the gimp cursor for this
determine the final size - gimp rectangular select tells you this
Feed them into IM.
You would need one command for each image/layer but would be usually in a batch file for convenience.
Then it is just a copy /paste job in Gimp.
A very quick first try for a bottom layer. http://i.imgur.com/ti6qM.jpg
split the command for clarity/converience, it should be one line.

Heading off to the pub for a beer & watch rugby so best of luck.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 4, 2011, 01:17
Post: #4
RE: Substitute an image after transform/etc.
Cheers. I've done it by hand already, making blank "windows" in a 3D app to show me where to place the perspective tool corners. So at least I can do it roughly and slowly. If i need more accuracy or too many changes I'll come back and try your way.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How can I combine many images into one image? kenny1999 1 76 Jan 15, 2018 07:00
Last Post: ythgilb
Rainbow How Do I Make the Lines of an Image Thicker? fastcar 6 9,754 Dec 20, 2017 20:14
Last Post: jeffy.kle
  Delete the characters in the image Adamlevine 1 215 Dec 14, 2017 05:22
Last Post: ythgilb
  How to add a magnification segment of an image to the original size image fenpeppertree 1 156 Nov 7, 2017 17:05
Last Post: paynekj
  removing unwanted portions of selected area in an image pizzipie 1 160 Nov 2, 2017 05:31
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS