Post Reply 

[Solved] "Saving Layers"/"Save All Layers" Plug-in: What Directory do Files Go To?

Jun 9, 2012, 19:13 (This post was last modified: Jun 9, 2012 19:58 by DavidBrennan.)
Post: #1
[Solved] "Saving Layers"/"Save All Layers" Plug-in: What Directory do Files Go To?
I downloaded this plug-in which lets you save all layers as individual images at one time:

http://registry.gimp.org/node/15617

It's obviously hugely useful....but I can never find the resulting files, and, as far as I can tell, it doesn't allow you to just, ya know, pick a directory that you want to use. (On 2.6, I think they always went either to "My Pictures" or the folder of the source files. But now I'm on 2.8 and I can't find them anywhere.)

Can anybody please say where the resulting images go with this plug-in on 2.8?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 9, 2012, 19:42
Post: #2
RE: "Saving Layers"/"Save All Layers" Plug-in: What Directory do Files Go To?
(Jun 9, 2012 19:40)ofnuts Wrote:  ....Otherwise, all files go in the working directory for Gimp, which you can set in the shortcut/icon/link used to start Gimp.
Because the files are not located in the source file folder, they must be here. But I'm not sure what you mean by "shortcut/icon/link". Can you explain that? (Note that I use Windows XP, so if that's something related to Linux, then maybe that explains why I don't get it.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 9, 2012, 19:56 (This post was last modified: Jun 9, 2012 19:58 by DavidBrennan.)
Post: #3
RE: "Saving Layers"/"Save All Layers" Plug-in: What Directory do Files Go To?
(Jun 9, 2012 19:40)ofnuts Wrote:  No, clicking on icons to start programs is a concept shared among operating systems. On Windows, a right click on that icon elicits a menu from which you can get at a "properties" dialog, and somewhere there you can set the working directory of the started application. It could be hidden in some "advanced" tab if MS think it's too complicated for their average users.
Oh, I gotcha: just right-clicking on the actual icon. My fault. I was thinking you were talking about some odd directory (maybe slashes were used to designate a sequence when usually the ">" or things like that are used).

And you're right: there they are! Thanks.

(Along these lines....if OfNuts or any future lurkers have the ability and aptitude to just insert a "Choose Directory" option on this otherwise very useful plug-in, I think that that'd be great.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  addonCollectionManager-3.0 on Gimp 2.10.2 (Solved) Pocholo 0 286 May 26, 2018 02:26
Last Post: Pocholo
  Export Layers Plugin not working with 2.10? Imc7r 2 273 Apr 30, 2018 14:22
Last Post: Imc7r
  PDN Plug-in for GIMP? snoopy55 9 9,685 Jan 29, 2018 08:23
Last Post: jandd661
  plugin save for web in Gimp 2.9.6 Dkk 1 596 Oct 19, 2017 09:02
Last Post: paynekj
  I can't save to jpg Vash Stampida 1 479 Aug 14, 2014 14:57
Last Post: Vash Stampida

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS