Post Reply 

remove back ground

Sep 14, 2014, 09:40
Post: #16
RE: remove back ground
hi i am having problems with this image , when i select a colour eg: green red or black what happens is that i seem to get dots all around each image including the back ground how can i seperate this issue , thanks [attachment=3985]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 14, 2014, 11:23
Post: #17
RE: remove back ground
(Sep 14, 2014 09:40)gizmo Wrote:  hi i am having problems with this image , when i select a colour eg: green red or black what happens is that i seem to get dots all around each image including the back ground how can i seperate this issue , thanks

That is why the previous example was a demo, every image has to be taken on its own. Tutorials that claim, this is how to do xxxx very rarely succeed overall.

From the previous image, you have seen a selection and how quick mask can modify (and create) a selection.

If I was doing that I might use the paths tool to cut out the lettering. Steep learning curve for a beginner.

Next one for a beginner, another Gimp selection tool 'magic scissors'
Again use add mode - you know this one now. but click around each letter in turn, pressing enter when you complete each letter.

looks like this, I left this until last. http://i.imgur.com/dikovMR.jpg

Now this might take you 10 or 15 minutes so save as you go along. If you save as a Gimp .xcf file then any active selection is saved as well. Any disaster and you can revert to the last save.

Might look ok, but it will not be, zoom in and toggle quick mask and you will see the defects in the selection. http://i.imgur.com/0pDEIRE.jpg

Be prepared to spend a lot of time using the quick mask refining the selection, painting in and out using black and white.

Eventually you might get something half-decent http://i.imgur.com/8QVPVSm.jpg

Even so you can do better, here is the the gimp file with selection for you to improve on.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/0is1z2...hes.xcf.gz too large 1.5 MB to post here.

Going back to the first posts, a better way is to create your own logo. What are the problems. The 'Christmas' font is proprietary although there is a similar free font. You are going to need to learn a little about bevels and shading.
but
end of the day it will be a better image.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 14, 2014, 15:37
Post: #18
RE: remove back ground
hi thankyou for your reply what would i have to with this image to just get the title from the poster [attachment=3986] thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 14, 2014, 16:32 (This post was last modified: Sep 14, 2014 16:46 by rich2005.)
Post: #19
RE: remove back ground
Well according to the image Christmas Miracles Can Happen Anywhere

So in Gimp Pray for a Miracle

You are getting ahead of your knowledge. For something like

[Image: 8dVEC7Z.jpg]

Mostly straight lines, but with a few curves, an outline using the paths tool works as a basis.
A path can create a selection which can remove the background.
Then it is faking in bits,
select-copy-paste to remove the top of the head
clone out bits of text in the star
erase little bits and pieces here and there

Again too large to post here so in my mediafire account. (You have not downloaded the other one yet)

http://www.mediafire.com/download/mdh2p9...rge.xcf.gz about 3 MB

This one has the original as a layer, an edited layer and the path as an example. Gimp does open a .xcf.gz file directly, no need to do anything to it.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 15, 2014, 09:10
Post: #20
RE: remove back ground
hi thankyou for your reply , how did you do this it must be alot of pratice , is there a video on how you cut out this image , what we have noticed is that some images that we do is not quite right is it possible to replace colour in gimp with the orignal colour thanks for your help
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 15, 2014, 11:38
Post: #21
RE: remove back ground
@gizmo - still using Gimp 2.6?

Absolute last demo, this time using a path to create a selection.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opw72piwe4o&hd=1 10 mins, 5 minutes more than I like. Do not fall asleep half way.

The best way to learn is by experiment, see what works for the type of graphics you have.
Plain colours maybe color select, more complicated free select or magic scissors.
As this demo, try the paths tool to create a selection.
Always think about a quick mask to refine a selection. Paint in straight lines by holding the shift key down. That works for the eraser tool as well.

You have seen all those in action, Gimp is a complicated application, expect setbacks.
Do not try to be too ambitious at first, learn the basics, keep experimenting.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 15, 2014, 16:46
Post: #22
RE: remove back ground
hi thank you for your help i am still useing gimp 2.6 because when i am trying to use 2.8 the only screen that opens up is the canvas screen no tool box etc , it did open once then every time i try and open 2.8 all i got was a canvas screen so i trying 2.6 .
at the moment i have a problem with some wording will path section be ok to use , as i have tried select tool and quick mask together and seperate and it came out wrong after 2 hrs of trying , i have managed to do some simple ones but at the moment i have got some covers that are abit more changeling but i will give them a go , thanks again for all your advice
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 15, 2014, 22:09
Post: #23
RE: remove back ground
A new tool is available for cropping. The process can be seen in the video - Foreground Extraction Tool in G'MIC http://youtu.be/dKWhfvZknNU
Away from work miracles, but it's still a new option.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 16, 2014, 08:42
Post: #24
RE: remove back ground
Gmic foreground extract is looking very good. Better than the Gimp tool. I have been trying this for the last day or so since the beta came out.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/gmic/files/beta/ look for files starting gmic_gimp (not plain gmic).

Does it work in Gimp 2.6, it does, which surprised me a little

What does it look like. Using one of gizmos images

http://i.imgur.com/jEWTXaB.jpg looks like a bad case of measles probably more control points than necessary.

http://i.imgur.com/1zpMeya.jpg a result, looks good

http://i.imgur.com/nxEpcCm.jpg close up, a little bit of touch up required, depends how keen you are.

I see the filter entry in the gmic menu has changed, no longer in testing now in contours > foreground extract

There is a windows installer, I always avoid these and use the zip then put plugins in my Gimp profile.

In a winXP sp2 / Gimp 2.6 lots of files in this plugin 8 exe/dll + a folder. http://i.imgur.com/UflORBf.jpg

@gizmo If a plugin makes editing easier for you that is great but do not ignore the basic tools that come with Gimp. You will need them.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 16, 2014, 11:09
Post: #25
RE: remove back ground
thank you for your replys i have download the tool but it says i am missing some sort of file libpng3.dll , i have tried to install gimp 2.8 again with no luck still getting the same problem as before , and still missing dll file , with the video on you tube i erfer videos that talk and explaine what they are doing and not music as i am not sure what the video is doing thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 16, 2014, 11:45
Post: #26
RE: remove back ground
@gizmo

What operating system are you using? Windows XP\7\8 32 or 64 bit?

You reinstalled Gimp 2.8 so that will uninstall Gimp 2.6 now go and uninstall anything Gimp from the Windows uninstall menu
then
Find your gimp profiles, there should be one for each Gimp version.

Windows XP
C:\Documents and Settings\"yourname"\.gimp-2.6
C:\Documents and Settings\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8

Windows Vista/7/8
C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.6
C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8

Delete these folders and that should be Gimp removed.

Now get the latest Gimp from http://www.gimp.org
http://download.gimp.org/pub/gimp/v2.8/w...etup-1.exe

Be very patient with the installation and first run of gimp, this can take some time.

Gimp 2.8 starts up in the same 3 window mode as Gimp 2.6 Use the Gimp Windows > single window mode option.

Do that, give us the info on your OS. Report any snags.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 16, 2014, 11:53
Post: #27
RE: remove back ground
hi thankyou for your reply i have manage to install gimp 2.8 , when i open up gimp should there not be 3 windows like 2.6 we are running windows 7 32bit and downloaded gmic_gimp_1.6.0.1_beta_win32.exe thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 16, 2014, 12:18 (This post was last modified: Sep 16, 2014 12:25 by rich2005.)
Post: #28
RE: remove back ground
(Sep 16, 2014 11:53)gizmo Wrote:  hi thankyou for your reply i have manage to install gimp 2.8 , when i open up gimp should there not be 3 windows like 2.6 we are running windows 7 32bit and downloaded gmic_gimp_1.6.0.1_beta_win32.exe thanks

Does that mean you deleted those files shown in the last post?

Assuming Gimp 2.8 is working
You do get 3 windows like this http://i.imgur.com/0fMFb1q.jpg keep them in that order.
but go into that menu shown and tick single window mode.

Move/size that window to suit your monitor then go to Edit -> Preferences -> Window management


http://i.imgur.com/gnyLmK5.jpg
untick save window positions on exit
click on save now then ok

You are using a 32 bit Win so the 32 bit gmic is the correct version. That is the installer & the only snag is I think it installs to your system plugin folder
C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\plug-ins
Not a problem provided everything works?

If you can confirm that everthing is working I can give a demo of the G'mic plugin

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 16, 2014, 13:59
Post: #29
RE: remove back ground
thank you for your reply how can i confirm that it works? all i get is 2 screens thanks    
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 17, 2014, 09:02
Post: #30
RE: remove back ground
(Sep 16, 2014 13:59)gizmo Wrote:  thank you for your reply how can i confirm that it works? all i get is 2 screens thanks

That is caused because Gimp inherits settings from previous gimp installations. That is why re-installing Gimp rarely does much good with out deleting or disabling your Gimp Profile.

No matter. You can reset gimp without a reinstall in a couple of minutes.
Edit -> Preferences -> Tool options -> reset
Edit -> Preferences -> Window Management -> reset

Here is a video the way I would set Gimp up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i2sKkA3vqvw&hd=1

Once you have Gimp up and running with all the dialogs back let me know, and I will post a demo of that new G'mic filter.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  turning the back ground white error718 0 162 Sep 22, 2017 19:43
Last Post: error718
  remove alpha channel on export? peekofartertainment 1 264 Jul 22, 2017 08:08
Last Post: ythgilb
  Google earth ground-level view with kmls, panoramic photos and forestry visualisation AugustasLazyz 1 198 Jul 12, 2017 17:20
Last Post: ythgilb
  Remove selective cast/stain The_JinJ 1 216 Jun 28, 2017 14:28
Last Post: ythgilb
  Can't remove white lines anon_private 1 264 Oct 5, 2014 12:47
Last Post: rich2005

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS