Post Reply 

Quick Mask error

Jan 3, 2014, 15:18
Post: #1
Quick Mask error
Gimp 2.8 in Windows Vista, when using quick mask, removal of mask does not keep up with brush movement. The removal of the mask lags behind where the brush is. What's happened
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 4, 2014, 02:00
Post: #2
RE: Quick Mask error
(Jan 3, 2014 15:18)gemstone Wrote:  Gimp 2.8 in Windows Vista, when using quick mask, removal of mask does not keep up with brush movement. The removal of the mask lags behind where the brush is. What's happened

1. If possible, please include a screenshot of the lagging quick mask so we have a better idea of what happening.

It may just be a graphic card computer/RAM glitch,
2. try moving a dialog window/tab around in front of the canvas window, or minimizing & maximizing the window.

3. You can try toggling on/off the "show brush outline" under 'Mouse Pointer' section
"Edit > Preferences > Image Windows"

4. Try resetting your gimp profile : http://gimpforums.com/thread-what-is-my-...i-find-it?

If those don't work please also include:

- Your operating system(OS)
- Ammount of coputer's RAM
- Full Version name of Gimp , go to "Help > About"
there should be 3 numbers #.#.#
(if you didn't download from gimp.org's site, the site you got you're Gimp from)

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 5, 2014, 12:05
Post: #3
RE: Quick Mask error
[[Image: Acer-laptop\d\Pictures\Temp internet\Quick mask lag.jpg]quote='iForStyle007' pid='24254' dateline='1388800840']
(Jan 3, 2014 15:18)gemstone Wrote:  Gimp 2.8 in Windows Vista, when using quick mask, removal of mask does not keep up with brush movement. The removal of the mask lags behind where the brush is. What's happened

1. If possible, please include a screenshot of the lagging quick mask so we have a better idea of what happening.

It may just be a graphic card computer/RAM glitch,
2. try moving a dialog window/tab around in front of the canvas window, or minimizing & maximizing the window.

3. You can try toggling on/off the "show brush outline" under 'Mouse Pointer' section
"Edit > Preferences > Image Windows"

4. Try resetting your gimp profile : http://gimpforums.com/thread-what-is-my-...i-find-it?

If those don't work please also include:

- Your operating system(OS)
- Ammount of coputer's RAM
- Full Version name of Gimp , go to "Help > About"
there should be 3 numbers #.#.#
(if you didn't download from gimp.org's site, the site you got you're Gimp from)
[/quote]

Hi
Thanks for your reply
Computer=Acer laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium build 6002 with service pack 2
2 Gb Ram
Gimp version 2.8.4
Think it was downloaded from gimp.org
Not sure you are getting screen shot...It didn't show on "post preview"
Never tried to include an image before.
Although I've used computers for years, us geriatrics find it difficult to keep up sometimes.
Thanks again for your response.
Gemstone
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 11, 2014, 10:55
Post: #4
RE: Quick Mask error
Thanks Offnuts,

Downloaded and installed Gimp 2.8.10.
Problem still the same!
Run Spybot & Tune up program and problem still the same!

PROBLEM SOLVED..... by removing all previous Gimp installations and deleting any left over Gimp files, then reinstalled a complete virgin download of Gimp 2.8.10

Everything now OK
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 11, 2014, 11:00
Post: #5
Smile RE: Quick Mask error
Thanks Offnuts,

Downloaded and installed Gimp 2.8.10.
Problem still the same!
Run Spybot & Tune up program and problem still the same!

PROBLEM SOLVED..... by removing all previous Gimp installations and deleting any left over Gimp files, then reinstalled a complete virgin download of Gimp 2.8.10

Everything now OK.
Anyone else suffering same problem try above!!

Gemstone
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 11, 2014, 13:57
Post: #6
RE: Quick Mask error
(Jan 11, 2014 11:00)gemstone Wrote:  PROBLEM SOLVED..... by removing all previous Gimp installations and deleting any left over Gimp files, then reinstalled a complete virgin download of Gimp 2.8.10

Everything now OK.
Anyone else suffering same problem try above!!

Gemstone

Lately, since I finally learned how to create a selection using quick mask, I've been having the same problem and this solution has a certain appeal. It's exactly what my ex-wife did, deleted all my stuff and started over as a virgin and that sure worked out okay for her.

But, how do you know which are the leftover Gimp files? I've had 2.8.6, 2.8.8 and now 2.8.10. Plus I've downloaded some brushes--Lord only knows where they are!--and I have 855 thumbnails, 847 of which I don't think I've ever seen before much less used. When I use Gimp as a search term in Windows Explorer, my laptop starts hissing at me.

So what exactly do you do? Uninstall Gimp, then what? I don't want to lose the brushes because I'm just learning how to use them.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 11, 2014, 14:11
Post: #7
RE: Quick Mask error
(Jan 11, 2014 13:57)btraven Wrote:  So what exactly do you do? Uninstall Gimp, then what? I don't want to lose the brushes because I'm just learning how to use them.

Thanks

Try the resetting gimp profile method first, uninstalling is kinda drastic.

If no go, first backup your brushes, you should find them here:

C:\Users\UserName\.gimp-X.X\brushes

(where "UserName" is your computer name or name you use to login to your OS)
(".gimp-x.x" X.X is the gimp version(ignore the 3rd number) example: .gimp-2.8

or

C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\brushes
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 11, 2014, 14:30
Post: #8
RE: Quick Mask error
That was fast! Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 11, 2014, 14:38 (This post was last modified: Jan 11, 2014 14:39 by btraven.)
Post: #9
RE: Quick Mask error
Reset worked, but I backed up my brushes with a different name into Documents anyway. Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Gimp 2.10.8 error coyote 2 482 Nov 12, 2018 13:49
Last Post: coyote
  GIMP 2.10 mathmap.exe error while starting bluejedi 1 619 Apr 30, 2018 11:06
Last Post: paynekj
  "Unknown Filetype" error on any but .xcf beachboui 1 729 Jul 29, 2017 21:29
Last Post: ythgilb
  How to make unsharp mask faster to access joneall 1 483 Sep 25, 2014 18:35
Last Post: rich2005
  Image Error Vash Stampida 4 771 Sep 15, 2014 17:19
Last Post: Vash Stampida

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS