Post Reply 

Problems with active selections

Jan 6, 2011, 11:02
Post: #1
Problems with active selections
Hello all,

I am having a slight problem:

When I copy and paste a layer onto a separate window, the new layer is pasted on top as "Floating Selection (Pasted Layer)". Any changes (Eg changing the opacity) are made to the floating selection. Say I want to change the opacity of the original layer underneath, there is no way to do so. I found I can right click on the floating selection and choose "Anchor" but then it becomes part of the other layer (eg both layers are merged into one).

Is there a way I can have the copied item pasted as its own layer that is not a floating selection?

THanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 8, 2011, 11:58
Post: #2
RE: Problems with active selections
Thank you, that sounds like just what I am looking to do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Bucket bleeding through selections HungryOuroboros 1 190 Jun 25, 2018 22:05
Last Post: paynekj
  problems after OS update lemonphenomenon 2 377 Jul 3, 2017 10:54
Last Post: lemonphenomenon
  trouble cropping active layer bugsinherteeth 5 657 Sep 4, 2014 20:37
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  I can't cut or make selections into floats coolman50544 3 492 Aug 15, 2014 23:11
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  Erasing semi-transparent selections Andrew 2 526 Aug 13, 2014 22:03
Last Post: Andrew

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS