Post Reply 

Problems with active selections

Jan 6, 2011, 11:02
Post: #1
Problems with active selections
Hello all,

I am having a slight problem:

When I copy and paste a layer onto a separate window, the new layer is pasted on top as "Floating Selection (Pasted Layer)". Any changes (Eg changing the opacity) are made to the floating selection. Say I want to change the opacity of the original layer underneath, there is no way to do so. I found I can right click on the floating selection and choose "Anchor" but then it becomes part of the other layer (eg both layers are merged into one).

Is there a way I can have the copied item pasted as its own layer that is not a floating selection?

THanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 6, 2011, 13:07
Post: #2
RE: Problems with active selections
You can use "edit/paste as new layer", or create a new layer in the layers dialog (it will get the floating selection).

You can also load a layer directly from a file, is this is what you want to do.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 8, 2011, 11:58
Post: #3
RE: Problems with active selections
Thank you, that sounds like just what I am looking to do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  problems after OS update lemonphenomenon 2 204 Jul 3, 2017 10:54
Last Post: lemonphenomenon
  trouble cropping active layer bugsinherteeth 5 392 Sep 4, 2014 20:37
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  I can't cut or make selections into floats coolman50544 3 282 Aug 15, 2014 23:11
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  Erasing semi-transparent selections Andrew 2 316 Aug 13, 2014 22:03
Last Post: Andrew
  Alter Borders Around Selections thebluetit 1 238 Jul 27, 2014 01:55
Last Post: Esper

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS