Post Reply 

Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)

Jun 21, 2013, 13:08
Post: #1
Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
well I have the huion tablet h610 and gimp seems to be able to recognize it, but when i go to input config and set it up to screen When ever I try to draw it clicks instead. So I keep getting the options for when you click right click with the mouse whenever I touch the tablet with my pen. So at the moment only disabled mode seems to work but no pressure.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 21, 2013, 13:22
Post: #2
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
Is the tablet really recognized as a tablet, or is it merged into the "Core pointer"? How many devices are listed in Windows/Dockable dialogs/Device status? Only the "Core pointer" or the Core pointer and something else?

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 21, 2013, 16:27
Post: #3
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Jun 21, 2013 13:22)ofnuts Wrote:  Is the tablet really recognized as a tablet, or is it merged into the "Core pointer"? How many devices are listed in Windows/Dockable dialogs/Device status? Only the "Core pointer" or the Core pointer and something else?

The 2 things that are listed is the core pointer and the tablet
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 21, 2013, 16:59
Post: #4
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
OK, so normally touching the tablet the stylus should be the same as left-click...

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 29, 2013, 07:35 (This post was last modified: Nov 29, 2013 08:01 by maaz.)
Post: #5
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Jun 21, 2013 16:59)ofnuts Wrote:  OK, so normally touching the tablet the stylus should be the same as left-click...

I've also bought huion tablet and I am getting the same problem. Why is the new version of gimp not supporting these cheaper tablets(I've seen wacom tablets working fine with it)? Is the newer version buggy? I am quite disappointed because I bought this tablet to use with the new gimp 2.8(i love its single window mode feature) but I have to go back to gimp 2.6 as it works fine with my tablet.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 29, 2013, 08:03
Post: #6
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
I have even tried the latest gimp 2.8 version released few days ago as well as the 2.9 beta but still the pressure sensitivity doesn't work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 29, 2013, 10:50
Post: #7
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Nov 29, 2013 08:03)maaz Wrote:  I have even tried the latest gimp 2.8 version released few days ago as well as the 2.9 beta but still the pressure sensitivity doesn't work.

Is pressure sensitivity a feature on your huion tablet PC?

Most standard tablet pcs only have touch-click touch only screens, unless this is a graphic/drawing version maybe,
check for pressure sensitivity settings on your tablet. If there aren't any, then its not supported in your tablet PC.

One user had the problem of not wanting to accept a flaw with theirs(different brand) and refused to try 2.6 as a workaround. But I can understand not wanting to downgrade, just sometimes you have to until a fix or patch is releaesd/workflow-wise.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 29, 2013, 12:01 (This post was last modified: Nov 29, 2013 12:02 by maaz.)
Post: #8
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Nov 29, 2013 10:50)iForStyle007 Wrote:  
(Nov 29, 2013 08:03)maaz Wrote:  I have even tried the latest gimp 2.8 version released few days ago as well as the 2.9 beta but still the pressure sensitivity doesn't work.

Is pressure sensitivity a feature on your huion tablet PC?

Most standard tablet pcs only have touch-click touch only screens, unless this is a graphic/drawing version maybe,
check for pressure sensitivity settings on your tablet. If there aren't any, then its not supported in your tablet PC.

One user had the problem of not wanting to accept a flaw with theirs(different brand) and refused to try 2.6 as a workaround. But I can understand not wanting to downgrade, just sometimes you have to until a fix or patch is releaesd/workflow-wise.


Its not a tablet pc, its a graphic tablet and its pressure senstivity is working fine with gimp 2.6, krita and photoshop but I don't know why when in gimp 2.8, when I set the tablet to screen in preferences, it doesn't even work. I get the same problem that has been mentioned by protosd3 in the first post
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 29, 2013, 17:33
Post: #9
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
I have tried gimp 2.8 32 bit version and surprisingly it(pressure sensitivity) works, i don't know what's the problem with the 64bit version..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 29, 2013, 05:57
Post: #10
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Nov 29, 2013 17:33)maaz Wrote:  I have tried gimp 2.8 32 bit version and surprisingly it(pressure sensitivity) works, i don't know what's the problem with the 64bit version..

Can you link me to where you got the 32bit version from? I'm having a hard time finding one.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 29, 2013, 10:15 (This post was last modified: Dec 29, 2013 10:31 by rich2005.)
Post: #11
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
I do not think it is necessarily a good idea, but you can force the regular gimp installer to install the 32 bit version

You need to append the /32 switch to the end of the command
path to\gimp-2.8.10-setup.exe space /32

like this screenshot http://i.imgur.com/RSudYHF.jpg

What is the difference (apart from different binaries)? Comparison between the folder structure of a 32 and 64 bit installation.
http://i.imgur.com/sO5oMnX.jpg

A quick test in a Win7 64 bit VM and it seems to work ok.

Another possibility is to get the 32 bit 'partha' version and install that.
It is a bit of a monster, comes with lots of extra scripts and plugins. http://www.partha.com

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 29, 2013, 12:56 (This post was last modified: Dec 29, 2013 12:58 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #12
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Dec 29, 2013 10:15)rich2005 Wrote:  ...What is the difference (apart from different binaries)? Comparison between the folder structure of a 32 and 64 bit installation.
http://i.imgur.com/sO5oMnX.jpg

A quick test in a Win7 64 bit VM and it seems to work ok.

It seems that the 64-bit gimp is maybe still experimental(beta phase?) from all the issues I've seen so far.
When it come to 32-bit vs 64-bit (doing a bit of research) Its how the Operating system can handle data & maximum RAM.

For software:
its about compatibility. You can run a 32 bit in a 64bit environment, but not the other way (64bit in 32bit environment)

So maybe the 32-bit gimp was ported to a 64-bit version & got messed up somehow. 64-bit programs are on the rise to being more common but unless its standard/mainstream for a specific program, I'd stick with 32-bit programs (especially if you have a 32-bit OS)

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 29, 2013, 16:18
Post: #13
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Dec 29, 2013 10:15)rich2005 Wrote:  I do not think it is necessarily a good idea, but you can force the regular gimp installer to install the 32 bit version

You need to append the /32 switch to the end of the command
path to\gimp-2.8.10-setup.exe space /32

like this screenshot http://i.imgur.com/RSudYHF.jpg

What is the difference (apart from different binaries)? Comparison between the folder structure of a 32 and 64 bit installation.
http://i.imgur.com/sO5oMnX.jpg

A quick test in a Win7 64 bit VM and it seems to work ok.

Another possibility is to get the 32 bit 'partha' version and install that.
It is a bit of a monster, comes with lots of extra scripts and plugins. http://www.partha.com

Thank you very much. This fixed both the pressure sensitivity and another issue I was having with cursor tracking (the x-axis position was offset).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 1, 2014, 04:47
Post: #14
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
(Dec 29, 2013 10:15)rich2005 Wrote:  I do not think it is necessarily a good idea, but you can force the regular gimp installer to install the 32 bit version

You need to append the /32 switch to the end of the command
path to\gimp-2.8.10-setup.exe space /32

like this screenshot http://i.imgur.com/RSudYHF.jpg

This seems to have worked for me! I have just upgraded to Windows 8.1, 64-bit and had the same issues with lack of pen pressure (yet pressure works fine in 2.6). My tablet brand is a Manhattan.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 19, 2014, 15:41
Post: #15
RE: Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610)
How I Fixed Gimp 2.8 so it supported drawing pressure by updating tablet drivers.

I have just bought the Huion 610 pro and on first installation under Windows 8.0, it seemed to be recognized by Windows 8.0 and Gimp 2.8. It allowed me to draw in Gimp 2.8, though the pressure sensitivity wasn't working. I had used the drivers off the installation cd which came with the graphics tablet. However it broke after a re-boot.
After the reboot I started to get the same issues listed in this bulletin.
Gimp 2.8 no longer responded correctly to the pressing of the tip on my pen device. It no longer drew or painted, instead it kept jumping to a form of selector, or a context menu. Then eventually Gimp locked up to the point I could not even use a mouse to select the menus to try closing Gimp.

At this point I could only use the tablet if it was set to disable. !!

I followed the guides found elsewhere in this forum and checked to see if my tablet was listed under windows itself and Gimp, it was. Windows listed a Pen Tablet, but shows a picture of a keyboard. Which I thought may indicate old drivers.
Gimp itself listed 2 input devices under the Edit/Input Devices menu. The Core Pointer and then an entry like "Tablet, Port:HID......" which appeared to be the tablet, but it wasn't called Huion.
I though this was odd, so I decided to see if there were other drivers on the Huion site, as they might be newer.

I did located drivers on the Huion web site for my tablet, but it gave no date details, so I downloaded them to test in case the turned out to be newer. Windows itself found no newer drivers when I tried earlier, so I knew Microsoft didn't have any.

After extracting the driver from a rar file and installing them. On starting Gimp again I found there was now a new Tablet listed in Gimp, plus the old entry too. Under the Edit/Input Devices menu, there now appeared The "Core Pointer", plus the previous "Tablet, Port:HID......", plus now a new "Huion Tablet Huion" entry for the new drivers.

I made sure the old Tablet entry was now disabled in Gimp first then re-tested drawing with the tablet. Now I successfully found the pressure feature on my pen tip was now working.

So it appeared the drivers on the installation disk were too old for Gimp 2.8, even though the tablet appeared in Gimp, it wasn't fully compliant when using those drivers. Updating the drivers and disabling the old drivers in Gimp got the Huion 610 pro working fully for me, so I don't have to downgrade Gimp to 2.6, nor replace the new tablet.

Hope this helps someone.



(Jun 21, 2013 13:08)protosd3 Wrote:  well I have the huion tablet h610 and gimp seems to be able to recognize it, but when i go to input config and set it up to screen When ever I try to draw it clicks instead. So I keep getting the options for when you click right click with the mouse whenever I touch the tablet with my pen. So at the moment only disabled mode seems to work but no pressure.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  embedding icm profile in a psd generated by gimp Richar_d 1 75 Oct 13, 2017 12:00
Last Post: paynekj
  Gimp GUI icons missed massimobarbieri 1 211 Aug 23, 2017 17:51
Last Post: ofnuts
  why gimp in mac has bad performance mcheung63 1 207 Aug 20, 2017 10:13
Last Post: ythgilb
  New Surface Pro and Detecting Pen/Pressure Sensitivity aheroindisguise 1 365 Jul 7, 2017 05:19
Last Post: ythgilb
  Issue viewing GIMP-modified picture JuniorPear 1 287 Jul 6, 2017 05:03
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS