Post Reply 

Problem Selecting Existing Text

Jan 17, 2012, 18:05
Post: #1
Problem Selecting Existing Text
Hi experts, total newbie here:

I'm trying to develop a background for a web site which contains a logo plus some text. The text is comprised of several independent lines (each in its own layer). I can easily create a line of text and place it. However, after I've created a few lines of text (in separate layers), I find it difficult to select one with the Move tool so I can move it around. I click on the line of text, but while the mouse button is down, the background layer gets selected and moved when I move the mouse. So then I have to undo the "move layer" to get the background where it belongs. I have been experimenting quite a bit to come up with a process that works consistently to select text but have been unsuccessful. It seems to be a guessing game with random results.

What steps do I take to reliably select a text layer so I can move it?

My environment: Gimp 2.6.11 running on Windows 7, 32 bit.

Thanks for your help.

Bill
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 17, 2012, 18:33
Post: #2
RE: Problem Selecting Existing Text
The Move tool will by default move the topmost layer which isn't transparent where you click to start the move. In other words, click on the text and not in some transparent area. You can also use the "Move the active layer" option in the Move tool.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 17, 2012, 19:54
Post: #3
RE: Problem Selecting Existing Text
Ooooh, OK.

If I click on a part of a letter, it works, but if I click on the blank spot between letters, it does not select. This is a little different than I was expecting, but it works fine now that I know what I'm doing.

Thanks much,

Bill
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 17, 2012, 20:08
Post: #4
RE: Problem Selecting Existing Text
(Jan 17, 2012 19:54)MrBill Wrote:  Ooooh, OK.

If I click on a part of a letter, it works, but if I click on the blank spot between letters, it does not select. This is a little different than I was expecting, but it works fine now that I know what I'm doing.

Thanks much,

Bill
Assume your layers overlap... if you click on a blank spot, how Gimp can tell which layer you want to move? So that behavior makes a lot of sense. The "click on blank spots" behavior is what the ""Move the active layer"" option is about Angel

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Multiple text strings to be added on the same wallpaper and autos with the stringname sbheeman 1 54 Oct 16, 2017 11:26
Last Post: paynekj
  How to wrap paragraph text in an image arun67 0 153 Aug 12, 2017 12:46
Last Post: arun67
  Change the space between lines of text ead 1 187 Jul 28, 2017 12:38
Last Post: ythgilb
  Cropping but selecting stuff to discard, not keep. seanspotatobuisness 1 186 Jul 14, 2017 18:46
Last Post: ythgilb
  problem with drop shadow Kharl 37 1,601 Oct 8, 2014 04:53
Last Post: Kharl

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS