Post Reply 

Plug-in support

Apr 29, 2014, 14:59
Post: #1
Plug-in support
Is there a GIMP support program to find and install plug-ins and fonts and the like?
I'm thinking of how Window Drivers have programs to find and install updated drivers for you.

I know, dumb question. Well, I am a newbie.

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 29, 2014, 18:17 (This post was last modified: Apr 29, 2014 18:18 by rich2005.)
Post: #2
RE: Plug-in support
None that I know of. Generally you are expected to do a bit of research then install yourself.

If using windoze then fonts can be installed system wide and Gimp will pick them up. However you would do better to put your Gimp fonts into your Gimp profile fonts folder C:\Users\yourname\.gimp-2.8\fonts

There are also a couple of Gimp resource managers to handle (swap in-&-out) fonts, patterns, scripts, gradients once these are in place. I would leave these until you know how Gimp works.

One package for windoze plug-ins is this; http://registry.gimp.org/node/27656 it is getting a bit old now but might be worth a try.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 29, 2014, 20:07
Post: #3
RE: Plug-in support
Thank you, Rich. This was exactly what I was hoping existed.

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 00:55
Post: #4
RE: Plug-in support
The program resulted in an error...
[Image: 66YiMzs.png]

Do you have a fix for this, please?

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 09:22
Post: #5
RE: Plug-in support
That is part of GAP - gimp animation plugin

question - are you really interested in animation or did you just try that, 'to see what it does'?

A bit of background.
Gimp is developed by a handful of unpaid enthusiasts in a unix/linux environment.
It is ported over to windoze by even fewer unpaid enthusiasts.
The best version of windows GAP is here, even that is 32 bit for Gimp 2.6 and dates from 2009.
http://photocomix-resources.deviantart.c...-135464357

If you really want to use GAP then my advice is install Gimp 2.6 specifically to use GAP and hope that it works.

I can install GAP into a Win7 64 bit Gimp 2.8.10 manually, I think most of it works (I am not into animation) but it does throw up some errors. Most probably my fault.

As in previous post you would be better learning how standard Gimp works before diving into complicated plug-ins.

Installing scripts something.scm and plug-ins something.py or something.exe or something.dll is normally just a matter of copy and paste to a folder rather than using an installer and hoping that it works.

For Gimp 2.8 the best place is your gimp profile.
see Ofnuts post http://gimpforums.com/thread-what-is-my-...-i-find-it

scripts in C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8\scripts
plugins in C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8\plug-ins
you can see the pattern, fonts something.ttf would go in C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8\fonts.

A useful article here on Gimp resources
http://libregraphicsworld.org/blog/entry...management

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 12:18
Post: #6
RE: Plug-in support
Good morning, mates.

"question - are you really interested in animation or did you just try that, 'to see what it does'?"

FYI - this was my first effort in GIMP animation.

[Image: oQtI613.gif]

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 12:48
Post: #7
RE: Plug-in support
Nice one, well done.

Let us know what flavour OS you are using Win7/Win8 32/64 and Gimp version and I am sure someone will come along to help.

Following GAP installation, does your gimp have a long 'video' menu. You might find that most of the GAP functions work even if mplayer (another linux port to windoze) does not work. It is very picky about layer names which would drive me crazy, so bear that in mind.
I still recommend that Photocomix download, as well as GAP there are examples of use included.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 12:49
Post: #8
RE: Plug-in support
OK, Rich. I'll back up to ver. 2.6.

I'm just an old Immortal who found some interest and fun in making Signature images for some Forum friends.

As for plug-ins and the like, I'm a retired Engineer and I've always thought having a tool in my kit, in the event I needed it, was better than scrounging for one when I needed it and not even knowing if it existed. I used to try to make programming software do things they were never designed to do. That can be very frustrating. Fortunately, I came to understand that I was just beating my head on the wall.

I'm happy I've landed in a forum where someone can keep me on the straight and narrow. I am NOT interested in professional imaging. I, simply, am trying to enjoy myself and help some friends along the way. I hope that makes sense to you.

Later...

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 13:01 (This post was last modified: Apr 30, 2014 17:21 by Highlander.)
Post: #9
RE: Plug-in support
Rich, I have two Win7 PCs and two LinuxMint PCs. I do Distributive Computing.

[Image: sig-473.png]

Gandalf is my alter-ego.

I've decided to go with the Win7 GIMP version. I've set up a PC with a dual monitor, so I can read directions on one monitor while working GIMP on the other. It works for me. I'll modify my Signature to show my GIMP system. That should help some I think.

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 14:19
Post: #10
RE: Plug-in support
Rich,

I've rolled back to 2.6 and removed the associated plug-ins. The error message is also gone.
If addition info in my signature would be helpful, please let me know.

Thanks

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 30, 2014, 17:09
Post: #11
RE: Plug-in support
Just for info:
For M$
Using Win7 64 there are various install options
For Windows generally, Installing Gimp 2.8.x will uninstall a previously installed Gimp 2.6.x
but
You can then reinstall Gimp 2.6 in parallel with Gimp 2.8
For 64 bit you can force a Gimp 2.8.10 32 bit installation using a /32 switch ie. gimp-2.8.10-setup.exe /32
Strangely, this installs to C:\Program Files\GIMP 2 by default.
To be politically correct, use the customise install option and point the installation to C:\Program Files(x86)\GIMP 2

For Linux
I generally use PClinuxOS 32 bit but I do know a little of Mint. According to DistroWatch the latest Mint is still on Gimp 2.8.6 which is not the best of versions. Not difficult to install 2.8.10 using one of the Ubuntu ppa's. Probably worth the effort. You might find that GAP works better in linux since its dependencies ffmpeg and mplayer will be up to date. However, since GAP is dependent on Gimp 2.6 be prepared to download the .deb unpack it and install manually.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 1, 2014, 16:12
Post: #12
RE: Plug-in support
Hi Rich,

In reference to your "I still recommend that Photocomix download", would you please provide a link so I don't download the wrong thing? Thanks

[Image: qYhXNgf.png]

[Image: s230pu.png]

Win7 Pro 64bit > Gimp 2.6
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 1, 2014, 17:06
Post: #13
RE: Plug-in support
The same link as before
http://photocomix-resources.deviantart.c...-135464357
just under the advertisement.
[Image: vh14jPY.jpg]

A direct link to the download took me back to the web page so you need to go there.
Unzip it and there is a whole load of stuff, including a GAP installer. Since this is 32 bit I am still not certain the best way to install in a 64 bit Win7.

I was looking at GAP in linux yesterday, and I would try an install straight from the LM repo. (I think it is there) the debian file lists the gimp dependency as equal or greater than 2.6 and there are 32 & 64 bit versions. I did an install on an old laptop (32 bit & Gimp 2.8.10) and it seems to work ok. Probably a better bet than M$.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  MAC OS HELP?? Frustrated with gimp plug-ins Shamari_Rockca 10 1,918 Jul 6, 2014 10:06
Last Post: iForStyle007
  can gimp do this (w or w/o plug-in) (paint shop pro had it) moltres_rider 5 1,346 Apr 25, 2013 08:16
Last Post: rich2005
  Layer-via-Copy-Cut Plug In failed with error rlgirsen 2 938 Dec 28, 2012 18:01
Last Post: rich2005
  exposure blend vs. plug-in kristen.ridge 0 934 Sep 28, 2012 17:58
Last Post: kristen.ridge
  Convert interactive plug in to non-interactive engineerguy 3 1,162 Sep 13, 2012 14:12
Last Post: rich2005

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS