Post Reply 

pasting selections into other programs

Mar 20, 2011, 19:30
Post: #1
pasting selections into other programs
I'm having some trouble pasting selections from GIMP into other programs. If my selection is not rectangular, a black background appears when I paste it that forces it to be a rectangle instead of the shape I actually selected. The program I specifically want to paste into is AutoREALM, but just to test I've tried pasting into MS Paint and MS Word, and the same problem occurs in all of them. Is there anything I can do in GIMP to prevent it from doing this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 20, 2011, 19:50
Post: #2
RE: pasting selections into other programs
Just a thought, but save your selection in GIMP as a PNG, then open it in your other program, it should save the transparency even.

if this doesn't work, then I would wait for Ofnuts. I am sure he will have an answer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 20, 2011, 19:58 (This post was last modified: Mar 20, 2011 20:11 by psychojosh13.)
Post: #3
RE: pasting selections into other programs
No luck - Paint renders the transparency as gray, and AutoRealm can't open png files on its own.

EDIT - after a bit more playing around I figured out a different way to copy and paste what I needed to, but I don't expect it to work like this every time, so I'm still open to suggestions for my original question.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 20, 2011, 20:01
Post: #4
RE: pasting selections into other programs
What is this AutoRealm, if it is some sort of image editing software, then you should be able to use like a Lime Green Background and then remove it in Auto Realm, so instead of transparency use some funky color that is not in your image at all, then save that, and remove it in AutoRealm
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 20, 2011, 23:17
Post: #5
RE: pasting selections into other programs
Clipboard does not support transparency I am pretty sure, which is why you have to save images in order to have the transparency.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 21, 2011, 01:32
Post: #6
RE: pasting selections into other programs
Oh well, I guess I'll manage.

And since you asked, Willy, AutoRealm is a mapping program which uses vectors or fractals or... clearly, this is as far from my area of expertise as I could get without accidentally causing fatalities. But it doesn't have any way for me to edit images which I copy from somewhere else, I can tell you that much.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Pasting on blank canvas Wynn Jones 1 277 Jul 24, 2017 06:13
Last Post: ythgilb
  Copy pasting text (Web version on rollap) Obiwan 1 413 Aug 22, 2014 19:04
Last Post: Obiwan
  I can't cut or make selections into floats coolman50544 3 369 Aug 15, 2014 23:11
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  Erasing semi-transparent selections Andrew 2 416 Aug 13, 2014 22:03
Last Post: Andrew
  Alter Borders Around Selections thebluetit 1 329 Jul 27, 2014 01:55
Last Post: Esper

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS