Post Reply 

Past selection into a new layer

Oct 19, 2011, 12:49
Post: #1
Past selection into a new layer
HI
Like most people I've come to GIMP from PS.

So, in PS if you make a selection and past it into a new layer it ends up in exactly the same position, however if I do the same on GIMP the selection is pasted at the top left hand corner. Then it's a major pain moving it to exactly the same place as the original

Most of my workflow is doing this sort of thing so it's real problem now.

Am I doing something wrong?

Cheers

Sam
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 19, 2011, 13:49
Post: #2
RE: Past selection into a new layer
Ahh, obvious when you know how.

Thanks for that ufnuts. I thought I was doing pretty well with the "post-Photoshop" learning curve, just the odd gotcha's now and again that trip you up.

Cheers

Sam
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cutting selection causes antialising on left-over uncut portion thesanealien 1 195 Jun 7, 2018 06:13
Last Post: paynekj
  After floating a layer, how do you return the selection to the whole image? ithortureu 1 165 May 13, 2018 07:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Saving a layer Dalmon 1 327 Apr 26, 2018 15:37
Last Post: paynekj
  How can I resize one layer to fit another? dblj 1 369 Apr 20, 2018 21:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Scaling layer does not scale alpha! WallyZ 1 285 Apr 3, 2018 06:22
Last Post: blighty

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS