Post Reply 

Past selection into a new layer

Oct 19, 2011, 12:49
Post: #1
Past selection into a new layer
HI
Like most people I've come to GIMP from PS.

So, in PS if you make a selection and past it into a new layer it ends up in exactly the same position, however if I do the same on GIMP the selection is pasted at the top left hand corner. Then it's a major pain moving it to exactly the same place as the original

Most of my workflow is doing this sort of thing so it's real problem now.

Am I doing something wrong?

Cheers

Sam
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 19, 2011, 13:49
Post: #2
RE: Past selection into a new layer
Ahh, obvious when you know how.

Thanks for that ufnuts. I thought I was doing pretty well with the "post-Photoshop" learning curve, just the odd gotcha's now and again that trip you up.

Cheers

Sam
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Selection hides on move or on increasing size Dmitriy 1 113 Jan 4, 2018 13:14
Last Post: paynekj
  create layer for laser cutting jigsaw carolchi 1 122 Dec 25, 2017 23:46
Last Post: ofnuts
  Creating BMP images from a layer jgarnold 1 135 Dec 16, 2017 06:38
Last Post: ythgilb
  Sizing photo to layer gshacte 1 173 Nov 8, 2017 19:27
Last Post: ythgilb
  Fill Transparent selection with another section rhods85 0 131 Sep 30, 2017 16:07
Last Post: rhods85

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS