Post Reply 

Past selection into a new layer

Oct 19, 2011, 12:49
Post: #1
Past selection into a new layer
HI
Like most people I've come to GIMP from PS.

So, in PS if you make a selection and past it into a new layer it ends up in exactly the same position, however if I do the same on GIMP the selection is pasted at the top left hand corner. Then it's a major pain moving it to exactly the same place as the original

Most of my workflow is doing this sort of thing so it's real problem now.

Am I doing something wrong?

Cheers

Sam
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 19, 2011, 13:49
Post: #2
RE: Past selection into a new layer
Ahh, obvious when you know how.

Thanks for that ufnuts. I thought I was doing pretty well with the "post-Photoshop" learning curve, just the odd gotcha's now and again that trip you up.

Cheers

Sam
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Deleting my whole picture instead of selection...Why? mrcool88 0 14 Yesterday 17:07
Last Post: mrcool88
  Why Does The Whole Layer Move? abrogard 0 24 Yesterday 00:12
Last Post: abrogard
  Save trtansformed selection? TDLucas 1 94 Feb 12, 2019 15:50
Last Post: paynekj
  Can’t resize the layer list? Brandon5799 1 90 Feb 6, 2019 09:00
Last Post: paynekj
  Blurring the Edges of a Layer yungphaRM 1 81 Jan 21, 2019 09:14
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS