Post Reply 

Opening Screen No Tool Box

Aug 12, 2012, 00:36
Post: #1
Opening Screen No Tool Box
I dowloaded Gimp 2.8, but the tool box is not on the opening screen. In fact, no windows are showing. I went through a couple of tutorials on the dockable windows. But I still don't see where the tool box window is. I see tool options and tool presets, but I don't see too box. Can someone tell me how to get the default screen with the tool box to show up? It's my first time using Gimp. I accidentally downloaded 2.6 and noticed it did have the correct windows open. But I want to learn Gimp on 2.8.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 12, 2012, 11:18
Post: #2
RE: Opening Screen No Tool Box
Thanks a lot. That worked great.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 15, 2013, 08:53
Post: #3
RE: Opening Screen No Tool Box
(Aug 12, 2012 00:49)ofnuts Wrote:  Exit Gimp, find your Gimp profile, erase the "sessionrc" file in it and restart Gimp. If trouble persists attach your "sessionrc" file here (possibly in a ZIP file).
I know this is an old(er) thread, but it states my problem exactly. Too bad the deleting the sessionrc (I also deleted dockrc too), did not fix my problem. Since the file is so small it seems to make sense just to post the contents of the sessionrc rather than zip it up as suggested.

I want a toolbox window to open when gimp (2.8) opens, which right now I am having to manually open <ctrl+b> and then add the docks I prefer to have in the toolbox window: tool options, layers, brushes, history, navigation.

I set things up as I always do and tried in preferences to save the window setup now, hoping the settings would be preserved in sessionrc or dockrc, but to no avail.

I look forward to any suggestions as this really is getting to be a major PITA.

my sessionrc (beginning with first line of settings, omitting all the header crap):
Code:
(session-info "toplevel"
    (factory-entry "gimp-empty-image-window")
    (position 3 43)
    (size 1385 834)
    (open-on-exit))
(session-info "toplevel"
    (factory-entry "gimp-single-image-window")
    (position 160 70)
    (size 1140 780))
(session-info "toplevel"
    (factory-entry "gimp-preferences-dialog")
    (position 203 261))

(hide-docks no)
(single-window-mode no)
(last-tip-shown 0)

# end of sessionrc
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 15, 2013, 10:48 (This post was last modified: Sep 15, 2013 11:09 by rich2005.)
Post: #4
RE: Opening Screen No Tool Box
(Sep 15, 2013 08:53)nanker phelge Wrote:  
(Aug 12, 2012 00:49)ofnuts Wrote:  Exit Gimp, find your Gimp profile, erase the "sessionrc" file in it and restart Gimp. If trouble persists attach your "sessionrc" file here (possibly in a ZIP file).
I know this is an old(er) thread, but it states my problem exactly. Too bad the deleting the sessionrc (I also deleted dockrc too), did not fix my problem. Since the file is so small it seems to make sense just to post the contents of the sessionrc rather than zip it up as suggested.

I want a toolbox window to open when gimp (2.8) opens, which right now I am having to manually open <ctrl+b> and then add the docks I prefer to have in the toolbox window: tool options, layers, brushes, history, navigation.

I set things up as I always do and tried in preferences to save the window setup now, hoping the settings would be preserved in sessionrc or dockrc, but to no avail.

I look forward to any suggestions as this really is getting to be a major PITA.

In a similar vein to Ofnuts post.

Can't find any problem here so maybe a bit more info required.

Operating system?

Any particular reason for not using single window mode? Not a problem but is your set up dual-monitor for example.

Do you have either of the save tool options on exit or save window positions on exit checked in preferences?

Using your sessionrc file Gimp starts up with just a single image window. So somewhere along the line you must have closed down all the dialogs and tools/tool options from a default setup.

Have you tried reverting Gimp to default and starting again?

I am assuming you are looking for something like this http://i.imgur.com/LUWCVil.jpg

attached the sessionrc file for this setup to compare with your own.

edit:
Just a thought. There are of course, 2 sessionrc files, one in your 'user' .gimp-2.8 folder and the default global in /etc/gimp/2.0/ (windows probably C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\etc\gimp\2.0\ )
What does that one look like?


Attached File(s)
.zip  sessionrc.zip (Size: 714 bytes / Downloads: 44)

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 15, 2013, 11:13 (This post was last modified: Sep 15, 2013 11:19 by nanker phelge.)
Post: #5
RE: Opening Screen No Tool Box
(Sep 15, 2013 10:46)ofnuts Wrote:  A real-life sessionrc file is somewhat bigger.
Well to be honest the file you attached, unzipped is 1.9k and mine is 1.3k, so not so much diff really.

(Sep 15, 2013 10:46)ofnuts Wrote:  The first thing to check is that this one has a change date coherent with when you hit the "save window positions now" button (something I could have done if it were attached as a zip Smile).
Well since you don't know when I made the changes this doesn't really make sense. But looking at the file's mod-stamp I can tell you, yeah, it looks like the time the file was last modified was about the time I clicked on the option in prefs to save window locs; but then again, I closed gimp right after and so it could just be reflecting that time also.

But whatever, I renamed my sessionrc, loaded yours, opened gimp and voila, a tool-box with some tool tabs. I changed out most for the ones I prefer, went into prefs and saved window locs again (yeah, I realize its redundant and gimp should do this on exit, but I wanted to check that first), checked the file and it was 1.3k like the older sessionrc I gave the boot out the door to, fired up gimp again and got a warm fuzzy feeling inside seeing the tool-box with my pref'd tabs.

So thanks for helping me get over that PITA issue, whatever it was. Yeah, no permissions issues either, and happy to report I'm a diehard Nixer rather than winblower full of little more than hot air!

cheers, for the speedy reply too!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question How to stroke a path using clone tool ? le.snake 3 325 Sep 2, 2018 16:19
Last Post: le.snake
  Foreground selection tool does't change background color ericr 1 105 Aug 26, 2018 21:16
Last Post: paynekj
  Clone Tool gillies 1 97 Aug 2, 2018 05:12
Last Post: paynekj
  Scale tool pop-up not working? Zethian 1 204 Jun 15, 2018 12:56
Last Post: paynekj
  Opening an image problem mes2370 1 233 May 11, 2018 15:20
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS