Post Reply 

[Need help] Loading a transparent image

Nov 20, 2010, 23:54
Post: #1
[Need help] Loading a transparent image
Recently (today) I decided to upgrade GIMP to the most recent version,
but now when I Paste (CTRL + V) a image with a blank/transparent background, it loads up with a black background instead, it wasn't doing this before, and I even tried multiple version/different images/restarting my computer to fix it, none of this worked Sad

So if anyone could help me fix this (I usually edit my images by pasting them in, so I kinda need this Confused) I would greatly appreciate it.

(if it matters, I'm using windows 7)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 21, 2010, 00:48
Post: #2
RE: [Need help] Loading a transparent image
What is the Gimp version? 2.6.x or 2.7.x?

Where are you pasting the images from? What is their format? JPG, TIFF?

Have you tried to paste them elsewhere (into Office (MS- or Open-), or MS-Paint, or else)?

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 21, 2010, 01:57 (This post was last modified: Nov 21, 2010 02:56 by Inverted L-block.)
Post: #3
RE: [Need help] Loading a transparent image
2.6.11
I'm copying the image from my site
http://nixshadow.com/images/lostfile.png
(Right click, copy image, it's a png file)
I don't believe mspaint has transparency, but it does it in paint.net as well.
Not..sure if it's supposed to in that either, as I don't use it, just have it.

-edit-
It loads up fine in flash CS3 though. (pasting it keeps the background blank)

-edit x2 combo-
Okay, I fixed it, I guess it was the version? I might have gotten the wrong (x32) type.
But anyways, 2.6.8 seemed to have fixed it.

Thanks for posting though Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 21, 2010, 10:30
Post: #4
RE: [Need help] Loading a transparent image
Hmm. Works for me:

- Load your imlage in Firefox
- In Firefox: copy image to clipboard
- In Gimp: File/Create/From clipboard

Also works:
- File/new
- Edit/paste
- Select floating selection: new layer

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  "Open Image" change default folder and thumbnail view? Dave001 1 49 Aug 15, 2017 19:56
Last Post: ofnuts
  How to wrap paragraph text in an image arun67 0 37 Aug 12, 2017 12:46
Last Post: arun67
  Combining gif image to static image help? littlegreendog 1 73 Jul 26, 2017 12:27
Last Post: ythgilb
  Image color vs color picker YalithKBK 1 113 Jul 7, 2017 11:45
Last Post: ythgilb
  Print Size vs Image Size ambermc85 1 118 Jun 27, 2017 05:18
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS