Post Reply 

Need help getting the 'maximise' button back!

Nov 16, 2013, 09:44 (This post was last modified: Nov 16, 2013 09:49 by baldrick_nz.)
Post: #1
Star Need help getting the 'maximise' button back!
Hi all,

I just love GIMP.

But imagine the huge dismay felt when this dedicated user updated GIMP to 2.8.6 and found there was no maximise button any more!

Please, is there anyway to get this button back??

I use it regularly as part of my work-flow, and now I find this once fantastic app pretty much rendered useless to me.

Not having the maximise button also doesn't allow me to see the bottom part of the program's window, so the bottom slider is useless to me.

Not having this pretty much puts my budding photography on-hold, as I resent having to pay an extortionate amount for Gimp's closest 'worthy' competition. That, and photosh*t doesn't play nice with Linux anyway.

Also, I don't have the ready cash to rush out and buy a larger monitor (for a laptop thats screen size works well for all other apps) just to use Gimp.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

Using Ubuntu 13.10.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 16, 2013, 10:42 (This post was last modified: Nov 16, 2013 10:42 by rich2005.)
Post: #2
RE: Need help getting the 'maximise' button back!
I could be a peculiarity of the the 'buntu Unity DE.
Does Unity follow the linux standard - hold the ALT key down, left click in a window (gimp or anything else), the mouse curser should change to a 4-way arrow and you can move the window off the monitor to get to the bottom (or top) corners for resizing. Or get to the maximise button.

The other thing I find with XGA laptop displays 'something' x 768 pix is when Gimp is first installed and in 3 window mode that is the time to resize the left and right windows. Make the tools wider so that it will shorten, Drag the divisions between the dialogs to make that shorter. Then go into single window mode and complete any resizing. You could always revert to Gimp default display and try that.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 16, 2013, 13:09
Post: #3
RE: Need help getting the 'maximise' button back!
(Nov 16, 2013 10:21)ofnuts Wrote:  The "maximize" button isn't really produced/handled by Gimp but by your window manager (are you using Unity, Gnome 3, KDE or something else)? Is your Gimp the one from your distro repository?

Thanks for the reply, Ofnuts.

It's Gnome 3.8. Interesting none of the other programs on the lappy have the same issue, which is what lead me to believe it was a gimp thing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 16, 2013, 13:14 (This post was last modified: Nov 16, 2013 13:55 by baldrick_nz.)
Post: #4
RE: Need help getting the 'maximise' button back!
(Nov 16, 2013 10:42)rich2005 Wrote:  I could be a peculiarity of the the 'buntu Unity DE.
Does Unity follow the linux standard - hold the ALT key down, left click in a window (gimp or anything else), the mouse curser should change to a 4-way arrow and you can move the window off the monitor to get to the bottom (or top) corners for resizing. Or get to the maximise button.

The other thing I find with XGA laptop displays 'something' x 768 pix is when Gimp is first installed and in 3 window mode that is the time to resize the left and right windows. Make the tools wider so that it will shorten, Drag the divisions between the dialogs to make that shorter. Then go into single window mode and complete any resizing. You could always revert to Gimp default display and try that.

Thanks Rich,

The alt key does work. However, I've discovered that while in the 3-payne mode, the toolbox (left) and main window (middle) resize nicely, whereas the gradients (right) window will only resize vertically, but not horizontally. Is there anyway that I can change this? I suspect this is where my problem may actually be...

EDIT: Game over! I purged gimp from my PC and re-installed, then set it up from separate windows as you suggested. Then went to single payne mode and resized again. Finally, I closed and re-launched the app several times before re-booting my laptop - and re-launched gimp, just to be sure. Problem solved.

Thanks heaps, you've helped restore my faith in Gimp!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  command button changes mode during command "C" Terry50 1 311 Dec 29, 2017 04:50
Last Post: ythgilb
  Gimp doesn't read back own files wouter@squirrel-systems.com 1 661 Jul 13, 2014 16:55
Last Post: rich2005
  Problem with Gimp 2.8 Channel Lock button? Channelslock 7 2,274 Mar 18, 2014 13:23
Last Post: iForStyle007
  Gimp File associations have been lost, how do I get them back??? moltres_rider 0 998 Oct 21, 2013 04:42
Last Post: moltres_rider
  Accidentally changed .gimp-2.8/gtkrc File; Need to change back. Unmocked 0 753 Oct 20, 2012 14:26
Last Post: Unmocked

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS