Post Reply 

My select tool wont let me drag and drop anymore!

Jul 13, 2011, 02:03
Post: #1
My select tool wont let me drag and drop anymore!
I'm just getting back into image editing after a year of hiatus, and so I downloaded the newest version of gimp so I could get started. My select tool worked fine for a few minutes, then stopped letting me move pieces of my layer around. I was thinking maybe I accidentally changed a setting, so I fiddled with that, but no luck.

Select will still let me highlight and edit specific pieces of the layer, just not move them around. When I drag and drop, the piece of my layer appears as if I've selected nothing, and I'm only working on a single layer at the moment.

Any ideas? Any kind of help is uber-appreciated! (:
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 13, 2011, 08:29
Post: #2
RE: My select tool wont let me drag and drop anymore!
AFAIK there is no select+drag/drop in Gimp. There are ways to move the selection (but not the selected pixels). To move parts of an image you have to use copy/paste (or cut/paste). This creates a "floating selection" (more or less a temporary layer). While you have a such a floating selection, many operations are disabled, until you make that layer permanent ("New layer", that will pick the content of the floating selection) or "Anchor layer" (merge it in the layer below). All this is done using the "Layers" dialog (Ctrl-L).

Working on a single layer isn't a good idea, you have to get it right all at once. Using layers is Gimp 101 Smile

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 13, 2011, 10:07 (This post was last modified: Jul 13, 2011 10:20 by Nikolai.)
Post: #3
RE: My select tool wont let me drag and drop anymore!
Thanks for the quick reply! I see what you mean: as long as I cut and paste, I can drag my floating layer anywhere I want. It's kind of frustrating I cant just drag my selection around with me wherever I want without making it a floating layer first.

I'm guessing a plug-in or editing the source code wouldn't be able to add this feature? I honestly don't know much about either.

P.S. I'm pixeling, which is why I only use a single layer. I use more layers if I need them.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 13, 2011, 10:22
Post: #4
RE: My select tool wont let me drag and drop anymore!
When you'll have learned a little bit about Gimp, you'll find that other methods are much more productive (in particular, with a slip of your finger, you would drop the thing at the wrong place, and lose the original selection). In the meanwhile, to anchor your selection, you can use Ctrl-H, ie:
  • Make selection
  • Ctrl-C to copy
  • Ctrl-V to paste
  • Move selected part (actually the "floating selection)
  • Ctrl-H to anchor in final position

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 13, 2011, 10:42 (This post was last modified: Jul 13, 2011 10:44 by Nikolai.)
Post: #5
RE: My select tool wont let me drag and drop anymore!
If you make a mistake or drop it in the wrong place, a quick Ctrl-Z will undo it it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  cannot select anything in select drop down menu seebass 1 68 Nov 6, 2017 11:24
Last Post: paynekj
  How do I select a circle? Nisko 1 108 Sep 21, 2017 05:19
Last Post: ythgilb
  select multiple layers in the Layers Dialog user5555155 1 186 Aug 14, 2017 14:19
Last Post: ythgilb
  Using the Elipse tool bl665 1 169 Jul 28, 2017 06:07
Last Post: ythgilb
  Blur tool changes the color F_Jenkins17 3 315 Oct 8, 2014 07:38
Last Post: ofnuts

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS