Post Reply 

Moving selection contents

Dec 27, 2013, 22:06
Post: #1
Moving selection contents
Well, I've researched and tried all solution suggestions, to no avail. I am using GIMP 2.8 on a MacBookPro with OSX 10.8.

I want to cut and move a selection (and, if at all possible, preserve and then enlarge the selection rectangle to perform a subsequent cut and move operation.)

I've got a graphic, let's say it's a 10x10 pixel square in black. What I want to do is to add a vertical column of white pixels in between every existing column of the image.

What I thought to do is the following: first, enlarge the canvas to twice the width of the image, so 20Wx10T (original image on left, blank extension on right). Now select the rightmost column of pixels and move the contents of the selection one pixel to the right. Extend the left edge of the selection rectangle 2 pixels to the left, to include the newly "blank" column and the next column of the image. Move new selection and contents one pixel to the right, and so on, until the expanded canvas is filled and there are 'blank' columns between every column of pixels in the original image.

However, I am unable to find a way to move the selection and its contents. I've tried every combination of secret handshake I can think of, but none work. I'm able to move the selection and essentially duplicate it in another location, but not by cutting it and moving it somewhere else, leaving the initially selected area blank.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 27, 2013, 22:34
Post: #2
RE: Moving selection contents
OK, I've solved a portion of the problem. I can now select an area and move it by pressing Command-Option and click-drag. Then anchoring the resulting floating selection.

Once I anchor the selection the selection box disappears, so I'm unable to expand it to the left. That may not ultimately be possible.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 28, 2013, 06:17
Post: #3
RE: Moving selection contents
(Dec 28, 2013 01:45)ofnuts Wrote:  Better technique, that ill use a separate image:

- Load your source image
- Create a second image with double the width minus one column width (if 10px wide, this gives 19px), with a white background (which happens to be the default)
- Select a column in the first image, and copy to clipboard
- Activate the second image, and paste (ctrl-V)
- Move the 'floating selection' to position (Move tool)
- Layer/Anchor
- repeat

Thanks for this suggestion. Still a bit awkward, but many times faster than what I was doing. It worked great!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 28, 2013, 12:15 (This post was last modified: Dec 28, 2013 14:47 by itmakesyousmile.)
Post: #4
RE: Moving selection contents
Each time I find my self repeating something, I think "script". If you need to do this often you know here to ask Smile.
[/quote]

Asking! :-D

I did this 198 times last night and will be repeating this task at that level many, many times.

ETA: 267 times this morning!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Selection Tool Glitch DavidCoy 2 395 Jul 5, 2018 21:34
Last Post: paynekj
  "Resize" by moving pixels down AdelCraft 1 176 May 21, 2018 06:26
Last Post: paynekj
  GIMP 2.8 Eyedropper Color Selection Tool Not Working? Upgraded App is Slow?? tootallll 13 12,369 Oct 9, 2014 18:39
Last Post: Graphicman2014
  crop to selection problem spiridonios 5 887 Oct 8, 2014 20:35
Last Post: spiridonios
  Moving Animations? Help Please! Shinagame 0 323 Sep 23, 2014 22:54
Last Post: Shinagame

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS