Post Reply 

move won't work

Jan 18, 2014, 18:35
Post: #1
move won't work
I keep getting this icon of a semi-circle lying on it's back with a straight line underneath it with 2 tiny squares at the end of the line. Above it it has an arrow on the left side and a circle with a line drawn though it.
I've been getting around this problem by exporting all my changes and then opening a new file and importing. Sometimes this doesn't work.

Do you know what I am doing wrong?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 18, 2014, 19:35
Post: #2
RE: move won't work
You are using the paths tool.
You are in edit mode - look at the tool options
You are not on a path node.

If you want to move a path
Use the move tool
In the move tool options make sure the mode is set to path (the last icon of the three)
sorry no screen shots, using my little netbook at the moment.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 19, 2014, 05:19
Post: #3
RE: move won't work
here's the funny thing: the toolbox had the move tool lit up (selected),
as I'm moving the mouse from the toolbox to the main window, it is the move icon; then as soon as I put the mouse pointer over the picture, it turns into the path tool.
Is this possible or just a fluke which goes away when you quit gimp and start over?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 19, 2014, 07:47
Post: #4
RE: move won't work
(Jan 19, 2014 05:19)Terry50 Wrote:  Is this possible or just a fluke which goes away when you quit gimp and start over?

Have you been able to duplicate this problem?

if you have win vista/7/8 and are on a laptop using gesture trackpad, it might be accidentally clicking (I found it very sensitive in win 8)

Same could go for stylus on a graphics tablet or drawing pad.

if your using a regular mouse, try testing by moving mouse around icons.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 19, 2014, 09:55
Post: #5
RE: move won't work
(Jan 19, 2014 05:19)Terry50 Wrote:  here's the funny thing: the toolbox had the move tool lit up (selected),
as I'm moving the mouse from the toolbox to the main window, it is the move icon; then as soon as I put the mouse pointer over the picture, it turns into the path tool.
Is this possible or just a fluke which goes away when you quit gimp and start over?

That makes a bit more sense. New day and some pictures.

You are on the move tool but you have the move path option enabled and no path or not on a path, hence the bar icon.
[Image: 7ETE8VY.jpg]

Change the move option to layer and until you are happy with what you are moving I suggest enable 'move the active layer'.
[Image: L0A0MQx.jpg]

If you do have a path, and you want to move it, then when you move the cursor over that path the icon changes.
[Image: UNicATc.jpg]

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 19, 2014, 22:54
Post: #6
RE: move won't work
Great.
new question:
How do I get each the tool options to show up automatically without having to go to the dockable dialogs menu and load.
I want all the options for each tool to show up when the tool is selected.
How do I do it?
Terry
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 20, 2014, 08:41
Post: #7
RE: move won't work
(Jan 19, 2014 22:54)Terry50 Wrote:  Great.
new question:
How do I get each the tool options to show up automatically without having to go to the dockable dialogs menu and load.
I want all the options for each tool to show up when the tool is selected.
How do I do it?
Terry

Initially, on your first run of Gimp, you might have to click the dialogue boxes on if they aren't by default.

Then go to both

Edit > Preferences > Windows Management > "Save Window Position Now"

Edit > Preferences > Tool Options > "Save Tool Options Now"
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 21, 2014, 21:39
Post: #8
RE: move won't work
You know how the toolbox says on the bottom half, " You can drop dockable dialogs here."
The tool options show up when I choose them in the menu "Windows"; but when I try to drag them in the toolbox - they won't go there.
I want to have the options in the toolbox window - before I save the window position in preferences.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 21, 2014, 22:56 (This post was last modified: Jan 21, 2014 22:58 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #9
RE: move won't work
(Jan 21, 2014 21:39)Terry50 Wrote:  You know how the toolbox says on the bottom half, " You can drop dockable dialogs here."
The tool options show up when I choose them in the menu "Windows"; but when I try to drag them in the toolbox - they won't go there.
I want to have the options in the toolbox window - before I save the window position in preferences.

Ah, Now I know what you mean. I had this problem in windows 8, I accidentally dragged the tool options window out of the toolbox and it just wouldn't snap back in!

(the below pic is divided in two screenshots, in reverse order, sorry)
Try clicking on the tab part of the Tool options window, then drag it to the bottom of the toolbox (that big space) until the mouse turns into a top-right arrow with a line on the top of the arrow.
(see right side of picture)

- It will either, show a black outline or blue bar/highlights, over the spot you drag it to.
Try dragging it to the left or right side of the Toolbox too.

If that doesn't work, click the small option box arrow at the top-right, what does it look like? (left side of the below picture)
Here is mine:
   
(click image to enlarge)

Edit: Btw, to those who are using win 8, there is a step recorder /screenshot program that can capture the mouse / cursor, for those looking for a way to screenshot the mouse. Just record, click stop then push the screen capture to capture the image or try right-clicking & copy. Then paste image into Gimp for further editing.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 22, 2014, 06:36
Post: #10
RE: move won't work
I have Mac Mountain Lion. It went into the blank space of the tool box when I dragged by the tab; however, every thing is grayed out and not programmable.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 22, 2014, 09:33 (This post was last modified: Jan 22, 2014 09:35 by rich2005.)
Post: #11
RE: move won't work
(Jan 22, 2014 06:36)Terry50 Wrote:  I have Mac Mountain Lion. It went into the blank space of the tool box when I dragged by the tab; however, every thing is grayed out and not programmable.

Usual advice for the OSX disadvantaged Wink

Edit -> Preferences -> Window Management -> Reset Saved Window To Default.

That gets you back to 3 windows. Windows menu -> tick single window mode

Position / resize the main window
Resize The left and right docks, there are hotspots for click-&-drag between the sections.

Now for the important bit:

Go round all the tabs, one at a time. Click the little left pointing arrow to bring up a menu. Tick lock tab to dock.

This is what it looks like. I have shown one of those resizing hotspots as well.
   
When you have everything the way you want it.

Edit -> Preferences -> Window Management ->
untick save window positions on exit if it is ticked then
Save Window positions now.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 22, 2014, 21:59
Post: #12
RE: move won't work
I love this setup…. Smile
Thanks a lot !
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Gradient fill doesn't work the same in Gimp 2.10.2? Sorceress21 1 157 Jun 13, 2018 21:58
Last Post: paynekj
  Print Work Question. Captain_Cereal_Hands 2 150 Jun 5, 2018 11:03
Last Post: Captain_Cereal_Hands
Sad Cant Move Text Area ! bhavtosh 1 247 Mar 9, 2018 13:34
Last Post: paynekj
  Move tool garrettlynch 1 391 Jun 29, 2017 12:28
Last Post: ythgilb
  Text move - after adding border goad 3 490 Sep 2, 2014 03:45
Last Post: goad

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS