Post Reply 

Monoprice Pressure Issues

Aug 24, 2014, 17:42
Post: #1
Monoprice Pressure Issues
I'm using a Monoprice Tablet (10x6.25) on my Macbook Pro and GIMP won't recognize the pressure sensitivity of the tablet. I've tried unplugging and plugging it back in, restarting, checking GIMP preferences and nothing seems to work!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 24, 2014, 20:34
Post: #2
RE: Monoprice Pressure Issues
(Aug 24, 2014 17:42)sicklyboring Wrote:  I'm using a Monoprice Tablet (10x6.25) on my Macbook Pro and GIMP won't recognize the pressure sensitivity of the tablet. I've tried unplugging and plugging it back in, restarting, checking GIMP preferences and nothing seems to work!
Hi sicklyboring,
Doing a search on 'monoprice' on this forum, you are not alone when it comes to experiencing issues...
Some say the solution was to use the 32bit version of Gimp.
Some say the older Gimp 2.6 will work where 2.8 won't.
Some others did not find a solution.
I suggest reading through those threads and seeing if you can find your answer there.

If not, let's start with the most obvious...
Have you visited the tablet manufacturer's website and make sure you have the most up to date drivers for your OS.
Does the pressure sensitivity work in any other applications other than Gimp?
Under Gimp's Edit->Input Devices screen, do you see the tablet entries? or just the core pointer?

Let us know how you get on.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 25, 2014, 14:42
Post: #3
RE: Monoprice Pressure Issues
(Aug 24, 2014 20:34)fluffybunny2 Wrote:  
(Aug 24, 2014 17:42)sicklyboring Wrote:  I'm using a Monoprice Tablet (10x6.25) on my Macbook Pro and GIMP won't recognize the pressure sensitivity of the tablet. I've tried unplugging and plugging it back in, restarting, checking GIMP preferences and nothing seems to work!
Hi sicklyboring,
Doing a search on 'monoprice' on this forum, you are not alone when it comes to experiencing issues...
Some say the solution was to use the 32bit version of Gimp.
Some say the older Gimp 2.6 will work where 2.8 won't.
Some others did not find a solution.
I suggest reading through those threads and seeing if you can find your answer there.

If not, let's start with the most obvious...
Have you visited the tablet manufacturer's website and make sure you have the most up to date drivers for your OS.
Does the pressure sensitivity work in any other applications other than Gimp?
Under Gimp's Edit->Input Devices screen, do you see the tablet entries? or just the core pointer?

Let us know how you get on.

Ah yes! I didn't think that getting GIMP 2.6 on the Mac was possible, but I found a mac-friendly version, installed Quartz X, and the pen pressure is working again. Thank you both!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 18, 2014, 06:33
Post: #4
RE: Monoprice Pressure Issues
Doing a search on 'monoprice' on this forum, you are not alone when it comes to experiencing issues...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  resolution quality issues alin33 1 322 Mar 17, 2018 16:26
Last Post: paynekj
  RAW to PNG issues with levels grandkodiak 1 390 Nov 4, 2017 23:45
Last Post: paynekj
  New Surface Pro and Detecting Pen/Pressure Sensitivity aheroindisguise 1 1,526 Jul 7, 2017 05:19
Last Post: ythgilb
  Pressure sensitivity pen left click shortcut dogjake10 0 568 Jun 25, 2017 19:58
Last Post: dogjake10
  Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610) protosd3 15 8,965 Jun 8, 2017 19:20
Last Post: John Penfold

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS