Post Reply 

Layer via copy cut

Dec 3, 2013, 19:43
Post: #16
RE: Layer via copy cut
Rich2005,

Hooray,

It's done. I thank you so, so much!! I have tested it and it worked perfectly. Thanks Rich2005. And your method of installing the plug-in works, Lynda's does not work.

Question: Can 2.6 Noise Generator work in 2.8.10 or is there an updated version. I also need the bimp image manipulator. I do believe I'm becoming a somewhat techie...yea!

Thanks again.

JohnsonL




(Dec 3, 2013 10:53)rich2005 Wrote:  
(Dec 2, 2013 20:46)JohnsonL Wrote:  Hi again,
Yes, I downloaded it, then extracted it from my downloads, browsed my C drive, programs, GIMP 2, lib, plugins, OK, then cut and paste with all my other plugins and I can see it clearly with all the other plugins listed alphabetically, however when I re-open GIMP it's just not there under Layers. Can you suggest anything else?

A new day and a fresh look at things.

My crystal ball is broken, but a guess is that you come under the banner of broken installation. A re-install is not usually necessary but in this case....

I do know that plugin works in Win 7 / Gimp 2.8.10. Close enough to Vista

screenshot http://i.imgur.com/25DdTR9.jpg

Back-up any files/scripts/plugins from existing installation(s).

Use the Win uninstall menu to uninstall Gimp. While you are there, do you have a legacy Python installation?. Not now required in Gimp 2.8, uninstall it.

If you have been putting extra files in the Gimp installation folder you will still have remnants of the folder structure, so manually delete anything 'C:\Gimp 2' and 'C:\Gimp-2.0'

Rename your 'profile' 'C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8' to maybe 'C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8bak' You can get rid of it when you know that it is no longer required.

New installation, The standard Gimp installer contains all the files required for either a 32 bit or a 64 bit M$ Win, incl Vista. You do not have to do anything, the installer will determine what is required.
This one ftp://ftp.gimp.org/pub/gimp/v2.8/windows...-setup.exe

Be very patient with the installation, it is not quick. Once installed, the first run will make a new .gimp-2.8 folder.
This is not quick either. Start Gimp and leave it. Do not even move the mouse around. Go for a cup of coffee or a walk.

Once that is done, Gimp is in 3 window mode, Go to the windows menu, select single window mode, size the window & dialogs to your requirement.

Installing plug-ins. Who told you that the best place for plug-ins is;
C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins was it Lynda.com?

Gimp is built around plug-ins. Best keep your own in the place made for them
C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8\plug-ins Windows plug-ins will end in .py or .exe (but not an installer like gmic) or .dll Scripts ending .scm go in the folder next door C:\Users\"yourname"\.gimp-2.8\scripts

screenshot. http://i.imgur.com/lvIhh9M.jpg

A quick look at the above file in the screenshot, check that it is not a zip or a shortcut. I have seen both in the past blamed for Gimp not working.

A lot of work there, if you want to keep your existing, as mentioned before you do not need that plugin, a select -> copy -> new layer -> paste works just as well.

good luck.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 3, 2013, 20:07
Post: #17
RE: Layer via copy cut
Oh Geeze, what is that???? I'm working with what I got until I get to the next bump in the road. Thanks.

JohnsonL

(Dec 3, 2013 18:20)rich2005 Wrote:  
Quote: Well, since for registration Gimp will run any executable in the plugin folder, if the installer is mistakenly put there it could be made to run at the next Gimp initialization and unpack the plugin, which can eventually be taken in account at next Gimp initialization. And leaves us mods trying to find the explanation for a miracle Smile

I was desperately trying to avoid that explanation. OP is confused enough. Dodgy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 3, 2013, 21:02
Post: #18
RE: Layer via copy cut
[quote} ...Question: Can 2.6 Noise Generator work in 2.8.10 or is there an updated version. I also need the bimp image manipulator....
[/quote]

Is this the noise-generator plug-in you mean
http://photocomix-resources.deviantart.c...-110164748

looks like this: http://i.imgur.com/MbcVq8Y.jpg

BIMP: BIMP is a batch plugin for Gimp. It will apply the same (several) simple operations to many files. The files are not open in Gimp.
http://www.alessandrofrancesconi.it/projects/bimp/

looks like this: http://i.imgur.com/lgXZG8r.jpg

Both these come in zip files which also contain language files & folders, how-to's, all sorts of junk.
You need to separate out the single noise-generator.exe file and for BIMP the files bimp.exe and pcre3.dll

looks like this in your plug-ins folder http://i.imgur.com/qyX36mV.jpg

There is a caveate as of now, these are 32 bit OS files, and they work in a 32 bit Win7 machine. I will try them out tomorrow in a 64 bit Win7 but in about 30 seconds I am shutting down for the night....going..going ..gone.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 3, 2013, 21:36
Post: #19
RE: Layer via copy cut
Good night, and Good morning Rich2005,

Yes, that's the plug-in. I downloaded the Noise Generator and installed it in my plug-in minus the fluff, checked Gimp and it is there. I download the BIMP and saw about 13 files that I don't have a clue what to do with, so I did nothing. I'll wait until I hear from you. I did not see the exe and prec.dll files, I just saw FILES! Here's another curler for you, the trainer said something about a poisson something file too. I did not see that one either.

Thanks a million for your kindness!


JohnsonL

(Dec 3, 2013 21:02)rich2005 Wrote:  [quote} ...Question: Can 2.6 Noise Generator work in 2.8.10 or is there an updated version. I also need the bimp image manipulator....

Is this the noise-generator plug-in you mean
http://photocomix-resources.deviantart.c...-110164748

looks like this: http://i.imgur.com/MbcVq8Y.jpg

BIMP: BIMP is a batch plugin for Gimp. It will apply the same (several) simple operations to many files. The files are not open in Gimp.
http://www.alessandrofrancesconi.it/projects/bimp/

looks like this: http://i.imgur.com/lgXZG8r.jpg

Both these come in zip files which also contain language files & folders, how-to's, all sorts of junk.
You need to separate out the single noise-generator.exe file and for BIMP the files bimp.exe and pcre3.dll

looks like this in your plug-ins folder http://i.imgur.com/qyX36mV.jpg

There is a caveate as of now, these are 32 bit OS files, and they work in a 32 bit Win7 machine. I will try them out tomorrow in a 64 bit Win7 but in about 30 seconds I am shutting down for the night....going..going ..gone.
[/quote]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 4, 2013, 10:43 (This post was last modified: Dec 4, 2013 11:27 by rich2005.)
Post: #20
RE: Layer via copy cut
Some answers to your questions

Checked the old photocomix noise-generator plugin and the BIMP plugin in Win7 64 bit / Gimp 2.8.10 and they worked. You should be ok whatever Vista you are using.

Quote:...I download the BIMP and saw about 13 files that I don't have a clue what to do with, so I did nothing. I'll wait until I hear from you. I did not see the exe and prec.dll files...
When you open the gimp-plugin-bimp.zip file in windows explorer look for the sub-folder \bin\win32 the files are in there.
drag the 2 files bimp.exe and pcre3.dll to your .gimp-2.8\plug-ins folder.

screenshot in windows explorer: http://i.imgur.com/8r37wqY.jpg

Quote:Here's another curler for you, the trainer said something about a poisson something file too. I did not see that one either.

It is probably a reference to this; http://registry.gimp.org/node/13016 On this page there is a description of the various types of noise available with the noise-generator plugin. Have a read through. Nothing on that page for you to download, the files are source code for compiling. I do not compile any Windows stuff, I use linux, but a test comparing the 2 versions and the first tab on the noise-generator is exactly the same as the individual poisson-noise plugin. This is a very subtle effect. At first I thought the plugin(s) were not working but differencing a before and after pair shows the noise. Nothing to worry about, use the noise-generator as your tutorial advises.

screenshot comparing the 2 plugins. http://i.imgur.com/qzL1kdM.jpg

edit:
A little searching came up with this
http://www.gimpchat.com/viewtopic.php?f=...3&start=30 look at the second post down (#32)
the file is noise-generator-0.2.5_poisson-noise-0.1b_32bits-64bits_gimp-2.8_Win.zip and the download link is
http://www.gimpchat.com/download/file.ph...a3e12b0578

This zip contains up-to-date windows versions (2013) of both the poisson-noise and noise-generator plug-ins.
There are 2 folders in there, 32bit and 64 bit, each folder contains the 2 plugins. Choose the one that corresponds with your Vista OS. (If you have a C:\Program Files and a C:\Program Files (x86) then you have a 64 bit Windows Vista/Win7)
I have not tried them but it is a very reliable source.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 4, 2013, 16:25
Post: #21
RE: Layer via copy cut
Rich2005,

Thank you so very much. I've downloaded installed them in my plug-in folder. And this is know for sure, I have a 32 bit.

Thank you so very much. And if you celebrate Christmas, "Have a very MERRY CHRISTMAS". And I pray God's blessings upon you and your family.

Thanks.

JohnsonL



(Dec 4, 2013 10:43)rich2005 Wrote:  Some answers to your questions

Checked the old photocomix noise-generator plugin and the BIMP plugin in Win7 64 bit / Gimp 2.8.10 and they worked. You should be ok whatever Vista you are using.

Quote:...I download the BIMP and saw about 13 files that I don't have a clue what to do with, so I did nothing. I'll wait until I hear from you. I did not see the exe and prec.dll files...
When you open the gimp-plugin-bimp.zip file in windows explorer look for the sub-folder \bin\win32 the files are in there.
drag the 2 files bimp.exe and pcre3.dll to your .gimp-2.8\plug-ins folder.

screenshot in windows explorer: http://i.imgur.com/8r37wqY.jpg

Quote:Here's another curler for you, the trainer said something about a poisson something file too. I did not see that one either.

It is probably a reference to this; http://registry.gimp.org/node/13016 On this page there is a description of the various types of noise available with the noise-generator plugin. Have a read through. Nothing on that page for you to download, the files are source code for compiling. I do not compile any Windows stuff, I use linux, but a test comparing the 2 versions and the first tab on the noise-generator is exactly the same as the individual poisson-noise plugin. This is a very subtle effect. At first I thought the plugin(s) were not working but differencing a before and after pair shows the noise. Nothing to worry about, use the noise-generator as your tutorial advises.

screenshot comparing the 2 plugins. http://i.imgur.com/qzL1kdM.jpg

edit:
A little searching came up with this
http://www.gimpchat.com/viewtopic.php?f=...3&start=30 look at the second post down (#32)
the file is noise-generator-0.2.5_poisson-noise-0.1b_32bits-64bits_gimp-2.8_Win.zip and the download link is
http://www.gimpchat.com/download/file.ph...a3e12b0578

This zip contains up-to-date windows versions (2013) of both the poisson-noise and noise-generator plug-ins.
There are 2 folders in there, 32bit and 64 bit, each folder contains the 2 plugins. Choose the one that corresponds with your Vista OS. (If you have a C:\Program Files and a C:\Program Files (x86) then you have a 64 bit Windows Vista/Win7)
I have not tried them but it is a very reliable source.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Paste layer without merging with other layer stephenboston 1 402 Sep 4, 2018 05:21
Last Post: paynekj
  Copy/Paste part of an image RogerTheShrubber 1 107 Aug 20, 2018 20:09
Last Post: paynekj
  After floating a layer, how do you return the selection to the whole image? ithortureu 1 207 May 13, 2018 07:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Saving a layer Dalmon 1 374 Apr 26, 2018 15:37
Last Post: paynekj
  How can I resize one layer to fit another? dblj 1 440 Apr 20, 2018 21:15
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS