Post Reply 

layer transparency does not work?

Aug 15, 2012, 18:43 (This post was last modified: Aug 15, 2012 22:25 by deltaskelta.)
Post: #1
layer transparency does not work?
Hello, I find myself creating new layers and making them slightly transparent all the time. But when I do this using Gimp it does not work right? This is what I am doing:

Add new layer
use transparency/opaque slider to change the setting

what happens is that the new layer stays solid until it goes below 50% on the slider and then it disappears, above 50% and it is back. It is like the 50% mark is an on/off switch for the layer.

Anyone know what is going on?

RadBrains.com - unrelated trading blog
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 15, 2012, 22:27
Post: #2
RE: layer transparency does not work?
I partially solved my problem. It was not showing transparency because it was a .gif image, when working with a .png it works fine.

I knew a gif could not be saved with transparency, but other programs I have used (photoshop, paint.net) have always allowed you to edit things with transparency, but if it was a gif then it would force you to combine layers and "render" upon saving.

Is there any way to open a gif and edit like it is a png without having to save each file individually as png's?

RadBrains.com - unrelated trading blog
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 15, 2012, 23:20
Post: #3
RE: layer transparency does not work?
Turns out that being a .png does not solve my problem, it must be something else. I have attached an example of something I was trying to do as a .xcf gimp file.

I still cannot make the new layer with the text on it slightly transparent using the opaque slider. What is wrong? I like making the text and drawing layer on these slightly opaque so that the chart stands out in front, it is a really nice effect.

See the website in my signature for more examples...


Attached File(s)
.xcf  newchartsetup.xcf (Size: 93.87 KB / Downloads: 38)

RadBrains.com - unrelated trading blog
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 15, 2012, 23:56 (This post was last modified: Aug 15, 2012 23:59 by deltaskelta.)
Post: #4
RE: layer transparency does not work?
(Aug 15, 2012 23:47)ofnuts Wrote:  The problem isn't GIF vs PNG, it's RGB vs indexed mode... Your image is still uinsg indexed color, use Image/Mode/RGB to put it in RGB mode.

This said, there is very little purpose in using indexed mode these days, and it should only be used for a "final" image. All your work should be done in RGB mode, using RGB material, the indexed image being produced in a final export.

By the way, on your image, RGB PNG is about the same size as GIF:
Code:
-rw-r--r-- 1 20578 2012-08-16 01:44 newchartsetup-index.gif
-rw-r--r-- 1 11711 2012-08-16 01:38 newchartsetup-index.png
-rw-r--r-- 1 21817 2012-08-16 01:39 newchartsetup-RGB.png
-rw-r--r-- 1 96127 2012-08-16 01:38 newchartsetup.xcf

ok I am seeing when I click on image properties that it is indeed indexed color, but how do I go about making this file rgb, and for that matter, all files I open up?

EDIT: Dumb me, I see (image>mode>rgb) but is there a way I can make this permanent for all images opened up?

RadBrains.com - unrelated trading blog
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2012, 10:07
Post: #5
RE: layer transparency does not work?
(Aug 16, 2012 08:54)ofnuts Wrote:  Full RGB images are opened in RGB mode. But indexed images won't be changed to RGB by default (this is somehow a "destructive" process). You can use some tool such as ImageMagick to convert your existing material to full RGB PNG images.

ok, thanks. I think I'll just do it manually when I need to though..

Thank you

RadBrains.com - unrelated trading blog
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Paste layer without merging with other layer stephenboston 1 451 Sep 4, 2018 05:21
Last Post: paynekj
  Saving work John Rayner 2 362 Sep 3, 2018 09:35
Last Post: John Rayner
  After floating a layer, how do you return the selection to the whole image? ithortureu 1 238 May 13, 2018 07:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Saving a layer Dalmon 1 399 Apr 26, 2018 15:37
Last Post: paynekj
  How can I resize one layer to fit another? dblj 1 466 Apr 20, 2018 21:15
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS