Post Reply 

Layer Problem

Sep 10, 2010, 23:08
Post: #1
Layer Problem
Hi There
I am very new to gimp and will probably be asking lots of questions!
I have been changing backgrounds in some of my photo's and was doing ok until now! I loaded the first picture which was to be the new background, then loaded the picture i wanted to change the background (both pictures are the same size) The new background picture shows in the layer box! when i click on the second picture and click layer,transparency,add alpha channel, that picture appears in the layer box and the background picture disappears! what am i doing wrong???? why are both my pictures not showing in the layer box like they did before when i changed the backgrounds.
Thanks Carol
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 10, 2010, 23:21 (This post was last modified: Sep 10, 2010 23:21 by ofnuts.)
Post: #2
RE: Layer Problem
(Sep 10, 2010 23:08)carol 0913 Wrote:  Hi There
I am very new to gimp and will probably be asking lots of questions!
I have been changing backgrounds in some of my photo's and was doing ok until now! I loaded the first picture which was to be the new background, then loaded the picture i wanted to change the background (both pictures are the same size) The new background picture shows in the layer box! when i click on the second picture and click layer,transparency,add alpha channel, that picture appears in the layer box and the background picture disappears! what am i doing wrong???? why are both my pictures not showing in the layer box like they did before when i changed the backgrounds.
Thanks Carol
The layer dialog shows the layers for the current image only. As I understand what you did, you loaded the files as two separate images, so you get two images with one layer in each. If you want to load the files as layers of a single image, the second has to be loaded via "File/Open as layers..." (in 2.6, in 2.4 from memory it could be in "Layers/Open as layers")

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 10, 2010, 23:42
Post: #3
RE: Layer Problem
(Sep 10, 2010 23:21)ofnuts Wrote:  
(Sep 10, 2010 23:08)carol 0913 Wrote:  Hi There
I am very new to gimp and will probably be asking lots of questions!
I have been changing backgrounds in some of my photo's and was doing ok until now! I loaded the first picture which was to be the new background, then loaded the picture i wanted to change the background (both pictures are the same size) The new background picture shows in the layer box! when i click on the second picture and click layer,transparency,add alpha channel, that picture appears in the layer box and the background picture disappears! what am i doing wrong???? why are both my pictures not showing in the layer box like they did before when i changed the backgrounds.
Thanks Carol
The layer dialog shows the layers for the current image only. As I understand what you did, you loaded the files as two separate images, so you get two images with one layer in each. If you want to load the files as layers of a single image, the second has to be loaded via "File/Open as layers..." (in 2.6, in 2.4 from memory it could be in "Layers/Open as layers")
Thank you very much you have been a great help!!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Sizing photo to layer gshacte 1 70 Nov 8, 2017 19:27
Last Post: ythgilb
  Transforming a selection on a layer pdev 1 161 Aug 8, 2017 05:07
Last Post: ythgilb
  Layer-mask opacity effects not clear veek 2 250 Jun 3, 2017 04:29
Last Post: veek
  layer questions rwferr 1 212 May 29, 2017 18:40
Last Post: blighty
  problem with drop shadow Kharl 37 1,850 Oct 8, 2014 04:53
Last Post: Kharl

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS