Post Reply 

Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?

Jul 8, 2014, 21:57
Post: #1
Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
O.K. so I am not exactly a beginner, I have been using gimp for about 11 years or so. I want to make some options for myself (an I would happily share here if I get it working) with "New" canvas presets where there is an actual canvas texture that affects what you do. My idea is to create the pngs, and some how use them as the default background for a background layer and the default working layer and any additonal layers will be moved to a group that would be made at start up with an overlay mode already part of the group.

Any ideas how I can make this happen? If needed I do have some very limited developing experience with Python, C# and (while likely not relevant) a much better understanding of CSS, ECMA, and html. I also have experience manipulating XML and dll startup documents. Though I am not sure of all the "justs" of how gimp works and am not sure if this paragraph is even relevant or needed

Please, It would be an awesome feature to be able to rig up for myself besides having to manually do it each time I want it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 9, 2014, 03:42
Post: #2
RE: Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
You can assign a default new canvas color through "Advanced" options

At most the below maybe an introductory steps, so hopefully bumping your question will bring some more attention to it just in case it got buried.
then there is the "Create" sub-menu
Here is one way:

First,
Copy the image or texture to the clipboard. Either by right-clicking it, or
Create > Screenshot

Second,
Go to
File > Create > From Clipboard...

Last,
Crop with Crop crop tool & change the canvas size by going to
Image > Canvas Size...

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 9, 2014, 08:36 (This post was last modified: Jul 9, 2014 09:16 by rich2005.)
Post: #3
RE: Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
Just throw a couple of thoughts into the hat

Quote:... "New" canvas presets where there is an actual canvas texture that affects what you do. My idea is to create the pngs, and some how use them as the default background for a background layer and the default working layer and any additional layers will be moved to a group that would be made at start up with an overlay mode already part of the group.

Is this not the same as a word processor 'template' which is essentially the same as a document but with a different extension. I do not think that even PS has an Open Template menu item. That does not stop PS .psd 'templates' from being traded. You could do the same with .xcf format which saves most of document formatting.

You could look at a more simple format, say Open Raster .ora (also used by MyPaint and Krita) is essentially a zip of png layers. It does save the layer 'mode' but not layer groups or text properties, all you get is a stack of layers but it would make it more difficult for the average user to overwrite by saving.

Quote:Any ideas how I can make this happen? If needed I do have some very limited developing experience with Python,

You could look at something like Ofnuts addoncollectionmanager python script (this is an older version - it works so I am not updating it.)

[Image: V8VskkA.jpg]

Have a new Open Template menu item and a list of templates, might even be possible to use a different file extension say, .xcf.zip to prevent overwriting.

edit: In case anyone is interested, this is the templates menu in Krita.
screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/qBbvRsx.jpg
When I found the source, just regular krita files, so something similar might be possible in Gimp.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 10, 2014, 08:59
Post: #4
RE: Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
(Jul 9, 2014 08:36)rich2005 Wrote:  Just throw a couple of thoughts into the hat

Quote:... "New" canvas presets where there is an actual canvas texture that affects what you do. My idea is to create the pngs, and some how use them as the default background for a background layer and the default working layer and any additional layers will be moved to a group that would be made at start up with an overlay mode already part of the group.

Is this not the same as a word processor 'template' which is essentially the same as a document but with a different extension. I do not think that even PS has an Open Template menu item. That does not stop PS .psd 'templates' from being traded. You could do the same with .xcf format which saves most of document formatting.

You could look at a more simple format, say Open Raster .ora (also used by MyPaint and Krita) is essentially a zip of png layers. It does save the layer 'mode' but not layer groups or text properties, all you get is a stack of layers but it would make it more difficult for the average user to overwrite by saving.

Quote:Any ideas how I can make this happen? If needed I do have some very limited developing experience with Python,

You could look at something like Ofnuts addoncollectionmanager python script (this is an older version - it works so I am not updating it.)

[Image: V8VskkA.jpg]

Have a new Open Template menu item and a list of templates, might even be possible to use a different file extension say, .xcf.zip to prevent overwriting.

edit: In case anyone is interested, this is the templates menu in Krita.
screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/qBbvRsx.jpg
When I found the source, just regular krita files, so something similar might be possible in Gimp.

Thank you so much! I cant believe I didnt even think of the fact that I could just save as an XCF! IDK too much about photoshop so I couldnt say too much about it. I have played around with corel painter and yo ucan choose paper type, paper type strength, etc, which is what made me think of this. Very good idea, thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Trying to make Octagon jugg 1 183 Sep 17, 2018 08:06
Last Post: paynekj
  how to separate 256 greyscale to different layers Grumpy gnome 1 137 Aug 25, 2018 22:21
Last Post: paynekj
Exclamation URGENT! How do I restore layers or a previously saved version of a saved xcf image? Txsweetcheeks1981 3 4,395 Aug 24, 2018 14:15
Last Post: paynekj
  How do I make this justawfulgamer 1 217 Jul 5, 2018 05:14
Last Post: paynekj
  Trying to make the shades of a footprint Macciavelo 1 164 Jul 5, 2018 05:13
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS