Post Reply 

Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?

Jul 8, 2014, 21:57
Post: #1
Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
O.K. so I am not exactly a beginner, I have been using gimp for about 11 years or so. I want to make some options for myself (an I would happily share here if I get it working) with "New" canvas presets where there is an actual canvas texture that affects what you do. My idea is to create the pngs, and some how use them as the default background for a background layer and the default working layer and any additonal layers will be moved to a group that would be made at start up with an overlay mode already part of the group.

Any ideas how I can make this happen? If needed I do have some very limited developing experience with Python, C# and (while likely not relevant) a much better understanding of CSS, ECMA, and html. I also have experience manipulating XML and dll startup documents. Though I am not sure of all the "justs" of how gimp works and am not sure if this paragraph is even relevant or needed

Please, It would be an awesome feature to be able to rig up for myself besides having to manually do it each time I want it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 9, 2014, 03:42
Post: #2
RE: Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
You can assign a default new canvas color through "Advanced" options

At most the below maybe an introductory steps, so hopefully bumping your question will bring some more attention to it just in case it got buried.
then there is the "Create" sub-menu
Here is one way:

First,
Copy the image or texture to the clipboard. Either by right-clicking it, or
Create > Screenshot

Second,
Go to
File > Create > From Clipboard...

Last,
Crop with Crop crop tool & change the canvas size by going to
Image > Canvas Size...

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 9, 2014, 08:02
Post: #3
RE: Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
I think I'm either not understanding, or you haven't explained all the steps in enough detail because it looks to me that you should do all the steps manually, then save the resulting image as a GIMP project .xcf file to be used as a template for the next time.

I suspect that it's not that simple? - you want to use different png files every time? Perhaps if you explained your process in extreme detail (leave nothing out). In principle writing a script (in Python for example) should be possible.

Kevin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 9, 2014, 08:36 (This post was last modified: Jul 9, 2014 09:16 by rich2005.)
Post: #4
RE: Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
Just throw a couple of thoughts into the hat

Quote:... "New" canvas presets where there is an actual canvas texture that affects what you do. My idea is to create the pngs, and some how use them as the default background for a background layer and the default working layer and any additional layers will be moved to a group that would be made at start up with an overlay mode already part of the group.

Is this not the same as a word processor 'template' which is essentially the same as a document but with a different extension. I do not think that even PS has an Open Template menu item. That does not stop PS .psd 'templates' from being traded. You could do the same with .xcf format which saves most of document formatting.

You could look at a more simple format, say Open Raster .ora (also used by MyPaint and Krita) is essentially a zip of png layers. It does save the layer 'mode' but not layer groups or text properties, all you get is a stack of layers but it would make it more difficult for the average user to overwrite by saving.

Quote:Any ideas how I can make this happen? If needed I do have some very limited developing experience with Python,

You could look at something like Ofnuts addoncollectionmanager python script (this is an older version - it works so I am not updating it.)

[Image: V8VskkA.jpg]

Have a new Open Template menu item and a list of templates, might even be possible to use a different file extension say, .xcf.zip to prevent overwriting.

edit: In case anyone is interested, this is the templates menu in Krita.
screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/qBbvRsx.jpg
When I found the source, just regular krita files, so something similar might be possible in Gimp.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 10, 2014, 08:59
Post: #5
RE: Is there a way to make presets that have pre constructed layers and modes?
(Jul 9, 2014 08:36)rich2005 Wrote:  Just throw a couple of thoughts into the hat

Quote:... "New" canvas presets where there is an actual canvas texture that affects what you do. My idea is to create the pngs, and some how use them as the default background for a background layer and the default working layer and any additional layers will be moved to a group that would be made at start up with an overlay mode already part of the group.

Is this not the same as a word processor 'template' which is essentially the same as a document but with a different extension. I do not think that even PS has an Open Template menu item. That does not stop PS .psd 'templates' from being traded. You could do the same with .xcf format which saves most of document formatting.

You could look at a more simple format, say Open Raster .ora (also used by MyPaint and Krita) is essentially a zip of png layers. It does save the layer 'mode' but not layer groups or text properties, all you get is a stack of layers but it would make it more difficult for the average user to overwrite by saving.

Quote:Any ideas how I can make this happen? If needed I do have some very limited developing experience with Python,

You could look at something like Ofnuts addoncollectionmanager python script (this is an older version - it works so I am not updating it.)

[Image: V8VskkA.jpg]

Have a new Open Template menu item and a list of templates, might even be possible to use a different file extension say, .xcf.zip to prevent overwriting.

edit: In case anyone is interested, this is the templates menu in Krita.
screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/qBbvRsx.jpg
When I found the source, just regular krita files, so something similar might be possible in Gimp.

Thank you so much! I cant believe I didnt even think of the fact that I could just save as an XCF! IDK too much about photoshop so I couldnt say too much about it. I have played around with corel painter and yo ucan choose paper type, paper type strength, etc, which is what made me think of this. Very good idea, thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How to make a small book in GIMP? Dimensions? Youwotm8 1 132 Sep 26, 2017 06:34
Last Post: ythgilb
  Lost layers jgarnold 0 129 Sep 21, 2017 07:35
Last Post: jgarnold
  select multiple layers in the Layers Dialog user5555155 1 184 Aug 14, 2017 14:19
Last Post: ythgilb
  Layers question lpvmc 1 220 Jun 10, 2017 18:40
Last Post: ythgilb
  Gimp in Lubuntu. Top of layers applet is hidden. Weird science! cheapo 6 345 Oct 5, 2014 18:58
Last Post: cheapo

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS