Post Reply 

Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?

Sep 3, 2011, 05:15
Post: #1
Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
Hi all,

I use the "Paste as new image" feature in GIMP quite a bit and I'm deeply in need of a "Paste all layers as new images" plugin now.

I need it to do exactly what I'm stating, to paste all layers in a file as new separate images.

Since one can not select multiple layers in GIMP, pasting all layers to new separate images would be okay.

I wasn't able to find this one in a search, but who knows what it is called if it exists?

Perhaps there is some sort of batch process possible, like batch processing or Actions in Photoshop.

Thanks,

digi
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 06:06
Post: #2
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
There is no real support for copy/paste several layers at once in Gimp. Try instead to split layers to individual images:

http://registry.gimp.org/node/18440

http://registry.gimp.org/node/24270

http://registry.gimp.org/node/25394

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 07:04 (This post was last modified: Sep 3, 2011 07:07 by digiday.)
Post: #3
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
Thanks ofnuts,

The third one looks like the one.

I've downloaded the "export-layers.scm" plugin and placed it at "Program Files>GIMP-2.0>share>gimp>2.0>scripts" with all the other .scm files, but I can't find where it is supposed to show up in GIMP... I've checked the "Script-Fu" section under "Filters" and it's not there... only "Console", "Refresh Scripts" and "Server" are there and I tried "Refresh Scripts" and nothing happened.

I've also checked everyplace else I can find and I don't see how this script is applied.

Any ideas?

PS: I closed and re-opened GIMP.

Thanks,

digi
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 07:11
Post: #4
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
Looking at the source code it's in in File/Export/Layers

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 07:11
Post: #5
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
STRIKE THAT, REVERSE IT.

I just found it cleverly concealed under "Quit" under "File".

I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks,

digi
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 07:32 (This post was last modified: Sep 3, 2011 07:33 by digiday.)
Post: #6
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
Well,

I tried it two different ways, but when I set it to save with the layer name as the file name and a .psd extension, it saves all the files with each layer name as it should, but all it does is create exact duplicates of the original file, with all the layers in each file, not with one layer in each file as it should.

So if I have a file with 50 layers and I want 50 files with one layer in each file, I end up with 50 duplicate files with the original 50 layers in each of the 50 exported files.

I thought it would be too good to be true.

Just for the test I also tried it to save with the original file name and it just created one duplicate file with all of my layers.

Well, it was a gallant attempt.

Thanks for the reference anyway... it's probably somewhat common for allot of these plugins to not work the way they say they will.

digi
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 07:58
Post: #7
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
Wondering why you export s PSD if you want one layer in each image. The plugin just calls the file save plugin with a drawable... with a type that supports several layers like PSD everything gets saved, but if you saved as PNG that could be different.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 09:03
Post: #8
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
I'm using these PSDs in Adobe Premiere as motion graphics for animation and to preserve the transparency of the imported graphic or photo so other layers will show up behind each image they have to be imported as PSDs.

This video will go to the web, but the images that I need to save from the multi-layer files that I'm creating would be easier to handle as individual files and they need to be in PSD format to preserve the background transparency in Adobe Premiere.

During the creation of these files, which have up to 140 layers in them, it is much easier to create all of the layers within a single file and save it that way, but when importing multiple files or layers in to Premiere, it is much easier to import multiple files in batches than it is to import multiple layers in batches.

And once saved, the Premiere files can handle the trick of changing support PSD file names to save time with individual files, but if all the layers are in one file, then that trick doesn't work.

digi
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 11:22
Post: #9
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
PNG completely supports transparency... If Premier can't load PNG without losing the transparency then it is seriously flawed.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 18:29
Post: #10
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
Adobe Premiere was not intended to handle every type of web file format that was ever created. Traditionally, the PSD format is the photo standard in the world of transparency and is used in many apps for it transparency effects... this is the case with Premiere.

Many apps can or cannot use certain formats, so to say that one app is "flawed" because it doesn't use a file format that's not a standard file format for import in most movie making apps is, well, a comment made by someone who doesn't understand movie making apps.

This is not to say that you aren't an expert in GIMP, and your advice is greatly appreciated.

I'll pass your comments along to the Adobe Premiere software creation staff next time I talk to them.

I also got a reference from someone else for a GIMP script called "sg-save-all-layers.scm", downloadable at this link...
http://flashingtwelve.brickfilms.com/GIMP/Scripts/

But this script messes up the PSD file creation in a different way.

"sg-save-all-layers.scm" does work when using the PSD extension, but when it saves the separate files, each new file's layer from my original multi-layer file has been chopped down to only the width of where the content is in the original layer. So if the layers in my original file where blank space with the graphic or photo in the middle, then the resulting file created by this script is only as wide as the graphic or photo content in the middle and all the blank area of the frame has been cropped off.

This script was apparently also created to use for PNG file creation, so it wouldn't be correct to say that either of these scripts are "flawed"... they just weren't written to support the PSD format, but neither of them have information that say that they do not support the PSD file format and both of them also do allow the extension to be changed in the dialog box, so it appears that the PSD format is possibly supported, but it is not.

In the same way, Adobe Premiere is not written to support PNG files for transparency effects, but it is written to use the world standard file format for transparency, the PSD format.

digi
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 19:26
Post: #11
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
(Sep 3, 2011 18:29)digiday Wrote:  In the same way, Adobe Premiere is not written to support PNG files for transparency effects, but it is written to use the world standard file format for transparency, the PSD format.

digi
PSD isn't a standard (except among the Adobe software users). PNG is: http://www.w3.org/TR/PNG/

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 19:57
Post: #12
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
This is very simple... the W3C website (The World Wide Web Consortium) is a web standard organization, displaying a webpage for a web file format, PNG. I'm sure you would be able to find a webpage that describes just about anything, or any file format. Just because there is a webpage about it, doesn't make it more of a standard or less of a standard as compared to other file formats.

Adobe Premiere is not a program exclusively designed for making web videos. It is a base program for making mostly high quality AVI files, though various versions of Premiere do export to other formats. Files that are rendered and created in Premiere, depending on the codec used to export and render a movie file, are ultra-high quality, extra-large AVI files... some that I've rendered are five gigabytes for a small three minute segment of video.

Usually for most movie creators, and in my use, the large AVI files are later imported in to another movie application to tie all the large AVI files together for final production.

The PSD format is supported by any image editing application that is able to do any sort of editing intended for digital printing, web production or movie production... like Photoshop, GIMP, Paint.net and thousands of others... if it doesn't support PSD, then it isn't intended to be a viable editing app for professionals.

The entire digital world doesn't revolve around the web. Before the internet, there are many of us who worked in the digital art and digital pre-press industry, before the PNG format even existed, but the PSD format did. PSD was created long before PNG... there's no chicken and egg debate about that.

digi
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 3, 2011, 23:33
Post: #13
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
(Sep 3, 2011 19:57)digiday Wrote:  This is very simple... the W3C website (The World Wide Web Consortium) is a web standard organization, displaying a webpage for a web file format, PNG. I'm sure you would be able to find a webpage that describes just about anything, or any file format.
Actually, i was going to ask, where is the official description of PSD?

(Sep 3, 2011 19:57)digiday Wrote:  Just because there is a webpage about it, doesn't make it more of a standard or less of a standard as compared to other file formats.
PNG is "International Standard 15948:2003 -- Portable Network Graphics (PNG): Functional specification". How more standard can you get? What is the ISO standard covering PSD?

(Sep 3, 2011 19:57)digiday Wrote:  Adobe Premiere is not a program exclusively designed for making web videos. It is a base program for making mostly high quality AVI files, though various versions of Premiere do export to other formats. Files that are rendered and created in Premiere, depending on the codec used to export and render a movie file, are ultra-high quality, extra-large AVI files... some that I've rendered are five gigabytes for a small three minute segment of video.
My day job currently is building the management of digital video for a TV company. The small files are 50Gb. Their digitized video library is already several petabytes.

(Sep 3, 2011 19:57)digiday Wrote:  The PSD format is supported by any image editing application that is able to do any sort of editing intended for digital printing, web production or movie production... like Photoshop, GIMP, Paint.net and thousands of others... if it doesn't support PSD, then it isn't intended to be a viable editing app for professionals.
Web production ends up as PNG... so if it doesn't support PSD, then it isn't intended to be a viable editing app for professionals.

(Sep 3, 2011 19:57)digiday Wrote:  The entire digital world doesn't revolve around the web. Before the internet, there are many of us who worked in the digital art and digital pre-press industry, before the PNG format even existed, but the PSD format did.
Check your dates. Photoshop 1.0: 1990, the WWW: 1991.

(Sep 3, 2011 19:57)digiday Wrote:  PSD was created long before PNG... there's no chicken and egg debate about that.
Yes, but my navigator still doesn't know how to display a PSD file, while itr can display the quite younger (still 15 years old, mind) PNG.

If the PSD format is so central to your workflow then use Adobe products...

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 4, 2011, 19:20
Post: #14
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
Quote:The .PSD (Photoshop Document), Photoshop's native format, stores an image with support for most imaging options available in Photoshop.

Quote:Photoshop's popularity means that the .PSD format is widely used, and it is supported to some extent by most competing software.

OK it's from Wikipedia, but the said is true.

PSD just like DOC both are so much proprietary product related. Is it enough to call them standards because of wide usage? And how about Internet Explorer, or Windows?

GIMP user forum here at GIMP Forums. A friendly place to learn GIMP!
Everyone's welcome, feel free to join the community.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 5, 2011, 23:17
Post: #15
RE: Is there a "paste multiple layers as images" plugin for GIMP?
We were comparing PSD versus PNG, not PSD versus the existence of the web. This is all pointless since it is so far from the original topic of this thread that this has become an amusement for anyone reading it.

I've found my answers on another forum where I discovered two scripts for GIMP that accomplish my tasks.

I do use Adobe products... the much maligned Premiere app is made by Adobe.

I also use Photoshop in addition to GIMP at my home base. Right now, elsewhere, I'm using GIMP exclusively.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Late binding / COM for opening an image into GIMP? i73 2 56 Aug 4, 2017 17:39
Last Post: i73
  creating multiple sized images from one ntuck86 1 64 Jul 29, 2017 08:18
Last Post: ythgilb
  Batch create images from array edmilner 1 144 Jul 17, 2017 16:41
Last Post: ythgilb
  Loading PythonFu Plugin: ImportError for .../python/gimp.so (GIMP 2.8.22/OSX/Py2.7.9) joroek 1 118 Jul 11, 2017 07:26
Last Post: ythgilb
  How to close gimp with batch command? flixe 1 130 Jun 19, 2017 12:29
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS