Post Reply 

I'm losing it... brush size issue (OSX)

Aug 1, 2013, 17:40 (This post was last modified: Sep 21, 2013 19:00 by ofnuts.)
Post: #1
I'm losing it... brush size issue (OSX)
Hi guys,

I'm an infrequent user of Gimp or any imaging software for that matter, but I've been around and know my way about most applications like this without difficulty.

Anyway, I'm making up some pixel based textures - the last few days my session consisted of placing precise 16x16 pixel blocks where I needed them. I did this by choosing Pencil, single pixel brush, setting brush size to 16, then choosing the colour and painting. Fine.

Today, I'm finding the brush size 16 is different i.e. smaller. In fact, the brush doesn't seem to increment logically. That is, brush size 17 = brush size 18 = brush size 19 when I paint... then brush size 20 is suddenly 2 pixels larger. In fact, the brush won't go to size 16 - it skips by 2 pixels when incrementing.

I know it worked yesterday, otherwise I couldn't have created the graphic I did... I now simply can't recreate the 16x16 pixel blocks by setting the brush size.

I'm tearing my hair out over this... what am I missing?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 1, 2013, 18:15
Post: #2
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue
Ok, my bad... I was choosing the 3x3 pixel brush (I swear I was using it the other day Smile but apparently this doesn't scale 1:1...

Now using the 1x1 pixel brush and it seems OK - looks like my brain latched onto 'pixel brush' in the list and went with it...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 18, 2013, 16:01 (This post was last modified: Sep 18, 2013 16:07 by markewilliams.)
Post: #3
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue
I re-sized my eraser (in version 2.8.2), but when I go to use the eraser on the image, it is still the original small size, not the big size I just resized it to. What did I miss?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 18, 2013, 21:39 (This post was last modified: Sep 18, 2013 23:37 by markewilliams.)
Post: #4
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue
I clicked on New Brush. In fact, no matter what brush I use, the eraser is always the same size: small.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 20, 2013, 13:42
Post: #5
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue
Don't know what native brush size or tool options are. I believe I am in Tool Options, but can't swear to it. I clicked on New Brush and changed the brush size and it did nothing. I clicked on all the brushes in what may be Tool Options (maybe not) and they all stay the same size.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 21, 2013, 08:14 (This post was last modified: Sep 21, 2013 08:19 by rich2005.)
Post: #6
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue
Quote:Don't know what native brush size or tool options are. I believe I am in Tool Options, but can't swear to it....

Remember that the eraser tool actions parallel the paint brush.

[Image: tXgVLUu.jpg]

In the image (a standard Gimp 2.8 setup) the tool options are outlined in blue.

The eraser tool will use whatever brush and brush size that was last in use unless you then change it in the tool options.

The example shows the charcoal brush used as an eraser, the brush size is 110 and that is the native size.

How do you revert a brush to its native size?
Click on the little yellow arrow icon right side of the size box.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 21, 2013, 12:32
Post: #7
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue
I'm using Gimp for Mac 2.8.2 and your window capture looks nothing like my Gimp software. I have no tabs that have titles. I have been editing my eraser in the brush editor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 21, 2013, 13:19
Post: #8
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue
(Sep 21, 2013 12:32)markewilliams Wrote:  I'm using Gimp for Mac 2.8.2 .....

Ah, the vital info .....Calling all Mac experts.

Sounds like your Gimp installation is seriously borked. Might help above experts if you say which compile you installed. Lisanet or Partha's or ..what?

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 21, 2013, 21:38
Post: #9
RE: I'm losing it... brush size issue (OSX)
I trashed Gimp and installed 2.8.4 --now it looks like your screenshot. Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How do I copy and paste the same size in a frame Paula 2 208 Mar 8, 2018 23:44
Last Post: SoyTits
Rainbow Installation Issue Loopygram 4 248 Jan 26, 2018 13:12
Last Post: paynekj
  Selection hides on move or on increasing size Dmitriy 1 205 Jan 4, 2018 13:14
Last Post: paynekj
  Stripped Brush keyring 2 203 Jan 4, 2018 11:34
Last Post: keyring
  Brush Hardness korbie 1 306 Dec 5, 2017 22:03
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS