Post Reply 

How to set GIMP so it has "Move Tool" as default at start-up?

Jul 21, 2011, 16:39
Post: #1
How to set GIMP so it has "Move Tool" as default at start-up?
Hello;

I am using Gimp version 2.6

At the start-up it has the "Paintbrush Tool." I want it to have the "Move Tool" immediately after or when the program starts.

Having the Paintbrush Tool at start-up is inconvenient because if I click on the image it paints where I click. Then I have then got to undo the paint.

How can I set GIMP so that the Move Tool is the default mode when it starts?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 21, 2011, 21:12
Post: #2
RE: How to set GIMP so it has "Move Tool" as default at start-up?
ofnuts;

Worked like a charm!

Thanks for the help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 11, 2013, 01:51
Post: #3
RE: How to set GIMP so it has "Move Tool" as default at start-up?
This is my lucky day. First I resolve a longstanding issue with Thunderbird email client opening up in whatever email account I was last in when I closed it, so now I always start with my default email account. No more sending out of the wrong email address by mistake. Resolved by installing add-on "Select Inbox 2.5." Set its preference to open in the desired folder of the default account, that's it. It forces TBird to pay attention to what has been selected as Default.

Ofnuts: Thank you for making it two-for-two in one day!

How to set up Gimp to open by default with my tool of choice. I, like you and Jim Trail, have been looking for this solution for years. Tired of marking up a picture I just want to bring forward.

My tool of choice is the rectangle select. It won't move the picture or the layer a couple jiggles' worth of pixels, it won't mark up the picture. Maybe there's a better tool to choose, but I'll try this on for good measure.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 12, 2013, 00:37
Post: #4
RE: How to set GIMP so it has "Move Tool" as default at start-up?
(Mar 11, 2013 09:32)ofnuts Wrote:  The Rectangle select can potentially destroy a useful selection. The most innocuous tool is the "Measure" tool (Measure).

You are right. I thank you for your insight, and I will use "Measure" as my opening tool.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Huoin 1060 plus + Ubuntu + Gimp 2.9.x belussi 1 53 Yesterday 22:57
Last Post: ofnuts
Question Gimp will not run (Mavericks) Gunshed 27 7,467 Jan 19, 2018 07:56
Last Post: dhruv
  Gimp will not Start Podoowski 18 4,742 Jan 16, 2018 20:34
Last Post: spiderplant0
  printable art with gimp alin33 1 58 Jan 13, 2018 22:04
Last Post: paynekj
  Gimp 2.8 does not recognize my tablet Uuni 28 25,660 Dec 31, 2017 09:12
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS