Post Reply 

How to make 'selected area' Transparent?

Aug 12, 2011, 02:45
Post: #1
How to make 'selected area' Transparent?
Greetings,
I have a cloud.png image
and want to make the area around the cloud transparent.
So i used the 'select by color tool'
and now i want to fill the selected area with TRANSPARENT.
But the 'bucket fill' doesn't allow for that.
Pls, what can i use.
Thanks...vmars316
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 12, 2011, 19:35 (This post was last modified: Aug 12, 2011 19:37 by vmars316.)
Post: #2
RE: How to make 'selected area' Transparent?
Thanks,
I see whats happening:
gimp gets hung up, and doesnt respond to commands.
And then sometimes it crashes.

Normally, to cause selection to become transparent,
I 'select by color' then edit/clear.
And sometimes I have to throw in an 'select/invert'.

And then there are those unpredictable times when the
command just doesnt take. And if i dont notice it,
and try it again, and again. Gimp gets bogged down and won't even SAVE the File.
The only way out of this situation is to Exit the pgm.

?? After a Selection: Is there a visible indicaton of what will actually get copied
on a 'copy visible' command ??
I never seem to know what will actually get copied.
The only way, so far, is to 'copy visable' and 'paste to see'.
If results arent what i want, then i do a 'Select.Invert'.
Is there a better way?

But I must say that when it works,
your 'select by color' is a GREAT gadget.
Thanks...vmars
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 13, 2011, 04:16
Post: #3
RE: How to make 'selected area' Transparent?

Quote: and I have never seen it crash.

I can only report what i experience.
Quote: A better way to better evaluate the selection is the "quickmask" mode
(click dotted square at the bottom left of your image).

I don't see "dotted square at the bottom left of image"
Quote: If you need a very specific selection you can even paint the selection on it.

Hmm... sounds interesting.
Thanks...vmars
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 15, 2011, 00:18
Post: #4
RE: How to make 'selected area' Transparent?
Ah, there you are!
Thanks...vmars
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  See cloned area in clone tool xati 0 27 Yesterday 11:39
Last Post: xati
  How to make goosebumps on 3d model skin? cramlow 1 34 Jan 18, 2019 09:13
Last Post: paynekj
  Make every image exact same size nibla 1 183 Dec 3, 2018 09:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Sometime's unable to fill area Pariah Dog 1 259 Oct 22, 2018 12:34
Last Post: paynekj
  Trying to make Octagon jugg 1 287 Sep 17, 2018 08:06
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS