Post Reply 

how to build rbg channels

Dec 7, 2010, 13:54 (This post was last modified: Dec 7, 2010 13:55 by Kaal979.)
Post: #1
Question how to build rbg channels
I want to change a pictures certain colour.
This should be possible by changing a colour channel.
But I cant find the channel views wether in the original bmp
nor after changing to png or gif.
Can new channels be copied or how?

Huh
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 7, 2010, 14:10
Post: #2
RE: how to build rbg channels
Windows/Dockable dialogs/Channels. You then select the channel on which you want the image editing to operate (by default, all of them).

This said this isn't the best way to change a color. The most effective way is to add an alpha channel to the layer (if it hasn't got one already), add a layer below it painted in the required color, and use "Colors/color to alpha" using the "source" color. This makes the parts of the image as transparent as they match the source color, and show the required color through. You can also duplicate the layer and "Color/colirify" it to use it a the underlying image. See http://gimpforums.com/thread-how-can-i-do-this

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 7, 2010, 14:41 (This post was last modified: Dec 7, 2010 14:44 by Kaal979.)
Post: #3
RE: how to build rbg channels
Well I now see this window with one channel.
Is there a quick way to build rbg channels for export?

P.S.: The image is actually with very many shadows in the desired colour ... .
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 7, 2010, 14:59 (This post was last modified: Dec 7, 2010 15:26 by Kaal979.)
Post: #4
RE: how to build rbg channels
Now I found Picture>>Mode RBG but I was wrong - the channels dont select the colour areas ... .
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 8, 2010, 00:29
Post: #5
RE: how to build rbg channels
The RGB channels cannot be removed as far as I know. But if the image looks good if you make one of the cahhnel invisible you can remove it by painting in black: select channel in Channel dialog (which usually means deselecting the other two), and bucket-fill image with black.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  GIMP 2.8.10 Layers, Paths, Channels Issue Prototype_ 5 328 Jun 25, 2014 23:53
Last Post: ofnuts
  'Help' function disabled in Mac 2.8 build? UptonO.Goode 1 402 Apr 10, 2014 18:50
Last Post: rich2005
  The Layers, Channels, Paths Dialog Window doesn't appear on my screen. Can anyone help jrshell 2 1,166 Feb 3, 2012 23:02
Last Post: jrshell
  Layers, Channels, Paths Dialog Window chiefpetemmc 1 621 Jan 21, 2012 01:23
Last Post: ofnuts

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS