Post Reply 

How to apply text to each individual layer?

Nov 18, 2011, 00:33
Post: #1
How to apply text to each individual layer?
Is there any way I can type in text, and put it in the same place in each layer without having to go to each individual layer and putting it in? Help will be very appreciated Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 18, 2011, 02:13
Post: #2
RE: How to apply text to each individual layer?
I'm sure there is a script for that somewhere, maybe in the Gimp animation package (aka GAP)

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 18, 2011, 02:36
Post: #3
RE: How to apply text to each individual layer?
(Nov 18, 2011 02:13)ofnuts Wrote:  I'm sure there is a script for that somewhere, maybe in the Gimp animation package (aka GAP)

Are you sure that's the only way? Unfortunately, I don't think my Mac is up to date enough to download GAP.... My mac is 10.4.11... Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 18, 2011, 07:19
Post: #4
RE: How to apply text to each individual layer?
What version of Gimp are you running?

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 18, 2011, 10:27 (This post was last modified: Nov 18, 2011 10:27 by rich2005.)
Post: #5
RE: How to apply text to each individual layer?
@Corey88

If GAP is dubious then maybe Imagemagick & command line.
I use linux rather than Mac, & there is an IM for Mac so...

Separate all the layers with one of the export scripts. This is a good one
http://registry.gimp.org/node/25394
It exports to png preserving transparency.

Use the IM mogrify command. Warning - mogrify overwrites files so work in a separate directory with copies.

mogrify -define png -pointsize 48 -fill red -annotate +100+100 "caption" *.png

(you can add a switch "-font <font_name>" in there, depends if IM can find the font otherwise the system default is used).

Then import back into Gimp "as-layers", use Layer -> stack -> reverse order if required.

Even though it is separate stages, if there are a lot of layers this should be faster than the usual
add a text layer at the top,
make each layer visible in turn
apply Layer -> new from visible
start again with next layer.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Feature Request - Built in Outlined text cosmicvoyager 1 89 Sep 18, 2017 08:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Outline around Text. saga 4 3,895 Jun 5, 2017 07:34
Last Post: blighty
  New layer color... btraven 0 211 Oct 2, 2014 00:47
Last Post: btraven
  Dragged Layer Dropping Issues darkikuto18 3 260 Sep 29, 2014 07:56
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  Get rid of the "new layer dialogue"? 3dDave 2 258 Sep 20, 2014 20:34
Last Post: 3dDave

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS