Post Reply 

How in the world is gimp failing at allocate 16kb???

Feb 10, 2014, 09:58
Post: #1
How in the world is gimp failing at allocate 16kb???
I randomly get a Gimp crash with the error message, "failed to allocate 16000 bytes" (rounding up) followed by Gimp crash! what is wrong and why cannot it allocate so little???
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 10, 2014, 10:20
Post: #2
RE: How in the world is gimp failing at allocate 16kb???
Is the error something like this

Code:
Glib-ERROR**:gmem.c:137:failed to allocate 16384 bytes
aborting...

Usually associated with large images or images with many layers.

I have read a report that reducing the Tile Cache size (edit -> preferences -> environment) to a small value
say 800 Kilobytes might improve matters, but do not count on it as very little works for you.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 10, 2014, 12:28
Post: #3
RE: How in the world is gimp failing at allocate 16kb???
(Feb 10, 2014 11:47)ofnuts Wrote:  Doing this should slow down Gimp, since that means that it will keep the image on disk and not in RAM.

I think that is the general idea

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 11, 2014, 01:11
Post: #4
RE: How in the world is gimp failing at allocate 16kb???
*facepalm*
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 11, 2014, 08:19
Post: #5
RE: How in the world is gimp failing at allocate 16kb???
(Feb 10, 2014 12:28)rich2005 Wrote:  
(Feb 10, 2014 11:47)ofnuts Wrote:  Doing this should slow down Gimp, since that means that it will keep the image on disk and not in RAM.

I think that is the general idea

Less HD thrashing if he's low on ram (due to big images, background processes, etc.)


*
MR, how much available RAM do you have at the time of the crash?

(Open task manager & click on "Performance" tab, then if using win vista up click "Memory" note the ## / ## (%)

If using XP, just click the Performance tab & report back the green bar (%) plus the commit numbers commit ## / ## at the bottom of the taskmanager, it may fluctuate a little.)

PLEASE report back to us if you want any chance at solving it.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Gimp silly problem in Macs animeshsaxena 27 29,604 Yesterday 17:12
Last Post: paynekj
  black square in the gimp's gimp Elimelech 1 62 Dec 9, 2017 12:26
Last Post: ythgilb
  Notice to Gimp Devolopers Palladini 1 122 Dec 1, 2017 05:41
Last Post: paynekj
  Scaling GIMP for high definition monitors kerry 1 146 Nov 18, 2017 15:01
Last Post: paynekj
  GIMP on High Sierra won't open rickyleaks 1 163 Nov 9, 2017 12:45
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS