Post Reply 

How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?

Mar 2, 2011, 21:52
Post: #1
How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
[Image: ri7toj.jpg]

Periodically as I'm working, my selection turns to the figure shown (circled in red) - I think after pasting in new content as a new layer. Once there I can't find a keyboard shortcut to get me out of it. What is it, how does it happen, and how can I prevent it?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 2, 2011, 21:56
Post: #2
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
(Mar 2, 2011 21:52)mapsedge Wrote:  [Image: ri7toj.jpg]

Periodically as I'm working, my selection turns to the figure shown (circled in red) - I think after pasting in new content as a new layer. Once there I can't find a keyboard shortcut to get me out of it. What is it, how does it happen, and how can I prevent it?

Ok, some clarification: It's the "MOVE" tool, set in "Selection" mode. I was in "Layer" mode previously - I didn't do anything to change to that mode.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 2, 2011, 22:16
Post: #3
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
If you copy and paste, you create a "floating selection", that, despite its name, behaves like a layer. And Gimp wants you to position it, so implicitly that's the Move tool in "layer" mode. And it won't let you love anything else as long as this floating selection exists. To get rid of it, anchor it the floating selection to the top layer (ie, move it to final position and then click outside it (the pointer shows an anchor when outside the selection)) or create a new layer (that will be initialized with the selection). If you have a the Layers dialog open you'll see the floating selection in it (I have that dialog permanently docked under the Toolbox)

[Image: 2Tvo0.png]

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 2, 2011, 22:37 (This post was last modified: Mar 2, 2011 22:42 by mapsedge.)
Post: #4
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
(Mar 2, 2011 22:16)ofnuts Wrote:  If you copy and paste, you create a "floating selection", that, despite its name, behaves like a layer. And Gimp wants you to position it, so implicitly that's the Move tool in "layer" mode. And it won't let you love anything else as long as this floating selection exists. To get rid of it, anchor it the floating selection to the top layer (ie, move it to final position and then click outside it (the pointer shows an anchor when outside the selection)) or create a new layer (that will be initialized with the selection). If you have a the Layers dialog open you'll see the floating selection in it (I have that dialog permanently docked under the Toolbox)

The problem happens - or at least I notice it - after the layer is created and I try - using the keyboard - to move what I've created. Of course, nothing happens because the tool is in "selection" mode but nothing is selected.

I'm working from the keyboard and I tend to work kind of fast - paste > shift+ctrl+N in quick succession, so I start to wonder if I'm not giving Gimp enough time to figure out what I'm doing.

That's what confuses me: I'm not in any sort of selection mode, but the Move tool is stuck there without my having chosen that mode.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 2, 2011, 23:19
Post: #5
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
Another case where you get this icon is when your are in Move/Selection mode and there is no selection (and I don't see "marching ants" on you screenshot, only a layer border...)

[Image: 2Tvo0.png]

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 3, 2011, 01:41
Post: #6
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
(Mar 2, 2011 23:19)ofnuts Wrote:  Another case where you get this icon is when your are in Move/Selection mode and there is no selection (and I don't see "marching ants" on you screenshot, only a layer border...)

Right, nothing selected. What's killing me here is that I didn't change the mode of the Move tool. When I started, I was on "Layer" mode, not "Selection." Gimp appears to have selected that mode on its own.

Bug? Feature? Definitely an annoyance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 25, 2012, 19:49 (This post was last modified: Dec 25, 2012 19:57 by vtpoet.)
Post: #7
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
(Mar 2, 2011 22:16)ofnuts Wrote:  If you copy and paste, you create a "floating selection", that, despite its name, behaves like a layer. And Gimp wants you to position it, so implicitly that's the Move tool in "layer" mode. And it won't let you love anything else as long as this floating selection exists. To get rid of it, anchor it the floating selection to the top layer (ie, move it to final position and then click outside it (the pointer shows an anchor when outside the selection)) or create a new layer (that will be initialized with the selection). If you have a the Layers dialog open you'll see the floating selection in it (I have that dialog permanently docked under the Toolbox)

I also am having this problem. I don't use Gimp enough to know how to get out of this and your explanation is, unfortunately to me, pure gibberish. Can you or anyone spell out how to get out of this "mode"? Edit: More importantly, this "bug"(?) is preventing me from selecting the object I just "paste'd' into" the image. I don't want to anchor it. I want to move it, then anchor it. but I can't select it because... because... I don't know why. GIMP just won't let me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 25, 2012, 20:24
Post: #8
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
1) check your Layers list, after you paste you should have a "Floating selection" layer at the top (which is always a rectangle, so unless you have selected a rectangle, there will be transparent pixels in it)

2) you should normally be able to move it with the Move tool, that works as usual: by default you have to click on a non-transparent pixel of the layer you want to move(*) (over such places you get the "move" cursor (Move)), over transparent pixels you get an "anchor" cursor: if you click, the floating selection is anchored.

(*) in the Move tool options, it's either "Pick a layer or guide" (default) or "Move the active layer"

[Image: 2Tvo0.png]

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 15, 2013, 23:50 (This post was last modified: Jul 16, 2013 00:53 by smili.)
Post: #9
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
this is an older thread, but this was all I could find on google about this, and just wanted to post I just had the same thing happen after importing an image as a layer, then rescaling that layer. My cursor then turned into what you show above and I can't do anything and can't find any way to undo whatever I did to get into this state. I had to abandon the project and start over as I had saved right after rescaling and can't get the cursor back. Actually closing project wouldn't get rid of it. Had to completely close Gimp. Gimp 2.8 here. It's not your imagination - something weird I guess.

EDIT: After fiddling with this for about an hour trying to get GIMP to work again I realized I had to "reset tool presets" for the move tool. I don't know what happened to them. Everything was working fine prior to this but I must've done something. Anyhow - I realized all the tool options were greyed out. Even though I'd select the layer and it would show me a layer was selected with dotted selection lines and they'd move, the underlying layer wouldn't move.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 16, 2013, 06:49
Post: #10
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
Check your Layers list for a "floating selection". Otherwise the XCF on some file server and post the URL here (if it'small enough, you can even attach it here).

[Image: 2Tvo0.png]

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 4, 2014, 04:02
Post: #11
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
This is my first time answering anyone's question online--let alone about Gimp, so I feel very excited to have figured out the solution!

That said, it seems a little obvious now that I figured it out:

Try closing Gimp, and then re-opening it! :-)

I had the same problem (unable to move a newly-pasted layer, and with little error popping up to show that I'm unable to move it). The recommendations in this thread seemed unsatisfactory. So, I closed Gimp and opened it up again. Now I can move the layer! :-)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 4, 2014, 10:51
Post: #12
RE: How does this happen, and how do I get out of it?
(May 4, 2014 04:02)Lockedinthebox Wrote:  ...The recommendations in this thread seemed unsatisfactory. So, I closed Gimp and opened it up again. Now I can move the layer! :-)

One method is not one-size fits all though. Please study this a bit:
http://docs.gimp.org/en/gimp-getting-unstuck.html

Lockedinthebox.
*See section "1.2.6 You are trying to act outside the layer"
in that above link, this is this thread author's problem (mapsedge).

Also, floating layers : http://docs.gimp.org/en/gimp-selection-float.html

If you use his/her recommendation (lockedinabox's), be sure to save your project before you close/restart Gimp Smile

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Making 2.8 Happen PaulSlocum 2 1,048 Jul 10, 2011 01:03
Last Post: PaulSlocum

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS