Post Reply 

How do I embed sRGB into Exports?

Nov 23, 2012, 12:58 (This post was last modified: Nov 23, 2012 13:51 by sugarkane.)
Post: #1
How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
Hi.

As a bit of good housekeeping while struggling with an .icc problem I upgraded from Gimp 2.6 to (as of yesterday) the latest 2.8.

Now when I export my work into a .jpg or .tif the sRGB embedding that used to be automatic no longer takes place.

I can tell by going onto my Windows hard-drive, finding the exported file (e.g. XYZ.jpg), right-clicking on;

"Properties" >>> "Details" >>> "Image" >>> "Colour Representation".

It should have "sRGB" on this line but is now blank - indicating that the embedding to the file did not occur in the Export from Gimp.

This must be simple to correct - it was previously working without my knowledge - but it's got me head-scratching and hamstrung until I can fix it.

Help much appreciated.
______________________________________________________________________

Update - Since posting I've experimented with different files and it seems that if sRGB is embedded by the manufaturer's software - in my case I shoot RAW files and open in Canon's DPP to view and convert to .tif to edit in Gimp - it will be retained by Gimp all through its Import and Export processes.

Anyone who knows more than I - I'd appreciate a confirmation that this last paragraph is correct.

I seem to be okay going forward. I think.

But ... for whatever mysterious reasons this normality has been interrupted earlier and I need to go back to some Gimp files and re-Export with sRGB now embedded.

So my issue questions remain open and help is still appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 13:44
Post: #2
RE: How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
I had to fire up a winXP VM since my linux Gimp probably has too much in the way of 'history'

and I never got round to right clicking on the files for their properties in windows. Too late now, I am heading out.

They are there in Gimp properties however. Probably a windoze thing

A couple of screenshots for info. http://i.imgur.com/ACnmS.jpg

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 13:56 (This post was last modified: Nov 23, 2012 13:57 by sugarkane.)
Post: #3
RE: How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
Thanks - just the screen shot you have posted explains the Image Properties window (new to me) and its use so that I can confirm my Preferences are set correctly going forward. Getting the same on my (current, not previous) Gimp files as on your grab.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 16:22
Post: #4
RE: How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
To satisfy my curiosity. When I import the pics from my camera they are srgb..when I export from gimp they are not. They print good and look good in all respects. Would I really need to change anything. Rich2005 I couldn't make out the lettering on your image or find it in tools???Thanks for putting up with this old fart.

you only learn if you try
Denster
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 16:24
Post: #5
RE: How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
To satisfy my curiosity. When I import the pics from my camera they are srgb..when I export from gimp they are not. They print good and look good in all respects. Would I really need to change anything. Rich2005 I couldn't make out the lettering on your image or find it in tools???Thanks for putting up with this old fart.

you only learn if you try
Denster
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 18:23
Post: #6
RE: How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
@ denster

In that screenshot, the Gimp colour management settings are in the Edit -> Preferences -> Color Management menu
and the image properties come from the Image -> Image Properties menu.

If you get good results with your prints, I would not worry too much about it.

@ sugarkane

I could not get "Properties" >>> "Details" >>> "Image" >>> "Colour Representation" from a right click in WinXP

So I checked using Imagemagick identify -verbose 'image.ext' as being independant of GIMP
and that showed sRGB in the properties. So fairly confident that the default sRGB is being used.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 25, 2012, 18:36
Post: #7
RE: How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
I can confirm that I am having the same problem. Unfortunately, my lab refuses to process photos unless they have a color profile embedded in them.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 25, 2012, 19:57
Post: #8
RE: How do I embed sRGB into Exports?
As before you need to determine which profile is acceptable to your printer, ten-to-one it is a CMYK profile.

You can get a few RGB and CMYK profiles from Adobe (must be one of the few things they do not charge for)

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/d...ftpID=3680

and there is a range of CMYK profiles here:

http://www.color.org/chardata/drsection1.xalter

While it is possible to fiddle a profile in Gimp, ImageMagick is a much better tool. The command

convert somefile.jpg -colorspace sRGB -profile 'rgbprofile.icc' newfile.jpg (should work)

and the similar for CMYK

convert somefile.jpg -colorspace CMYK -profile 'cmykprofile.icc' newfile.jpg

If command lines beat you, there are also (free) online conversion services

http://www.rgb2cmyk.org/ and back again http://www.cmyk2rgb.com/

while there look at the 'about' section - some good advice.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Generic Gray profile not embed in GIMP jagan 7 919 Feb 28, 2014 12:44
Last Post: rich2005
  JPEG exports not recognized by Windows HariGanti 2 1,119 May 28, 2013 20:56
Last Post: BnBGobo99

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS