Post Reply 

How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?

Feb 7, 2014, 16:47
Post: #1
How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
Hi,

I use gimp to make layered stencils for spray painting...I reduce it to a couple of colours, seperate the colours into different layers and then cut them out...

When I do im left with a ghost type image where the original layer was..

example: http://imgur.com/A5paLO1

Is there any way of avoiding this?

Thanks in advance

Boags
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 7, 2014, 23:18 (This post was last modified: Feb 7, 2014 23:22 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #2
RE: How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
If I were making a stencil, I'd try
Edit: With your original image (not the ghost one you posted) *

"Colors > Threshold..."
first
Adjust for best balance (least amount of paint fill, see below note), click ok.

Then clean up any stray white or black pixels. You can paint solid white/black sillouette.
.
.
http://gimpforums.com/thread-selecting-f...7#pid21197
A similar use of threshold is seen here, but for yours you can make it on a duplicate layer with no selection

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 9, 2014, 22:18
Post: #3
RE: How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
(Feb 7, 2014 17:01)ofnuts Wrote:  Looks like the remnants of anti-aliasing pixels. How do you separate the colors? The proper way would be to use Color-to-alpha to remove the colors you don't want.


Hi,

At the moment i have been taking a vectorised image then with the colours I dont want by using the select by colour tool, then pressing clear...how to i do colour to alpha? Does that mean colour to clear?

thanks for the reply
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 9, 2014, 22:47
Post: #4
RE: How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
In all honesty in the image i posted it was easy to go in and clean up..not so much on this one..

http://imgur.com/uw2xV7f

Its driving me crazy! I still got pixels left over by going colour>colour to alpha
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 10, 2014, 01:22
Post: #5
RE: How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
(Feb 10, 2014 00:04)ofnuts Wrote:  Show us what you start with... (even an extract...)

Hi, thanks for the reply - this is the image i start with...

http://imgur.com/dyusD23
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 10, 2014, 02:03
Post: #6
RE: How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
Youre a good man, sorry i didnt understand when you first linked that article. Just so I am understanding this correct...fuzzy select all the areas i wish to delete on the layer, grow the selection by 1 pixel and then put colour to alpha on. Would i then need to grow the remaining colour (that i want) by 1 pixel so they all line up? Is it just 1 pixel all around all shapes? Will i run into any errors with it all lining up nicely by doing this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 10, 2014, 21:34
Post: #7
RE: How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
Hi sorry for just asking and not trying yesterday..i was very tired after all day of frustration! So when i am zoomed in and grow the selection by 1 pixel it does seem to take a bit of the area in places i want left.i.e if i want dark grey left and select light grey areas and then grow by 1 pixel it will take some of the dark grey area too...am i doing it wrong?

is there just a quick way of cleaning up the pixels i dont want without going in and doing it manually?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 11, 2014, 00:11
Post: #8
RE: How can i avoid this when seperating layers for spray painting?
I honestly cant thank you enough for your patience - it is much appreciated...I have found where the problem is (other than user error)....I make the image how i want it to look in vector magic...now if i save as a Jpeg or Bmp thats where the edge pixels appear...if i save as .svg then it stays as a clean lined image.

Unfortunately when i import the svg file to gimp the same thing happens...is there a way to get gimp to treat vectors differently?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  how to separate 256 greyscale to different layers Grumpy gnome 1 110 Aug 25, 2018 22:21
Last Post: paynekj
Exclamation URGENT! How do I restore layers or a previously saved version of a saved xcf image? Txsweetcheeks1981 3 4,280 Aug 24, 2018 14:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Export multiple layers as a layered PDF, not a mulitpage PDF auriuman78 2 237 Jun 15, 2018 22:14
Last Post: auriuman78
  Question about painting over a scan Delfin93 1 451 Jan 31, 2018 05:37
Last Post: ythgilb
  Question about Layers roy1012 1 372 Jan 28, 2018 21:19
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS