Post Reply 

HDR

Jul 24, 2013, 03:08
Post: #1
HDR
I know there are programs like Luminance HDR to make High Dynamic Range images but it requires the same shot of a picture with different camera settings (cannot remember them)... anyway #1 I don't have a camera capable of this... #2 the art I want to make like this consists of cartoon characters and real life people in the same picture on a cartoonish or video gameish background

my question is, it is possible to "fake" these camera settings by making three different images depicting these camera settings then using Luminance HDR?

what would I need to do with the first pic, the second pic, and the third pic to manually do these images without any camera involved?

I know how to duplicate images so if I have three copies and work the three separately...

can you help me with the steps for each picture?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 10:38
Post: #2
RE: HDR
(Jul 24, 2013 06:35)ofnuts Wrote:  If you haven't got the three or 5 images with different exposures to start with it won't be a HDR anyway. There is a way to do fake HDR:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/gimpusers/d...079536887/

there in NO link on that page to download the plug-in!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 11:09
Post: #3
RE: HDR
(Jul 24, 2013 11:03)paynekj Wrote:  
(Jul 24, 2013 10:38)moltres_rider Wrote:  there in NO link on that page to download the plug-in!!!

That's because it's talking about using C2G, which is already built-into GIMP:

Tools>>GEGL Operation... and select C2G

Kevin

I DID WHAT IT SAID AND IT MADE THE IMAGE BLACK AND WHITE!! NOT HDR!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 11:45
Post: #4
RE: HDR
You must read the article again

start off with your image
http://i.imgur.com/dB1s9PP.jpg

duplicate that layer, then apply c2g on the duplicated layer
http://i.imgur.com/U42XjaQ.jpg

Now copy the bottom layer again and move it to the top (this is good practise so you have a copy of the original)
Put that new top layer to color mode
http://i.imgur.com/gUkqnFm.jpg

This is actually not far away from LuminanceHDR with 3 layers and the default setting.

Worth running through the other layer modes to see what you get.

(how much shouting did you do the last time before you were banned, must be getting close)

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 11:54
Post: #5
RE: HDR
(Jul 24, 2013 11:45)rich2005 Wrote:  You must read the article again

start off with your image
http://i.imgur.com/dB1s9PP.jpg

duplicate that layer, then apply c2g on the duplicated layer
http://i.imgur.com/U42XjaQ.jpg

Now copy the bottom layer again and move it to the top (this is good practise so you have a copy of the original)
Put that new top layer to color mode
http://i.imgur.com/gUkqnFm.jpg

This is actually not far away from LuminanceHDR with 3 layers and the default setting.

Worth running through the other layer modes to see what you get.

(how much shouting did you do the last time before you were banned, must be getting close)
got it now...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 12:46 (This post was last modified: Jul 24, 2013 12:50 by rich2005.)
Post: #6
RE: HDR
Quote:I know there are programs like Luminance HDR to make High Dynamic Range images but it requires the same shot of a picture with different camera ..

Since you mentioned LuminanceHDR, this is how you might get an effect with a single image. Nothing guaranteed and it involves a bit of work.

Open the image in Gimp and duplicate it twice.
first image use Colors -> Brightness & Contrast to set the brightness to -50
second image - no change
third image - set + 50
now export these as image1.jpg image2.jpg image3.jpg

something like this; http://i.imgur.com/lCdvaxa.jpg

Now in LuminanceHDR (I am still using an old linux version qtpfsgui lol, must update it)
Import the 3 images and set the ev values to (say) -10, 0, +10
http://i.imgur.com/ebira33.jpg

Next set the reference image to the zero image, number 2
http://i.imgur.com/g8s5YIA.jpg

Now into the tone mapping section, and here it very much depends on the image, go through the various algorithms, try different settings and maybe you get a result.
http://i.imgur.com/UHcLzVf.jpg

(now I am off to the PCLOS repo to get an updated LuminanceHDR)

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 13:56
Post: #7
RE: HDR
(Jul 24, 2013 12:46)rich2005 Wrote:  
Quote:I know there are programs like Luminance HDR to make High Dynamic Range images but it requires the same shot of a picture with different camera ..

Since you mentioned LuminanceHDR, this is how you might get an effect with a single image. Nothing guaranteed and it involves a bit of work.

Open the image in Gimp and duplicate it twice.
first image use Colors -> Brightness & Contrast to set the brightness to -50
second image - no change
third image - set + 50
now export these as image1.jpg image2.jpg image3.jpg

something like this; http://i.imgur.com/lCdvaxa.jpg

Now in LuminanceHDR (I am still using an old linux version qtpfsgui lol, must update it)
Import the 3 images and set the ev values to (say) -10, 0, +10
http://i.imgur.com/ebira33.jpg

Next set the reference image to the zero image, number 2
http://i.imgur.com/g8s5YIA.jpg

Now into the tone mapping section, and here it very much depends on the image, go through the various algorithms, try different settings and maybe you get a result.
http://i.imgur.com/UHcLzVf.jpg

(now I am off to the PCLOS repo to get an updated LuminanceHDR)

Where is the "tone mapping section"??? cannot find it!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 16:06
Post: #8
RE: HDR
There is also a program called "darktable" has tons(to many settings and stuff for me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 24, 2013, 17:11
Post: #9
RE: HDR
Quote:..Where is the "tone mapping section"??? cannot find it!!

OK, I am more up-to-date with luminance, do not know if it is an improvement though. This might be closer to your installation. Follow the luminance guide through and you get to this point, where you can choose which various settings. After changing the settings, for any particular tonemap operator, the big bar Tonemap now updates the image. Thats the top screenshot.

http://i.imgur.com/i8aCMlX.jpg

Also use the adjust levels to tweak the image. That is the bottom screenshot.

Remember there are no hard-and-fast rules with this, just play around and you might get something useful.
That also means in Gimp try different values for brightness, maybe -80, 0, +80 and in luminance use smaller values for ev. It is a real try and see application.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS