Post Reply 

Having problems selecting new layers to move

Mar 26, 2014, 17:23
Post: #1
Having problems selecting new layers to move
I'm new and dumb! I have been using Photoshop for ages but moving to GIMP and having a basic problem. I am sure it is something I don't yet understand about GIMP but need some help from someone more experienced.

Here is the typical scenario.

1) I create a new document from scanner.
2) I add text to that document which appears as a new layer ( ok so far )
3) I try to move that text layer and a majority of the time all that I can get to move is the background layer not the new layer.

Sometimes I poke and play and get it rotated or moved but never seem to understand what steps make it work. In Pshop I just selected the layer and could move, edit, rotate etc. Pretty intuitive. But in GIMP for some reason it is just not that intuitive for me.

Also related, I tried to "lock" the background layer to see if I could stop it from moving but I cannot find the function to LOCK a layer?

I'm sure ever thing I need solved is hiding from me in plain sight but sometimes when when you have 10+ years of another software program you become blind to where things are hiding in something new.

Any help is welcome.

(PS) Has any one written a tutorial specific to migrating from Photoshop to GIMP that helps us noobies make the switch?

Web Designer moving from Adobe to GIMP. ( I love opensource...I can afford it! )
http://www.stuffdone.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 26, 2014, 18:23
Post: #2
RE: Having problems selecting new layers to move
If the background layer is moving, you probably have that layer selected. In the list of layers, make sure you have the text layer selected. It will be highlighted in blue.

The feature to lock a layer is on the layers tab. There is the word "Lock:" and an icon that looks like a paint brush. If you hover the mouse over it, it says "Lock pixels". It is between the opacity slider and the top layer.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 26, 2014, 19:58 (This post was last modified: Mar 26, 2014 20:34 by rich2005.)
Post: #3
RE: Having problems selecting new layers to move
(Mar 26, 2014 17:23)paulkruger Wrote:  ..snip..Here is the typical scenario.
1) I create a new document from scanner.
2) I add text to that document which appears as a new layer ( ok so far )
3) I try to move that text layer and a majority of the time all that I can get to move is the background layer not the new layer...

Do not think PS when using Gimp. The resulting image might be the same but Gimp has never copied PS.

Until you get used to new tools

[Image: pMwDvUD.jpg]

Make sure you are on the text layer.
Use the move tool
Enable move the active layer

just a note on the move tool options, there are various modes for moving selections paths etc. The first one for layers.

edit: one more thing, knock off the advertising in your sig, this is not the place for it.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  'Move' tool malfunction? Cogreg 1 144 Nov 20, 2018 17:52
Last Post: paynekj
  how to separate 256 greyscale to different layers Grumpy gnome 1 188 Aug 25, 2018 22:21
Last Post: paynekj
Exclamation URGENT! How do I restore layers or a previously saved version of a saved xcf image? Txsweetcheeks1981 3 4,701 Aug 24, 2018 14:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Export multiple layers as a layered PDF, not a mulitpage PDF auriuman78 2 302 Jun 15, 2018 22:14
Last Post: auriuman78
  Question about Layers roy1012 1 417 Jan 28, 2018 21:19
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS