Post Reply 

gutenprint

Nov 3, 2011, 19:03
Post: #1
gutenprint
Hi,
I use Windows 7 (64bit) and have down loaded and used Gimp 2.6.11, although still learning. I have just down loaded my first plugin "Gutenprint 5.2.3.exe" file to desktop > unzipped & browsed to .my computer > disk:C/ > Programms > Gimp 2.0 > Lib > Gimp > Plugins to install.
When I open Gimp, and goto Flie, I stil only get one option to print, there is no option to "print with Gutenprint"
My version of Gimp is for windows 7 (32bit) as I had read from earlier dated web sites the 64bit version can create problems. Is the 64bit version now OK and do I have to uninstall to change. would this help resolve Guten print.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 3, 2011, 20:30
Post: #2
RE: gutenprint
I have this installed on my winxp machine and it works ok but note that this version has not been updated for a couple of years. The file from plugins registry is gutenprint-5.3.2.zip (not .exe) and when you unzip look for a folder called "howto install" there are 3 screenshots .(gif files) inside showing where the files go & set up. These are the 4 files to go in the global plugins folder
cygwin1.dll
gimpgpui2.exe
gpui2.dll
gutenprint.dll

also a folder "xml" containing the printer definitions which tacks on the end of the plugins folder.

No guarantee that your printer is supported or that it works in a 64 bit machine.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 4, 2011, 12:35
Post: #3
RE: gutenprint
A follow up on Gutenprint for Windows.

I have the authors site bookmarked http://webblog.ru/Dickobraz but there is not much info there and it points to google projects anyway. http://code.google.com/p/wingp/downloads/list and it is updated to last month.

A different beast from the earlier version.

Download the file wingp_5.2.6.2_PrintAll_ICM.zip from google and I would say, make a folder for it somewhere handy, such as "C:\gutenprint" then unzip to this folder. There are some instructions but basically remove any previous version then:

Run gpspooler.exe that is in there. Click on install which just adds to your windows path.
Copy the single file gimppgui2.exe from the \gutenprint\plugins\Gimp folder to your global gimp plugins folder. This depends on your windoze version so do not rely on the install.bat which is set up for WinXP.

Hopefully you get a "print with gutenprint" in the file menu. You then need to set up your printer.
A couple of screenshots, this is a WinXP VM so not yet printed anything but it looks like this.

installing http://i.imgur.com/U5iil.jpg
using http://i.imgur.com/YqBZW.jpg

All very familiar to linux users. Still don't know if it will work in win7 64 bit.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 4, 2011, 18:23
Post: #4
RE: gutenprint
Thanks for comments.
Have done a bit more research and not found much on using Gutenprint with Windows 7 (64-bit)
I am going to uninstall and start again without Gutenprint plugin installed, and see how the latest canon pixma ip6000d drivers behave.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 4, 2011, 18:46
Post: #5
RE: gutenprint
(Nov 4, 2011 18:23)Trekker Wrote:  Thanks for comments.
Have done a bit more research and not found much on using Gutenprint with Windows 7 (64-bit)
I am going to uninstall and start again without Gutenprint plugin installed, and see how the latest canon pixma ip6000d drivers behave.

Whatever you use you would need the canon windows drivers installed.

The gutenprint plugin points to the windows printer queue. I don't have a problem with the regular gimp print plugin, not very sophisticated but works, if you decide to try gutenprint in the future your pixma ip6000d is listed.

happy printing.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 4, 2011, 22:04
Post: #6
RE: gutenprint
Just reinstalled Gimp and Gutenprint also setup the ip6000d printer all looks OK
Upgraded Driver
Will do a test print later on, but do not expect problems
Thanks again
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 2, 2013, 08:55
Post: #7
RE: gutenprint
I am on windows 7 64bit and have gimp working but when I ask it to print with gutenprint I get a failure message.

Plug-in crashed: "gimpgpui2.exe"
(C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins\gimpgpui2.exe)

The dying plug-in may have messed up GIMP's internal state. You may want to save your images and restart GIMP to be on the safe side.

I had no luck with the uninstall and reinstall. But it was also unclear as to what you uninstalled. Did you take out the plug in and remove gimp. Then you started over from scratch?

Is anyone able to use Gutenprint with windows 7 and a epson r1800 printer? I would love some feedback.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Apr 2, 2013, 11:22 (This post was last modified: Apr 2, 2013 11:28 by rich2005.)
Post: #8
RE: gutenprint
I suspect it is never going to work in a 64 bit installation (although previous post had it working, so maybe) but you can try some alternatives and here are some screenshots that might help (but it is 32 bit)

1. I put the whole gutenprint (wingp) folder under C: If that does not work you could try 'Program Files (x86)' Can't try that I do not have a 64 bit installation.
http://i.imgur.com/oS8yx1k.jpg
Then the gimp plugin gimpgpui2.exe went in my User plug-ins folder

2. Then from the wingp folder you have to run gpspooler.exe one time to write some environment values.
http://i.imgur.com/diOECRw.jpg
Good ol' windoze security stepped in here, so ok everything, you might even have to reduce the user control value in the win7 control section.

3. Just a check to see if those environment variables actually were written.
http://i.imgur.com/Qw5feWT.jpg

4. It was there in Gimp file menu and it did start. Going into the new printer setup, there is an epson R1800 there but that is about as far as I can go since I do not have that installed for the printer queue.
http://i.imgur.com/Dm5WJfG.jpg

It is a port from linux, were it is maintained, same with the printer definition files, anyone with a recent printer will probably be disappointed.
Time to dump M$ and move to linux.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS