Post Reply 

Gimp won't automtically use "epsonscan" to create images

Jan 6, 2012, 04:23
Post: #1
Gimp won't automtically use "epsonscan" to create images
This very well might not be a Gimp problem, but I thought I'd start here. I couldn't find the issue in a search and google turned up nothing.

When I try to create a document, Gimp finds my web cam, but not the twain driver. The scanner is a perfection 636U. When I click on "create>scanner/camera", it gives me a Twain.exe system error - error message that reads:

"The program can't start because PMDD32F3.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Some more info that might be helpful:

If I go into epsonscan directly, it finds the scanner and scans just fine. I can export the image and open in Gimp just fine.

The laptop is a win7 machine. There are no Win7 drivers for the scanner. I am using some Win2000 drivers that I used to use in XP with no issue.

The PMDD32F3.dll file is in the Windows>System32 file

Any help is appreciated. I'm at a loss on why epsonscan works itself perfectly, but not in Gimp like it does on my XP machine.

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 27, 2012, 09:24
Post: #2
RE: Gimp won't automtically use "epsonscan" to create images
I had the same problem. My rather trivial solution works perhaps on your machine too: Just copy PMDD32F3.dll into [Gimp program folder]\bin or [Gimp program folder]lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins – the scanner will start with the same stupid error message, but will start nevertheless (hopefully!)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 15, 2013, 18:13
Post: #3
RE: Gimp won't automtically use "epsonscan" to create images
(Aug 27, 2012 09:24)dirtykrout Wrote:  Just copy PMDD32F3.dll into [Gimp program folder]\bin or [Gimp program folder]lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins – the scanner will start with the same stupid error message, but will start nevertheless (hopefully!)

Many thanks for the tip. My Epson GT-7000 Photo always worked very well with the Gimp until I upgraded to v2.82 and then it generated this error here. Your fix (I copied the dll from the Epson installation directory) fixed it straight away. I don't get any error messages now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Tongue Installing GIMP User Manual ozdoug 2 53 Aug 9, 2017 00:54
Last Post: ozdoug
  How to overlap two images? ferguson1951 1 87 Jul 4, 2017 07:10
Last Post: ythgilb
  Running GIMP from cmd without new window appearing llipowicz 2 98 Jun 27, 2017 15:07
Last Post: ythgilb
  GIMP crashed, and all my saved changes are gone LostGoldfish 1 123 Jun 23, 2017 13:20
Last Post: ythgilb
  Putting two images side by side chrisj 3 6,640 May 30, 2017 11:45
Last Post: blighty

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS