Post Reply 

GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution

Nov 9, 2013, 01:25
Post: #1
GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
Hi folks,

I have just splashed out on the latest Dell XPS 15 with very high resolution screen (3200x1800). As a result all the UI elements in the toolbars are incredibly tiny.

Is there anything I can do to make GIMP more usable under Windows on this device?

Cheers,
D.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 9, 2013, 02:06
Post: #2
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 9, 2013 01:41)ofnuts Wrote:  Find a bigger custom theme....

Thanks, that's a great idea but I can't seem to find any themes that state it's "bigger" as such. I have tried a couple but they're the same size. I don't fancy downloading oodles to try out to just find a functional one. Any ideas on what to look for please?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 9, 2013, 06:18 (This post was last modified: Nov 9, 2013 06:18 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #3
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
Do any of the manual settings change the overal layout size of gimp in Prefrences?
http://docs.gimp.org/en/gimp-pimping.htm...fs-display

You can try this, also check out the "calibrate" button after.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 9, 2013, 08:08
Post: #4
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
Thank you, I just tried that and it didn't make a difference. I went down the "Calibrate" route and measured the visible rulers in the dialog window.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 9, 2013, 12:23
Post: #5
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
I see 'small' themes but not come across a 'larger-than-standard' theme. A quick search and still can not find one, not to say it does not exist.

Gimp Windows themes are a pita, I think the icons are in icon packs (dll files). Gimp linux is a bit more obvious.

So taking the theme with the most icons, I can batch resize the icons x2 (with resultant fuzziness).

The font size can be increased in the gtkrc file. Look for the line font_name = "sans 16" but be careful, some values eg '12' and I found the icons reverted to default.

For a comparison, using a Win7 32 bit virtual machine with a screen resolution of 1280x960 and Gimp 2.8.6

This is what to look for
[Image: uP5USu5.jpg]

Changing the theme, and restarting Gimp for the font to take effect
[Image: 9kYqLZ3.jpg]

Some things I think might be hard encoded, don't know, the dialog icons and the brush/patterns/ tabs or missing from the theme. Looks like the cage-tool icon is missing.

This is offered not as a solution more as a starting point. Oxygen theme is attached, do not forget to unzip it.


Attached File(s)
.zip  oxygen.zip (Size: 891.85 KB / Downloads: 347)

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 9, 2013, 12:25
Post: #6
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
Can you do a quick check, what does this say your screen size is right now:
http://www.whatismyscreenresolution.com/
=====

Ok so after your last post I decided to look up the exact model of laptop you bought.

32000x1800 on a 15.6 inch widescreen?! I think the resolution is too high.

On my new lappy, its 17.5" but only has a max resolution of 1600 x 900 & gimp looks perfect on it ^_^

You seriously need to consider lowering your screen resolution by 1 or 2 steps
An optimal size is 1280 x 786 for a 15.6,

you can maybe get an ok result with 1300.

Right-click your desktop & click "screen resolution"
Next to "Resolution:" choose your new resolution (lower)

Is it only gimp that shows small letters & all? I'd presume that the rest of your computer looks small at your current resolution on a 15" screen.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 10, 2013, 06:01
Post: #7
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
That point you rose about crt vs lcd led me to this page about how it makes it blurry due to warping the pixels.
One step down resolution is still worth a try codedog but I also have a new possible fix, try this first if you haven't done the resolution thing yet (SEE BELOW)

In your browser push ctrl + F(find) on the below page and type:

If you want fonts and other elements on your screen

http://www.howtogeek.com/119117/htg-expl...important/

You should now see a screenshot of the system display properties. Report back your findings codedog Smile cheers!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 10, 2013, 11:15 (This post was last modified: Nov 10, 2013 11:15 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #8
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 10, 2013 10:34)ofnuts Wrote:  ...and Gimp graphics are done with GTK that may or may not be looking at the Windows settings. And this doesn't take care of the size of the icons.

We're getting closer! I found this, not sure if it will still work though so test it out on a portable version of gimp first codedog.

After reading the thread linked below, find the file described in gimp & open it up using either notepad or if possible notepad++ (a nice free app for designing code, it orders the file to read nicely so you can find that bit of code they were talking about faster.)

http://forum.meetthegimp.org/index.php?topic=727.0


Oh & just for kicks, thought I'd test out that system dpi thing, here's the result:
[Image: attachment.php?aid=2659]
it changes the text only unfortunately lol. Can't wait to hear back from you codedog, time to catch some Zzzs....


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 10, 2013, 11:26
Post: #9
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
did you even bother to look at post #7

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 10, 2013, 23:40
Post: #10
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 9, 2013 12:23)rich2005 Wrote:  <snipped>
This is offered not as a solution more as a starting point. Oxygen theme is attached, do not forget to unzip it.

Thank you so much for that. I shall give it a whirl tonight!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 10, 2013, 23:45
Post: #11
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 10, 2013 11:26)rich2005 Wrote:  did you even bother to look at post #7

Are you referring to iForStyle007's suggestions? Smile I read your post #7 and it sounded like the most sensible to me for now. This is purely a Gimp issue in this particular environment, i.e. high-res monitors (not sure if that's the most accurate terminology). The problem is also more about the tiny toolbar icons than various text UI elements. Fiddling with Windows will likely result in problems elsewhere.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 11, 2013, 01:05 (This post was last modified: Nov 11, 2013 01:07 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #12
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 10, 2013 23:45)codedog Wrote:  
(Nov 10, 2013 11:26)rich2005 Wrote:  did you even bother to look at post #7

Are you referring to iForStyle007's suggestions? Smile I read your post #7 and it sounded like the most sensible to me for now. This is purely a Gimp issue in this particular environment, i.e. high-res monitors (not sure if that's the most accurate terminology). The problem is also more about the tiny toolbar icons than various text UI elements. Fiddling with Windows will likely result in problems elsewhere.

Blush He's probably referring to me, it was late I overlooked the similar bit about the gtkrc, but that just changes the font size in Gimp. The one I found changes the toolbar icon sizes in Gimp.

I did see the oxygen theme, but it might be difficult conveying tutorials with it as some of the icons are much different & maybe unrecognizable, they are bigger though ^_^

Codedog, if you happen to get frustrated with finding the right tool/icon, really try to edit those two lines (the font mentioned in rich's post#7 and button/icons here: http://forum.meetthegimp.org/index.php?topic=727.0 )
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 11, 2013, 01:25
Post: #13
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 11, 2013 01:05)iForStyle007 Wrote:  Codedog, if you happen to get frustrated with finding the right tool/icon, really try to edit those two lines (the font mentioned in rich's post#7 and button/icons here: http://forum.meetthegimp.org/index.php?topic=727.0 )

I just gave that a try. Here's the content of my gtkrc, located in C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\themes\Default\gtk-2.0-key:

Code:
#
# Default keybinding set. Empty because it is implemented inline in the code.
#
GimpToolbox::tool-icon-size = dialog

I have also tried copying the gtkrc file into the Default folder, both have absolutely no effect to the size of the toolbar buttons. Mind you, I'm currently at work and not on my high-res laptop.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 11, 2013, 02:47
Post: #14
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 11, 2013 01:25)codedog Wrote:  
(Nov 11, 2013 01:05)iForStyle007 Wrote:  Codedog, if you happen to get frustrated with finding the right tool/icon, really try to edit those two lines (the font mentioned in rich's post#7 and button/icons here: http://forum.meetthegimp.org/index.php?topic=727.0 )

I just gave that a try. Here's the content of my gtkrc, located in C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\themes\Default\gtk-2.0-key:

Code:
#
# Default keybinding set. Empty because it is implemented inline in the code.
#
GimpToolbox::tool-icon-size = dialog

I have also tried copying the gtkrc file into the Default folder, both have absolutely no effect to the size of the toolbar buttons. Mind you, I'm currently at work and not on my high-res laptop.

OK, i see the folder you missed, have each gtkrc in its default spot then delete the copy you made of gtkrc if you have.

I got the same message in code when I double checked (over looked the 2.0 folder) that you got until I went to the gtkrc in the 2.0 folder, this gif animation will show you where to go & what it looks like after opened. Good luck Smile
   
Click to open animation in another window
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 11, 2013, 03:05
Post: #15
RE: GIMP under Windows on QHD+ resolution
(Nov 11, 2013 02:47)iForStyle007 Wrote:  OK, i see the folder you missed, have each gtkrc in its default spot then delete the copy you made of gtkrc if you have.

I got the same message in code when I double checked (over looked the 2.0 folder) that you got until I went to the gtkrc in the 2.0 folder, this gif animation will show you where to go & what it looks like after opened. Good luck Smile

Click to open animation in another window

Brilliant! The animated GIF appears to be on crack, so I had to watch for ages before properly catching the path Tongue Using "dnd" value certainly enlarged the buttons suitably! Thank you very much!

Now I need to see if other elements are configured there too. I think the Brush palette and such are still the same size.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How to Install Gimp 2.10 FRESH Dave S 1 101 May 18, 2018 07:14
Last Post: paynekj
  GIMP 2.8.18 on MacOS Sierra freezes on export yroeht 2 71 May 17, 2018 20:24
Last Post: paynekj
  gimp not detecting new tablet nightbirds 1 91 May 14, 2018 21:03
Last Post: paynekj
  Toolbox and layers do not close on exiting GIMP Acharn 1 121 May 6, 2018 20:04
Last Post: paynekj
  GIMP 2.10 mathmap.exe error while starting bluejedi 1 260 Apr 30, 2018 11:06
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS