Post Reply 

GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3

May 7, 2011, 20:51
Post: #1
GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
I get no error messages, no console messages. Just fails within a split second of trying to run.

What is gimp-console-x.x.exe?

I tried running both with verbose and this is the output:. note gimp returns instantly, having died? gimp-console blocks, after mentioning it would load script-fu. Does this imply it crashed there?

Code:
C:\Program Files\GIMP-2.0\bin>gimp-2.6 --console-messages

C:\Program Files\GIMP-2.0\bin>gimp-console-2.6 --verbose
INIT: gimp_load_config
Parsing 'C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6\unitrc'
Parsing 'C:\Program Files\GIMP-2.0\etc\gimp\2.0\gimprc'
Parsing 'C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6\gimprc'
gimp_composite: use=yes, verbose=no
Processor instruction sets: +mmx +sse +sse2 -3dnow -altivec -vis
INIT: gimp_initialize
INIT: gimp_real_initialize
INIT: gimp_restore
Parsing 'C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6\parasiterc'
Loading 'brush factory' data
Loading 'pattern factory' data
Loading 'palette factory' data
Loading 'gradient factory' data
Loading fonts
Parsing 'C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6\templaterc'
INIT: gimp_real_restore
Parsing 'C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6\pluginrc'
Starting extension: 'extension-script-fu'

I would love some help
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 7, 2011, 21:49
Post: #2
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
Looks like a bad plugin or script. Did you install such recently?

Try renaming "C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6" to "C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6.backup" and restart Gimp. It should rebuild a clean "C:\Documents and Settings\R\.gimp-2.6" and if it's ok you can copy back your brushes/patterns/gradients back. They copy back the scripts & plugins one by one.

If you installed plugins and scripts in the standard installation somewhere under "C:\Programs Files\Gimp..." then try to locate them and remove them (hint: their "*creation*" date will not be the same as the files form the standard installation).

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 7, 2011, 22:23 (This post was last modified: May 7, 2011 22:24 by pamopar.)
Post: #3
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
has it ever ran? if so could you restore back to when it did? you did try rebooting didn't you
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 7, 2011, 23:12
Post: #4
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
(May 7, 2011 22:23)pamopar Wrote:  has it ever ran? if so could you restore back to when it did? you did try rebooting didn't you

This was the first run. Did reboot, same thing.

Took the advice to remove/move the gimp settings folder. Same thing. can't run.

It runs on my other computer, which might be good enough, but I'm disappointed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 15:54 (This post was last modified: May 8, 2011 15:54 by pamopar.)
Post: #5
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
have you tried removing & reinstalling it? (the program)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 15:57
Post: #6
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
another thought try running it as a adminster
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 17:39
Post: #7
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
(May 8, 2011 15:57)pamopar Wrote:  another thought try running it as a adminster
Gimp normally runs in a plain user account.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 17:53
Post: #8
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
(May 8, 2011 17:39)ofnuts Wrote:  
(May 8, 2011 15:57)pamopar Wrote:  another thought try running it as a adminster
Gimp normally runs in a plain user account.
yes your right, but I've have got programs to run as administrator that I could not run otherwise, easy enough to do if you have administrator privileges, right click the program, run as administrator
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 20:06
Post: #9
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
(May 8, 2011 15:57)pamopar Wrote:  another thought try running it as a adminster

sadly, neither uninstalling/reinstalling nor running as admin (I'm always admin) makes a difference.

it is an older laptop, and my graphics drivers (the latest versions) are from 2007. I'll just chalk it up to that or something similar and move on.

as mentioned, gimp runs on the other laptop, so I'll live. I also have photoshop (7, a bit outdated) running on that machine.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 20:42
Post: #10
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
I can run Gimp on my HP laptop that is at least from 03 using XP
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 20:55
Post: #11
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
How much do you have, not sure what it takes but I know before I upgraded it on my laptop I would have unusual problems
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 8, 2011, 22:48
Post: #12
RE: GIMP fails to load, Win XP sp3
From the FAQ at Gimp.org (http://www.gimp.org/docs/userfaq.html#System):

What kind of system do I need to run GIMP?

Any system capable of running Gnome 2, KDE 3.2, Windows 2000, Mac OS X and later versions should be able to run GIMP. GIMP's biggest appetite is for memory and how much you will need will depend on the how many images you are working with, their resolution, size, the number of layers you use and so on. As a general rule, more is better, but 128MB should be enough to be getting started with.

And then from the Gimp for Windows page on Gimp.org (http://www.gimp.org/windows/):

Requirements

GIMP should run on any NT-based version of Windows (NT4, 2000, XP or Vista). Older GIMP versions (2.0.x) could also work with older versions of Windows such as Windows 95 but they are not supported anymore. The amount of memory can be an important factor, especially if you intend to work on large images. A minimum of 128 MB of RAM is recommended, but the more RAM the better.

[Image: viragogimpforumssig.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  embedding icm profile in a psd generated by gimp Richar_d 1 75 Oct 13, 2017 12:00
Last Post: paynekj
  Gimp GUI icons missed massimobarbieri 1 211 Aug 23, 2017 17:51
Last Post: ofnuts
  why gimp in mac has bad performance mcheung63 1 207 Aug 20, 2017 10:13
Last Post: ythgilb
  Issue viewing GIMP-modified picture JuniorPear 1 287 Jul 6, 2017 05:03
Last Post: ythgilb
  GIMP Taking Too Long to Start (Fonts) Seta 2 341 Jun 20, 2017 16:10
Last Post: Seta

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS