Post Reply 

gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem

Mar 10, 2014, 15:37
Post: #1
gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
I hope you cant help me with an irritating problem.
I've been using gimp for years now and my comp's windows setting had always been another language but english. my native language is written from right to left, but that never influenced the gimp toolbar and window layout.
then I moved to windows 8.1 and downoaded gimp and alas, the whole layout is from right to left even though its english.
I found no way of moving it so the layout will be from left to riht and it bugs me.
do you happen to know what it at fault and how do I fix it?
   

thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 15:43
Post: #2
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
See http://gimpforums.com/thread-menu-right-to-left-bug

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 16:03
Post: #3
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
thank you for your answer. sadly, I use win8 and the paths and such are different there. I also am not sure I want to mess with windows variables permanently as I dont know theri initial values and wont be able to set them back to default if I dont like the solution. and I dont know what is a bat file and what I'm supposed to write in it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 16:07
Post: #4
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
1) The LC_ALL variable isn't used by Windows, so you are going to create it.
2) If you want to remove it, in that same screen there is a "Delete" button.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 16:56
Post: #5
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
ok, so, I need to start my gimp from CMD every time? I would like to avoid that. especially since w8 has the most annoying UI and getting the command line is tiresome.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 17:07
Post: #6
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
allright, I tried creating a bat file and it works fine as long as I launch from the bat file. but I copied the code withuot understanding it so a couple of questions:
this is the code:
@echo off
SET PATH=%~dp0bin\
set LC_ALL=en
start gimp-2.8.exe %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9

what is %~dp0bin\ ??
and what do those %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9 do?

thank you so much for your help Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 17:13
Post: #7
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
(Mar 10, 2014 17:07)yaelglo Wrote:  what is %~dp0bin\ ??

Here's an answer:
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/...um=vssetup

(Mar 10, 2014 17:07)yaelglo Wrote:  and what do those %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9 do?

They allow you to pass up to 9 file names at once to the gimp executable, should you want to open 9 files at the same time.

Kevin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 17:35
Post: #8
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
thank you!
last question: is there any way I can make my normal shortcut of gimp open through the bat flie? its only a cosmetic annoyance, but the bat file does not have the gimp icon on it and so even if I copy it to the desktop my eye misses it. (and there is no way to change its icon... sadly)

I really hope this will be permanently fixed in the next version of gimp, though, and wont need manual patching.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 17:36
Post: #9
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
(Mar 10, 2014 16:56)yaelglo Wrote:  ok, so, I need to start my gimp from CMD every time? I would like to avoid that. especially since w8 has the most annoying UI and getting the command line is tiresome.

Not if you set the system variable in the control panel.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 10, 2014, 18:21
Post: #10
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
I finally found it! its a bit hard to reach in w8, but I found the variables and added it. works great! thanks for all your help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 13, 2014, 06:20
Post: #11
RE: gimp 2.8, main window toolbar layout problem
Hey, just saw about the w8 tough to get to command prompt, there are 2 quick ways to get to it that I know of
1. (On desktop) hover mouse to bottom left where the start button is, right-click to open menu
- Command prompt - Command prompt (admin)

2. Long-time default way to open command prompt in windows
-windows button + "R" keyboard key (run)
- type cmd -or cmd.exe

Glad you were able to get your problem fixed Smile
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Scaling GIMP for high definition monitors kerry 1 20 Yesterday 15:01
Last Post: paynekj
  GIMP on High Sierra won't open rickyleaks 1 78 Nov 9, 2017 12:45
Last Post: paynekj
  embedding icm profile in a psd generated by gimp Richar_d 1 141 Oct 13, 2017 12:00
Last Post: paynekj
  Gimp GUI icons missed massimobarbieri 1 267 Aug 23, 2017 17:51
Last Post: ofnuts
  why gimp in mac has bad performance mcheung63 1 278 Aug 20, 2017 10:13
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS