Post Reply 

Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha

Aug 16, 2014, 02:02 (This post was last modified: Aug 16, 2014 05:52 by Garverick.)
Post: #1
Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
Hi, there hopefully this is the right section i didn't see anything that really screamed support/ troubleshooting, but i downloaded Gimp 2.8 last night to do some re-texturing for a game called ArmA 3, i got one to work perfect for my last night was able to do one custom camo, now every time i go to COLOR TO ALPHA the 2 layers together, Gimp starts to not respond and eventually if i don't close out of the one box with the dual layers it causes the others to not respond, close it out Gimp runs fine, i have no idea why its do this now and not last night any help would be appreciated

*Edit*
i have uninstalled and reinstalled Gimp several times now even move the installation to see if it that would help. but alas still freezes up when i try to color to alpha.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 07:46
Post: #2
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
Quote:...now every time i go to COLOR TO ALPHA the 2 layers together, Gimp starts to not respond and eventually if i don't close out of the one box with the dual layers...

I am not 100% sure from the description what you are trying to do but

Are you trying to apply color-to-alpha to a layer group. That is not possible, it does generate error messages here, but not a crash.

You say color-to-alpha works in your installation on a single layer. So it is working.
So apply color-to-alpha to individual layers. This will work even if the layer is part of a layer group.

For Windows, reinstalling Gimp rarely works. The problem generally is with Windows OS / other applications causing problems (eg AV) rather than Gimp.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 14:10 (This post was last modified: Aug 16, 2014 14:11 by Garverick.)
Post: #3
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
What am i doing exactly are these steps
1) opening a grayscale template for the in game uniform
2)opening a new layer window for the camo
3)re scaling the camo and making it seemless (downscale to 256x256)
4)creating another new layer/window adding the camo to the filling it in with paint. making the new window transparent
5)copy the grey scale template of uniform over top of the camo
6)Color to Alpha and this is the part where my GIMP starts to not respond i get like 5 seconds intervals where it works, 2 nights ago i got it to work fine as followed a tutorial on how to do re textures for Arma 3
after step 6 basicly copy the results of the color to alpha layer/window and copy to another template and then save but when i try to do that real quick GIMP doesn't copy it right if need, i can make a quick video on whats going if that would help
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 14:28 (This post was last modified: Aug 16, 2014 14:29 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #4
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
(Aug 16, 2014 14:10)Garverick Wrote:  ...3)re scaling the camo and making it seemless (downscale to 256x256)

Strange that color to alpha would crash with a texture so small. Did you see rich's last post? Make sure you're selecting a single layer, not a layer group on the layers window before you run the filter(Color to alpha)

(Aug 16, 2014 14:10)Garverick Wrote:  ...i can make a quick video on whats going if that would help

Yes, that would be great when you have the time Smile

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 14:39
Post: #5
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
heres the video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEFBaCAP...e=youtu.be
:-p thanks for the replies i belive its only 2 layers idk im new to this and my other half she not home to save me
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 15:05 (This post was last modified: Aug 16, 2014 15:05 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #6
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
(Aug 16, 2014 14:39)Garverick Wrote:  heres the video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEFBaCAP...e=youtu.be
:-p thanks for the replies i belive its only 2 layers idk im new to this and my other half she not home to save me

Thanks for the visuals, right off the bat I see a few mistakes.
1.
When you resized the camo texture, your canvas size is still huge. After you resize a layer, you need to do "Image > Fit canvas to layers" to automatically crop out the extra space.
Then copy & paste the layer to the new window as you were doing.

2. ---floating layer---
When you pasted the layer on top of the other, you didn't anchor it yet. Its very limited in what you can do when in "floating layer" mode.

To anchor it, either double click the layer text in the layer window (it says "floating layer) then rename it.
Or
when you paste, do "Edit > Paste as... > New layer"

3. Lastly
The final composition is over 2000W x 2000H.

*BUT, tending to the "fit canvas to layers" in mistake 1., should help reduce the size.
Color to alpha is kinda cpu intensive if working with large areas. It makes whatever solid color you select in the filter transparent.
It works best on solid colors (little to no pixelation) like a solid background or solid lines with little to no pix-elation.

Maybe rich spotted something else.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 15:18
Post: #7
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
ALRIGHT ITS WORKING AGAIN! by re sizing the canvas helped alot, your are amazing! :-D i was getting so frustrated last night i coulda chucked my pc out the window (pc is on 3rd floor) and the anchoring thingy helped to, thank you so much! i couldt understand why over night it wasn't working anymore..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 15:29
Post: #8
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
ninja'd but the same conclusion

You are working on a floating layer, Gimp has not frozen, just unable to continue until:

anchor the floating selection or,
promote the floating selection to a new layer or,
delete the floating selection.

[Image: a4NuOCi.jpg]

Why use a floating selection? I could see you almost chose, 'paste-to-a-new-layer' I would have thought that would be a better option.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 16, 2014, 18:18
Post: #9
RE: Gimp 2.8 freezing on Color to alpha
ahh ok makes more sense, i should probably say that i 2 nights ago was the first time using GIMP. XD but its wierd i was following a tutorial to the T and it first time it worked as, ofnuts says alots of handling, i do have FX-6100, Six core processor so i would imagine i woulda been ok, but alas i guess my pc isnt as awesome as i thought heh, but i got it working now and was able to finish my new camos i was working on
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How to install fonts for gimp only (not install on windows) Jacob123 1 51 Dec 7, 2018 08:58
Last Post: paynekj
  gimp tool icons leonardo 2 265 Nov 23, 2018 22:20
Last Post: paynekj
  paste Powerpoint objects to GIMP HPE007 1 222 Nov 21, 2018 21:59
Last Post: paynekj
  Gimp 2.10.8 error coyote 2 438 Nov 12, 2018 13:49
Last Post: coyote
  \Data\.gimp\backups\.goutputstream-XXXXXX Files DoughyInTheMiddle 1 392 Nov 10, 2018 10:01
Last Post: paynekj

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS