Post Reply 

GIMP 2.8.10 Layers, Paths, Channels Issue

Jun 25, 2014, 01:38
Post: #1
GIMP 2.8.10 Layers, Paths, Channels Issue
So before I begin, I would like to say I have used various versions of GIMP for several years and this is one of the only problems I've encountered. So, recently I hadn't used GIMP for a while until a friend asked me to create some art for him, so I decided to download the lastest version of GIMP since mine was slightly outdated so I went and downloaded 2.8.10 without issue, ran and installed it perfectly fine then I tried to create an image. I went to create a new layer and I realized something wasn't right, where the Background layer normally is there was nothing, and none of the buttons were interactive meaning I couldn't click them. I checked the Paths and Channels tabs, same thing. It was as if I had just opened the program, instead of working on an image. If anyone knows how to fix this issue please post below.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 25, 2014, 19:45
Post: #2
RE: GIMP 2.8.10 Layers, Paths, Channels Issue
(Jun 25, 2014 05:34)paynekj Wrote:  From your description it sounds like you have tried to add a new layer before creating a new image?

Try File>>New

Kevin

That would seem to be the case, but it isn't as you can see from the screencap below:
http://i.imgur.com/nmxgzm8.png
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 25, 2014, 22:47 (This post was last modified: Jun 25, 2014 23:07 by Prototype_.)
Post: #3
RE: GIMP 2.8.10 Layers, Paths, Channels Issue
(Jun 25, 2014 20:13)ofnuts Wrote:  The screencap shows an empty Layers list in the active image, so I can only conclude that the image with the arrow is not the active image and there is another image active somewhere (off-screen?)(*). How many images in "Windows>Dockable dialogs>Images"?

(*) Another possibility is that you started two different instances of Gimp and are mixing up the windows. Quite less likely and easily checked in the Process monitor.

After checking the Windows > Dockable Dialogues > Images there is only one active image being the standard [Untitled]-1. As for the second possibility I've checked and there is only one instance of GIMP running. I'm going to try to re-install GIMP and try again.

EDIT: I just tried re-installing the program, to no avail.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Question about Layers roy1012 1 143 Jan 28, 2018 21:19
Last Post: ythgilb
  while in text tool and typing, gimp gumps to paths tool skassoum@gmail.com 1 90 Jan 26, 2018 13:14
Last Post: paynekj
Rainbow Installation Issue Loopygram 4 112 Jan 26, 2018 13:12
Last Post: paynekj
  Stopping gimp from colouring the transparent background vizzkidd 2 110 Jan 22, 2018 18:53
Last Post: vizzkidd
  Gimp Tool Box and Tool Options Remain on Desktop Jerrod 3 149 Jan 7, 2018 14:25
Last Post: my nellie

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS