Post Reply 

Get rid of the "new layer dialogue"?

Sep 20, 2014, 19:29
Post: #1
Get rid of the "new layer dialogue"?
Tried to search the forums to see if anyone brought this up before, I'm sure someone has because its incredibly annoying. but is there a way to disable the "new layer" popup box when you click the button to add a new layer, and just have it default to transparent?

I create game art, using a cintiq, and every time i click to add a new layer, which is often, it pops up the new layer dialogue on a different monitor, so i have to put my pen down, grab the mouse, wiggle it a bit to find my cursor (3 monitors + the cintiq on the desk, cursor can get lost), click ok on the dialogue, then try to go back to what i was doing. its very disruptive and IMO one of the last annoyances i have to get rid of so that GIMP can replace photoshop in my workflow.

I can't seem to find an option to set a default layer style and negate the pop up box, or a way to make it stay on the same monitor, it always moves, even if i drag the popup back to the main work screen before clicking ok. Does anyone know how to change it, or know of a plugin that does away with it?

starting to think i might have to dust off my python knowledge and whip up an autoclicker to select ok on it as soon as it pops up! haha!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 20, 2014, 20:11
Post: #2
RE: Get rid of the "new layer dialogue"?
(Sep 20, 2014 19:29)3dDave Wrote:  Tried to search the forums to see if anyone brought this up before, I'm sure someone has because its incredibly annoying. but is there a way to disable the "new layer" popup box when you click the button to add a new layer, and just have it default to transparent?

If you just want transparent, maybe try a keyboard shortcut for
'new layer' in the shortcuts dialog.
looks like this here
http://i.imgur.com/Nruz1uH.jpg

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Sep 20, 2014, 20:34
Post: #3
RE: Get rid of the "new layer dialogue"?
OfNuts: yup, its looking like thats the path i'll have to take, and yes, layer names are important. but most of the times im making tile sets or sprites where each layer is a derivation of the last, and will be exported to separate images, or positioned on a larger sprite sheet, in which case the name doesn't really matter.

rich2005: i actually thought about binding that shortcut to a button on the tablet right after i posted. felt kinda dumb that i didn't think of it sooner. the pop up still shows with the shortcut (was ctrl + shift + n for me), but at least it shows on the tablet screen instead of up on my main monitor, making it far less of a distraction.

Thanks for the help so far guys! Surprised i got such a quick response.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  New layer color... btraven 0 204 Oct 2, 2014 00:47
Last Post: btraven
  Dragged Layer Dropping Issues darkikuto18 3 259 Sep 29, 2014 07:56
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  Layer alpha issue Alternicity 1 305 Aug 4, 2014 19:53
Last Post: Alternicity
  Comparability with Photoshop: layer styles jimmyspenser 2 365 Jul 24, 2014 15:46
Last Post: Esper
  Batch Merge Layer Group stigzler 15 883 Jul 5, 2014 13:04
Last Post: stigzler

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS